We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was just awful . . . .” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Stable

The Stable
110 East Davis Street, Culpeper, VA 22701
540-727-2007
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 79 restaurants in Culpeper
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This place was just awful . . . .”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The food was bad and they seemed to think giving you more of it somehow made it ok. The iced tea was missing the ice. Hello that sort of makes it what it is. We will never, ever darken the doorway again. Yuck!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    15
    9
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very Loud with Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Went for dinner on a Thursday night with my mom after shopping. Saloon type atmosphere with good happy hour specials. It was so noisy from the background music that we could barely hear the waitress. My BBQ chicken salad was good but my moms Italian sausage sub was inedible. Sausage was hard as a rock and sub was dry. Staff is very friendly. Would not recommend and probably won't go back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mappsville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great historic site.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The food was very good and we loved learning about the history of the stable and what role it played in the civil war.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Yorkshire
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“ok for passing through”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

it had a tripadvisor certificate outside with 4 stars so we thought it must be ok. waitress was pleasant. food was a while but she admitted she forgot to say no mustard so they had to make my husbands sandwich again.I had tuna salad it mentions all the ingredients but when it came it had all of them but they didnt say the tuna was mixed with mayonnaise. we ordered large fries but didnt think they were large especially for nearly $4.The walls have interesting civil war memorabilia.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great location, good service, nice bar, food o.k.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The restaurant is conveniently located downtown Culpeper..near lots of shops. The interior decor is Civil War themed (both North and South represented!) so history buffs/Civil War fans will enjoy. The bar is long and inviting and seemingly well stocked. Now to the food. Our experience was mixed. What was good?: The chili..served hot and spicy.What needs a "redo"?: I ordered the burger special (w/fries) ordered medium. My burger was over cooked, the bun had a stale "crisp" to it, and the fries were limp.The mac N cheese was average. The service was friendly and attentive ..on a Sunday afternoon. If you are looking for an affordable place to enjoy some "suds" and diner fare with a Civil War theme ....check out The Stable. Persnickety diners should pay attention to order prep.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stable also viewed

 

Been to The Stable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stable, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.