We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHUTDOWN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Stable - CLOSED

The Stable
110 East Davis Street, Culpeper, VA 22701
540-727-2007
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Culpeper, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SHUTDOWN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

the stable was one of my favorite places, but after shifting to a new location..there service and food went down the drain....after being on hold for 15minutes while the waitress has a NON IMPORTANT NON WORK RELATED conversation i eventually hung up the phone, so they lost my business....and have since been SHUT DOWN...i not sure why, i work across the street and i came in one week and they were closed and have been ever since...i guess there loss of quality caught up with them

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“This place was just awful . . . .”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The food was bad and they seemed to think giving you more of it somehow made it ok. The iced tea was missing the ice. Hello that sort of makes it what it is. We will never, ever darken the doorway again. Yuck!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very Loud with Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Went for dinner on a Thursday night with my mom after shopping. Saloon type atmosphere with good happy hour specials. It was so noisy from the background music that we could barely hear the waitress. My BBQ chicken salad was good but my moms Italian sausage sub was inedible. Sausage was hard as a rock and sub was dry. Staff is very friendly. Would not recommend and probably won't go back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mappsville, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great historic site.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The food was very good and we loved learning about the history of the stable and what role it played in the civil war.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Yorkshire
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“ok for passing through”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

it had a tripadvisor certificate outside with 4 stars so we thought it must be ok. waitress was pleasant. food was a while but she admitted she forgot to say no mustard so they had to make my husbands sandwich again.I had tuna salad it mentions all the ingredients but when it came it had all of them but they didnt say the tuna was mixed with mayonnaise. we ordered large fries but didnt think they were large especially for nearly $4.The walls have interesting civil war memorabilia.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stable also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stable, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.