We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain View to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountain View
820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Logan, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A great value, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

All rooms are accessible from the outside. We had a second-story smoking room because it was the only room left for the night. Pleasantly, the room did not smell stale. There seems to have been SOME renovations. The furnishings appeared new with a deep sink with gooseneck faucet and a gooseneck shower head. The vanity was very nice. Unfortunately, you can still see where the old items were attached to the walls around the nice vanity. The shower gel, shampoo and conditioner was available from a dispensing unit on the shower wall. We were stocked with towels for four, and six great pillows.

Our room also had a mini-fridge, microwave, 4-cup coffee maker and nice TV. The bedspreads were modern but the foot throw over the bottom appeared to have a stain on it. My bedskirt was on backwards. The upholstered chair also had a stain on it. Otherwise, the room was clean. The bathroom, in spite of having new plumbing, still had old walls and door. The full size mirror on the outside of the bathroom door was screwed on, but the screws were visible on the other side of the door while in the bathroom. The bathroom door needs replaced.

The hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool, a gym, a laundry, banquet facilities, and a full restaurant. The view is spectacular! There's a sign at the front desk that states there will be music in their bar at night just in case you want switched to a quieter room. Our room was perfectly quiet, and we slept just fine.

The hotel offers free FULL BREAKFAST in their restaurant to all guests.

We had no problem accessing the free WIFI. There is an ice machine on the second floor, but I think the only soda pop machine is on the first floor.

Overall, it's a very nice hotel for the price. If everything I mentioned was perfect, I'd expect that the room would have cost at least another $50. The hotel also accepts AAA discounts.

Room Tip: Let the front desk know if you prefer a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel! We thank you so much for the detail that you provided to not only us, but to our future guests! We hope that you will continue to stay with us during your travels through Covington, VA.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    28
    26
    19
See reviews for
34
35
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dyersburg, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I checked into this place on a Saturday night and come to find out after entering the room it was WAY bellow our expectations. The bottoms of the door to the bathroom had been chewed off. I was very allergic to something that was in this room, I notified the desk clerk and was either I could go to a smoking room or go find another hotel. I paid 120.00 for a room that I could not even get a good nights rest. They also have a karaoke bar here and it is so incredibly loud I definitely would not recommend anyone with children staying here. I have been trying for over 10 days to speak to a General Manager only to be told hes not here can I take a message. I have left NUMEROUS messages, and have filed a complaint with the corporate office and they can not even get in touch with this man. Goes to show you, they take no accountability for there actions. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid this place all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review and are in the midst of upgrading our property, including the doors in the bathroom! We hope that on your next visit through Covington, VA, that you may stop and take a look! Have a wonderful day.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Covington hotels

Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was a nice motel with helpful friendly staff. The surrounding mountains were beautiful. Restaurant food was good. Friendly staff in the bar but karaoke started at 9:00 and it got very loud and busy with patrons not staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciate it so much, and hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip through Covington, VA.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here several times in the last couple of years. It's an older building that needs some updates but it is clean with ample parking. We are always put on the back side of the motel where the wifi is terrible. We couldn't really get it to work while we were there either. There is a bar and the guy running it was very nice. You can play some pool, darts or jukebox while unwinding. There is also a restaurant at this motel but the food is just average. Rooms have microwaves, coffee makers and refrigerators. Bathrooms seem quite small but clean. We will stay here again because we love visiting this part of the state and there's not too many motel options here.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! Please know that we are upgrading our hotel so that it is no longer just average! We are in the midst of a three year renovation plan, and hope that during your visits, you do notice the upgrades that are happening!

Thank you,

Cary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

There was nothing special about this hotel. Rooms are accessed from the outside, which is a turn off for some folks these days. That aside the rooms were nice... Average would best describe them. The few staff members I interacted with were polite, which is much appreciated. The area itself has some things to do, but the hotel location really seemed like a highway night time stop. That being said, this location was okay for the night as there was not much else to choose from in the area.

Room Tip: There were signs posted about the bar getting loud at night music. This area near the pool may want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review of our hotel! We do realize that having exterior entrances may be a turn off for some, but we are working hard to renovate as much of the hotel as possible to make it a great and more than one night experience for you the next time that your through our town!

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel is a nice, standard room. I didn't rate it excellent because of a bad experience when I had previously reserved rooms for me, husband to be, family, wedding party & guests. There were discrepancies about the price I was originally given which led to unnecessary added stress, but it all worked out. As far as the staff here, the cleanliness & the comfort everything was fine. There's a little bar/club inside the hotel which is nice. I like the fact they will let you switch your room if you the music is too loud to your liking (which I've never done). The breakfast is not the best for me, I can't eat eggs and I needed a little variety, but hey it's free.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your response! We are very glad that everything was able to be worked out with the hotel! We appreciate so much that you have such nice words about our employees and look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The staff at this motel couldn't have been nicer. The rooms may have needed a little updating, but ours was very clean. Clean trumps decorating every time. We had dinner at the restaurant in the motel. It was after the normal dinner time so there were only a few people there. It was very good, and when our waitress said that she would see us in the morning, we were a little puzzled.
In the morning, instead of the usual cereal/juice buffet, we were directed to the dining room. There, we were given a menu with at least a half dozen choices of full breakfast items plus all of the extras. We ordered what we wanted and she served it. It was a very nice way to start the day. And, it was free.
Hard to beat this Southern hospitality!

Room Tip: Make a reservation in advance and you won't get a room that's available because the good one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review! We do pride ourself on offering more than just guest rooms and a continental breakfast! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, as well as your dining experience! We hope that you will visit us again during your travels on Interstate 64 in Virginia!

Thank you,
Cary Linkswiler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain View

Address: 820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.