We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont reserve banquet hall/Poor management!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain View

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountain View
820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Covington
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dont reserve banquet hall/Poor management!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My family reserved the hall for a wedding sept.21. Made all arrangements before to have tables set, clean and ready by 7am that morning. We arrive at around 9am and people are eating in our space, tables that were out were unstable and floors were sticky with food and bathrooms were dirty. We complained to management there and nothing was done. Manager would not show or return our calls. We ended up pulling tables out and setting all up ourselves and mopping floors. The two waitresses on duty tried to help and comply but that had to work breakfast area. Waitress that did the banquet was a Godsend! Had no idea that we needed the hall at that time. We were not happy in the beginning and should have been done with manager on duty. In the end we turned a disaster into a nice wedding and the buffet was good. We are still waiting for response from management and hopefully compensation. It should have been handled better and hopefully this wont happen to anyone else!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you had such a difficult experience with the banquet area! I am aware that the General Manager has since contacted you and hope that you will again return to the hotel! Please let us know how the hotel itself was during your stay and if there is anything that we can do in the future.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
PRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    27
    23
    19
See reviews for
33
32
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I had read previous reviews on the noise issues on this property. Since I sleep with the TV on I did not think that this would be a problem. I was wrong The music coming from the attached bar was very loud and played late. I did the next day find one small sign (on the far end of the desk from where you check in) that warned of the noise. I would have given this hotel a very good if not for noise that kept us up and made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Jen Felix,

Thank you for your review, and I am extremely sorry that the music at the lounge was a disruption to your stay! I am forwarding this review onto our General Manager for him to take action at the bar! Thank you and have a wonderful Happy New Year!

Cary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Covington hotels

Pasco, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was in town to attend meetings at the Greenbrier, and wanted to stay somewhere close that was also economical. The hotel was in good condition and had nice and hot showers, which is very important on those long business trips. The breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burke, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hotel room was not clean. I was horrified that the sheets looked as if it had not been changed. There was hair clipping left all around the sink area. When I reported it to the front desk, I did not really get an apology from the front desk person!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We checked in to find out the hotel is more of a motel. Stairs all along outside and you have to look for your room and try to park outside of it. Got to our room and you can smell the oder. I don't know what it was but it was musky and smelled old. This place is way overdue for a renovation. Rooms were old, furniture all old and bathrooms tiny and old with cracks and old stains everywhere. Only plus is the room came with a good working fridge and microwave. There is a Burger King next door and a couple other places to eat. It's a small town so I guess you can expect too much. But for the price per nite for this hotel I would expect a better room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVON
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our way back from a road trip to see family in the Norfolk, Va., area. This property is an old hotel that has been remodeled & will take you back a few years. The biggest drawbacks are that the bathrooms are tiny! I mean t-i-n-y! Luckily, your sink is located outside this very small room with commode and shower, but it is a little bit of tight quarters. Decor is somewhat outdated, and the towels are flimsy. However, for one night, it was a fine stop. Just know that you are going to a remodeled, retro site. They had their restaurant open at night, which served adequate dinner food and had super staff. The hotel staff is extremely nice. The room was clean and quiet and the Internet worked very well. The only pool is an outdoor one. There is a small workout room. The free breakfast was knockout outstanding. You order off a menu, and they bring you a piping hot plate of fresh food, which we found quite impressive. I think it even made up for, in my book, the t-i-n-y bathroom.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your stay at our hotel! We love hearing how your stay was and hope that we can provide you another opportunity down the rode to join us for your overnight accommodations! We are in the beginning stages of a three year plan to completely renovate our property, starting with the guest rooms, so we hope that on your next stop through Covington, VA you will see a more updated facility!

C. Linkswiler
PRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel facilities are about average for BW hotels, certainly acceptable. The restaurant, on the other hand, is a disaster. Food was improperly prepared (What part of "medium rare" rib roast don't you understand? How can you ruin a fried egg? They found a way). We spent the meal joking with the couple at the next table about the "quality". On the bright side, our waitress performed like a real trouper to make us satisfied and without her we would not have been. The hotel offers a discount on the dinner bill, which is an optional choice of use for the free breakfast coupons, but they don't tell you that. Thus we paid full price for the dinner and got the breakfast for free. Had we been told we could use the discount tickets for dinner, we would have gladly eaten breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain View

Address: 820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.