We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain View

BEST WESTERN Mountain View
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain View to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountain View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Benton, United States
1 review
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our rooms were not ready even though we arrived after check-in time. Because of this, we were late to a black tie event. We were told upon check-in that there is a bar in the hotel that "gets a little loud at night". I was not informed of this when I made the reservation. The hotel employee who checked us in said to let them know if the music was too loud and they would have them turn it down. When we arrived back at the hotel at 10:30, the music was so loud that we could hear it clearly in our rooms and could not sleep through it. We asked the front desk to have the music turned down, as instructed, twice. Not only did the music not get turned down, the front desk worker was rude and obviously bothered that we would even make such a request. The bathroom in one of the rooms was still dirty with hair in the bathtub and on the toilet. Our experience with this hotel was dreadful and unaccommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are sorry that your room was not ready when you arrived! We try our best to get all guests in their rooms as soon as possible! We also apologize for any inconveinces that you encountered during your stay! We have since entered into new housekeeping procedures for our employees and have found that the new procedures are working. We do hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit through Covington, Va.

Thank you,
Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    41
    32
    30
See reviews for
55
43
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bushwood, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you enjoy outdated rooms that are smelly and do not mind living in a broken down shack , this hotel is for you. The workers all were very nice and apologetic for the things that went wrong. (We were moved to 3 different rooms in a 2 night stay) The place needs new upper management and updating

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! Please know that we are in the midst of a three-year renovation and upgrade project! Our guest rooms are coming along and looking great and we do hope that you will see the changes on your next visit through Covington, VA.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

All rooms are accessible from the outside. We had a second-story smoking room because it was the only room left for the night. Pleasantly, the room did not smell stale. There seems to have been SOME renovations. The furnishings appeared new with a deep sink with gooseneck faucet and a gooseneck shower head. The vanity was very nice. Unfortunately, you can still see where the old items were attached to the walls around the nice vanity. The shower gel, shampoo and conditioner was available from a dispensing unit on the shower wall. We were stocked with towels for four, and six great pillows.

Our room also had a mini-fridge, microwave, 4-cup coffee maker and nice TV. The bedspreads were modern but the foot throw over the bottom appeared to have a stain on it. My bedskirt was on backwards. The upholstered chair also had a stain on it. Otherwise, the room was clean. The bathroom, in spite of having new plumbing, still had old walls and door. The full size mirror on the outside of the bathroom door was screwed on, but the screws were visible on the other side of the door while in the bathroom. The bathroom door needs replaced.

The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, a gym, a laundry, banquet facilities, and a full restaurant. The view is spectacular! There's a sign at the front desk that states there will be music in their bar at night just in case you want switched to a quieter room. Our room was perfectly quiet, and we slept just fine.

The hotel offers free FULL BREAKFAST in their restaurant to all guests.

We had no problem accessing the free WIFI. There is an ice machine on the second floor, but I think the only soda pop machine is on the first floor.

Overall, it's a very nice hotel for the price. If everything I mentioned was perfect, I'd expect that the room would have cost at least another $50. The hotel also accepts AAA discounts.

Room Tip: Let the front desk know if you prefer a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel! We thank you so much for the detail that you provided to not only us, but to our future guests! We hope that you will continue to stay with us during your travels through Covington, VA.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersburg, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I checked into this place on a Saturday night and come to find out after entering the room it was WAY bellow our expectations. The bottoms of the door to the bathroom had been chewed off. I was very allergic to something that was in this room, I notified the desk clerk and was either I could go to a smoking room or go find another hotel. I paid 120.00 for a room that I could not even get a good nights rest. They also have a karaoke bar here and it is so incredibly loud I definitely would not recommend anyone with children staying here. I have been trying for over 10 days to speak to a General Manager only to be told hes not here can I take a message. I have left NUMEROUS messages, and have filed a complaint with the corporate office and they can not even get in touch with this man. Goes to show you, they take no accountability for there actions. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid this place all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review and are in the midst of upgrading our property, including the doors in the bathroom! We hope that on your next visit through Covington, VA, that you may stop and take a look! Have a wonderful day.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was a nice motel with helpful friendly staff. The surrounding mountains were beautiful. Restaurant food was good. Friendly staff in the bar but karaoke started at 9:00 and it got very loud and busy with patrons not staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciate it so much, and hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip through Covington, VA.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here several times in the last couple of years. It's an older building that needs some updates but it is clean with ample parking. We are always put on the back side of the motel where the wifi is terrible. We couldn't really get it to work while we were there either. There is a bar and the guy running it was very nice. You can play some pool, darts or jukebox while unwinding. There is also a restaurant at this motel but the food is just average. Rooms have microwaves, coffee makers and refrigerators. Bathrooms seem quite small but clean. We will stay here again because we love visiting this part of the state and there's not too many motel options here.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! Please know that we are upgrading our hotel so that it is no longer just average! We are in the midst of a three year renovation plan, and hope that during your visits, you do notice the upgrades that are happening!

Thank you,

Cary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

There was nothing special about this hotel. Rooms are accessed from the outside, which is a turn off for some folks these days. That aside the rooms were nice... Average would best describe them. The few staff members I interacted with were polite, which is much appreciated. The area itself has some things to do, but the hotel location really seemed like a highway night time stop. That being said, this location was okay for the night as there was not much else to choose from in the area.

Room Tip: There were signs posted about the bar getting loud at night music. This area near the pool may want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review of our hotel! We do realize that having exterior entrances may be a turn off for some, but we are working hard to renovate as much of the hotel as possible to make it a great and more than one night experience for you the next time that your through our town!

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Covington
Quality Inn Covington
#4 of 5 in Covington
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 3,068 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
18.3 mi away
Village Inn
Village Inn
#2 of 2 in White Sulphur Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
5.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain View

Address: 820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.