We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, nice hotel...rude guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain View

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountain View
820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Covington
Grottoes, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice room, nice hotel...rude guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The room was great! A little wear and tear but not bad at all. Decor was nice...lighting was a little dim. The room appeared to be very clean. We had the prime rib buffet for dinner and it was wonderful! We had the buffet breakfast and it was okay....a little cold maybe...but good. The staff was very friendly. The bad part was that at 1:30 a.m. There were very loud guests outside our door as we were near the lobby. They were laughing and yelling so loudly that it woke us up. No doubt they came from the bar. We were actually a little frightened by it all as we thought they were fighting at first. It was just an uneasy feeling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    27
    23
    19
See reviews for
33
32
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meridian
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Passing through Covington, it was surprising how expensive hotels were here given the lack of tourist activity in the area. This Best Western was poorly maintained, expensive, and short on services. The staff was uninterested in the customer base, an example being the poor state of the computer/printer unit and the exercise room. My advice would be to go elsewhere and find better accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Covington hotels

Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

One night stay. Cheaper and nicer than the next door motel. Nice breakfast (a little cold) is included in a dinning room with views !? The room is large, clean, well furnished and eqquipped (all in good working order). Staff freindly and helpful. What else do you need for a one night stay !? .

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The room was large and had everything you would need, refrigerator, microwave, a self laundry downstairs . It was clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast was included and you ordered off a limited but adequate menu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've been visiting Covington for 20 years and stayed at this hotel at least 50 times. Most recent trip was very disappointing. Poor lighting, poor water temp, cats everywhere, no newspaper available, noisy heater, lounge not clean, and exersize equipment not functional. The staff is very nice, but cannot make-up for shortages.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that your recent stay here at Best Western Mountain View was not a success! I have looked over the problems you have listed and rest assured that the problems that we can take care of will be! We are currently working on upgrading our lighting in all guest rooms. I have not noticed any cats running around, but then again, with all the food business near us, there are probably some around. We can contact animal control to do a drive around the property. Our Maintenance Department is looking at adjusting the water temperature to accommodate the amount of guests that are at our hotel. We offer a newspaper box in the breezeway of the hotel. If you could please let us know which Exercise machine is not functioning, we will be glad to take care of it as our Fitness Room is rather new and all the equipment should be in excellent condition. We also recently replaced 10 air conditioner units and are working on replacing more! I have also forwarded your complaint in regards to the lounge, to the lounge manager. We hope that you will continue to stay with us and that your next visit is more pleasurable

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
PR Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

came in around 830 pm, checked in and went to the room. Went back out to visit friends in area and got back after 1030pm. Not much open at that time of night but we needed to sleep. Fire alarm battery went beep every 35 seconds all night long. but finally got to sleep. Breakfast ok.a little cold.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CovingtonLodging, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear One Night Stay,

Thank you for staying with us at Best Western Mountain View, we value your stay and your opinion.
We have taken note of your complaint in regards to the fire alarm beeping and would like to take care of this immediately so that it may not affect another guest! If you could contact the hotel with the room number that you were in, this problem can easily be fixed, if it hasn't already! Again, we thank you for being valued guest at our hotel.

Thank you,

Cary Linkswiler
PR. Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is one of those hotels with the walkway on the outside. As a result, it's disconcerting to open your blinds less someone look in and see what you're doing. The room was clean, but there was kind of a smell in the bathroom. A little mildewish, but nothing too bad. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and there is free breakfast (but I did not take advantage of it). The best part was the wi-fi. It was super easy to get on and it was very fast and reliable. Other than that, there was little to rave about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain View

Address: 820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.