We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at the Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crozet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm
Save
You added The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm to your Saves list
6051 Sugar Hollow Road, Crozet, VA 22905   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Crozet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Finksburg, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Weekend at the Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Overall, it was a very nice experience. We very much liked that it was the cleanest B&B we have been to in some time and that it was designed to be a B&B which made it convenient, comfortable and very spacious. The grounds were beautiful. Food was average, but at each meal there was something very good and something less good, so you had an opportunity to choose.

The owners were wonderful and attentive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    50
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
56
495
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I completed a very relaxing weekend in Charlottsville with a one night stay at The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm. We checked in on a rainy Sunday afternoon with a very warm and welcoming host. After a nice dinner in Crozet we returned to the farm to find a nice and cozy fire in the family room fireplace. After a nice glass of wine by the fire we had a wonderful nights sleep. To top off an enjoyable nights stay we were treated to an incredible breakfast on Monday morning that included a terrific omlet and home made apple butter (as well as fresh fruit, coffee, juice, toasted english muffins, etc...). The cleanliness, food, relaxation, and friendliness all exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights last October while on a trip that included driving up through the Blue Ridge mountains. The scenery is breath-taking and this place is absolutely perfect for the setting. It was such a tonic after several American chain hotel/motels, which were admittedly cheaper - but this B&B doesn't compare and was more than worth the extra cost. It was one of the most memorable parts of our 12 day holiday. Comfortable, relaxed and with so many extra little touches to make you feel welcome. Breakfast was home-cooked and completely different both days. Dick and Hayden were so helpful recommending local sights, restaurants and routes. We would definitely love to stay there again and recommend it to anyone travelling in that area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugoff, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a very quiet, beautiful place. The accommodations and food are excellent. The Inn keepers are very caring and go above and beyond to make your stay a memorable, easy one.
We watched a family of deer from the balcony and saw a fox out in the front field. It was spectacular! We will be back.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center. This is a bed and breakfast. There are hiking trails and a bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We just got home from our second stay at the Inn at Sugar Hollow. Our first stay was seven years ago, and we decided we waited too long to return!!! The picturesque country setting, the wonderful views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, abundant wildlife sightings, and amenity after amenity after amenity! Ever return to a place of fond memories, only to realize it became overblown in your imagination? Well, we had the opposite experience: We had forgotten about many of the imaginative touches....comfy robes, music & reading materials in the rooms, SO MANY rooms & lounges to relax, a deck for star- or mountain-gazing, a stone porch with hummingbirds making their first appearance of the season, plenty of choices for walks and hikes right from the inn, and walking sticks waiting for our use, popcorn & snacks for our enjoyment, even bubble bath & a bath pillow, if that's the kind of pampering we crave! Want to stay in touch with the outside world? There are lounges with satellite TV, DVD player, etc., free long-distance phone and WiFi (in case you panic at getting no cell reception at the inn....it returns a short drive away).

We stayed here both visits as our "home away from home" while visiting wineries, once with friends, once as a couple. Charlottesville and all sorts of historic sites are a short drive away as well. Innkeepers Hayden & Dick Cabell are welcoming & friendly, and answer just about any question you can think of, then let you enjoy the inn as you see fit. Breakfasts are sumptuous and served buffet-style, with an abundance of warm baked goods and foods to suit any taste or dietary requirement (I am vegetarian.), and conversations with fellow guests may encourage you to stay for that extra cup of coffee and warm muffin.

For lunch & dinner, there are a number of good restaurants to choose from about a 15-minute drive away in Crozet, and of course, further afield in your wanderings to Charlottesville and beyond (several vineyards have nice restaurants). If you care to bring a little food back and dine at the inn, there are mini-kitchens with bar fridges & microwaves (and of course, wine glasses!)for guest use.

We love this place, and we can attest that Dick & Hayden are no flash-in-the-pan innkeepers. They have been in business here for 17 years, and their enthusiasm, comfy rooms, and the inns themselves (you can choose between rooms in the main inn and the historic farmhouse just steps away) have lasting power you can count on!

Room Tip: Pictures on the website are good representations. The Colonial room is adjacent to the door onto th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My husband and I went for a mid-week trip to the wineries. We found this online and were not disappointed. The owners, Dick and Hayden, welcomed us when we arrived in the evening - and they were so very helpful with recommending local sights and restaurants. Even though we only stayed for one night, we had a wonderful time. The room was charming and their breakfast was superb! It is a secluded little place, but not far from any of the local wineries or Charlottesville. We highly recommend this if you're looking for relaxing place in the country.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was our second visit, even though we rarely return to the same place as we search for new adventures. But the inn, the location, the vista, the flowers and the hospitality all beg repeated visits. Hayden and Dick are delightful hosts.

While the whole place is lovely (Hayden is a lady of many design talents!), I highly recommend the Country Manor Room. The king bed, fireplace and double jacuzzi tub make you feel so pampered. Dick will even start the fireplace for you if you call him on the way back from dinner!

Breakfast is delicious and served in a beautiful room with a breathtaking view. Their assistant, Bit, is also a delight knows tons about the area.

There are more wineries close by than you could ever hope to visit in a day so be sure not to miss The King Family Vineyard. Monticello is also quite close.

Cell phone service can be spotty within the main inn, but WiFi is no problem; perfect combo if you ask me!

You want to visit this lovely inn tucked away in Crozet, VA.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. The Country Manor Room is wonderful - very spacious with a fireplace and doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm

Address: 6051 Sugar Hollow Road, Crozet, VA 22905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Crozet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crozet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm is located on 70 serene acres surrounded by picturesque mountains, majestic hardwood forests and rushing woodland streams. Unwind in your whirlpool tub or in front of the fireplace in one of our nine elegant guestrooms. Whether you choose to explore nearby historic areas, to tour and taste at local wineries, or to hike in the Shenandoah National Park, your stay at the Inn will be both relaxing and memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sugar Hollow Farm Hotel Crozet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.