We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the flavor?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant

Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant
910 South Main Street, Culpeper, VA
540-825-5268
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 80 Restaurants in Culpeper
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Where's the flavor?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Driving by Culpepper, we decided to stop here for a late lunch. In my never ending quest for the world's best chile relleno, I tried that along with a tamale and burrito in their combo plate. The wife had taco, tostado and enchelada. Sorry to say, we were both disappointed, having lived in CA for a while and experienced real Mexican. The relleno was missing egg batter and was quite small. Everything seemed to be very bland. The attraction here appears to be tableside made guacamole, but we didn't try that. Good service and decent atmosphere; however I don't think we will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Plato Acapulco is my favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This dinner is delicious! I've had it twice in 14 days and I want it again. Grilled shrimp, chicken, Mexican pork sausage and mushrooms topped with cheese sauce. Served with rice, a fresh salad topped with ranch dressing and warm flour or corn tortillas.
The wait staff was very prompt and helpful.
Nice family atmosphere! The Monday night I ate there two birthdays were celebrated by the wait staff singing a traditional Mexican song followed by the American birthday song. The honoree got a cake and a sombrero.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican Cuisine in Culpeper. Nice surprise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent (and huge) margaritas. Extensive menu. Comfortable atmosphere. Not quite the whole enchilada (torillas are not made there on property, for example). As a salsa aficionado, I would have to rate theirs as moderate at best.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quality food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I can't speak to the authenticity of the food, but I know that I really have liked everything I've had. The service is good and it is always a good time. :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better Mexican food, friendly service, reasonable prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If this place has a fault is that it's too busy most of the time so it's kind of noisy. But still it's nothing fancy and pretty dependable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pancho Villa Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.