We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Family Vineyards

King Family Vineyards
6550 Roseland Farm, Crozet, VA 22932
434-823-7800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Crozet
Type: Wineries, Specialty Shops, Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: King Family Vineyards is a family-owned and operated boutique winery located in Crozet, Virginia that specializes in producing small batches of ultra-premium wines that showcase the remarkable qualities of nearly 100% estate grown fruit.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

if you are looking for a picturesque weekend, you cant go wrong with any place in this area but King Family is beautiful. Took the family there over the Summer for their Sunday Polo Match. Polo is held just about every Sunday over the Summer into early Fall. Just think tailgating for a classier crowd. Back your cars right up against the polo pitch and enjoy a great day with the family. We went with a group of 13 others and we all had a great time. The polo itself is free and you're welcome to bring food and non-alcoholic beverages. Wine has to be purchased from them.

I would highly recommend King Family for those looking for something to do!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    53
    5
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wall, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very pleasant afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The winery is in a beautiful area-the staff was very pleasant-the wine we tried was very good-a good stop if you are in the Crozet area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Just the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our group visited four wineries and voted this one the best. Excellent wine poured by knowledgeable staff in the tasting room.
Covered outdoor seating on the porch or the patio. Polo on Sundays behind the winery. Even a wedding in the barn during our visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Me and my husband had a great time there. Nice local wine, beautiful location. We just wanted to try something local. We had the tasting flight of 5 wines with some cheese and cured meat. And we really liked their chardonnay!!! Its a yang winery dont expect the same service like, let say, in California or Oregon. Place is definetly at the beginning of a race:)!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“"Local" Fun...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had business at UVA and I took my wife with me to see the area. After visiting Monticello, we stopped here just to check out a local winery. My wife and I have a 6000 bottle wine cellar about 85% full of very collectable wines representing all of the major wine regions with bottles such as '59 Mouton, '23 Fonseca, '90 Grange...etc. We just wanted to hit a local winery and enjoy a simple lunch with wine somewhere different. The cheese, cured meat, pâté and cracker selection made for great lunch food. We started with the tasting flight of 5 wines. They were all fine but the chard stood out so we drank two glasses each with lunch. We even bought a few bottles of the chard plus a few that were not available to try by the glass. The scenery, people and atmosphere were all excellent. We will go back when we are in the area again. Anyone expecting Napa, Tuscany, Rioja...etc. needs to buy a ticket and travel to those places. If you have an open mind and you can appreciate a place for what it offers, it is a very good experience and a lot fun.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Family Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to King Family Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Family Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.