We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mountain View to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mountain View
820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I would stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

Nice place. Great breakfast buffet on weekends. Rooms were clean. Great service

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    29
    28
    19
See reviews for
35
38
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 via mobile

There are massive charges if they find anything missing from your room, and the staff is stealing! We are still trying to get the $60 charge removed from our card for four missing pillows. Who would steal four pillows from a hotel room and think they could get away with it? If you stay here you could be in for a big shock when you see your bank or credit card statement. It also isn't worth the $120 we were suppose to pay for it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My family booked a stay at this hotel for six nights as we were attending an event for the week in a nearby area. Upon checking in and given our room number we carried our luggage to the upper level to the assigned room. Opened the door and quickly discovered the room had not been "made-up" from previous guests. With luggage we return to the lobby, given keys to another room on lower level. Upon entering the room, I thought OMG!, we are staying here for six nights!!! The air conditioning unit was so loud you practically had to yell to speak to someone in the same room. Went to the front desk and they sent the maintenance guy. His solution was spraying some WD-40 on the rollers of the AC unit, followed by spraying some air freshner in the room to mask the odor of the WD-40. This may have helped to some degree, but not much. The hotel staff made no attempt to follow up with us to see if conditions had improved. Pool didn't seem like an option based on the overall appearance of the hotel, was very unsure about how clean the pool was. Contacted the corporate Best Western office which relayed this info to the local hotel management. The response received from the management in Covington was almost rude! Tried to book other hotels in the area so we could get out of that dump, unfortunately none were available. Other guests were making negative comments about this hotel as well.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Loved the room. Nice bed. wonderful breakfast. looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

This motel seems to be a place to stay for construction workers. I was happy that it had a refrigerator but it was not cold so it wasn't helpful. Room 200 was retro 1980's - brown and tan. I should have taken pics to post. Remote control was greasy - like someone used it when eating fast food and it was not cleaned over a long period of time - caked on. Bathtub bottom was spongy like it was rotted. Very dusty. Needed a good cleaning. I wiped off a swipe of dirt on the tv with my finger. This whole place needs to be gutted and refurbished. I dont' understand how the chain allows this.

The "free"breakfast was useless because there was a line extending back into the lobby area. There was not a buffet - it was sit down - so I didn't have time to wait in line. Others were complaining about the wait for food and left also. A man on his way out commented that it was the worst $8 breakfast he had ever had so if you didn't get the "free" breakfast it was also expensive.

And to make matters worse, at 2 am or whenever the bar closed the area filled with loud redneck drunks. It took them 15 minutes or so to get in their cars to leave. Scary.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sankarinc, Dir. Sales & Marketing at BEST WESTERN Mountain View, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
We are in the process of updating all of our bedroom accessories (bedding, furniture, linens, lighting, artwork). Please do not count us out yet! I assure you that everything will be great in a couple of months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

My husband and I said at the Best Western on August 9th, 2008. My husband has breathing problems and uses oxygen. We ran out of our oxygen tanks and called down to the lobby to see if there was someway for us to get more tanks. I spoke with a lady by the name of Barbara Trout. She was more than helpful. See called around until she found where we could get more tanks and she even had someone from the motel pick up the tanks for us. The tanks came from Alleghany Regional Hospital which is about 12 miles away. Barbara did a fantastic job and I just want her manager Charles Parks to know what a great and helpful employee he has on staff. If it wasn't for Barbara, we probably would have had to go to the emergency room. Thanks Barbara for all you did. Marilyn and Joe Scott.

  • Liked — The customer service from Barbara Trout
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

The room was okay enough, but the refridgerator wasn't plugged in when we arrived and it took several hours to cool. Two of the lamps were shorted out and there were large ants in the room. The hotel offers free full service breakfast. When we arrived at 8:40am there were 9 other tables and I counted five employees in the area. No one greeted or acknowledged us for a good 5-8 minutes. An employee with a badly stained uniform then came over and led us to a table. He did not greet us or aplogize. We sat at our table and apparently the restaurant allows smoking in one area. These tables may be designated but there was no separation between smoking and non. While we sat waiting in the smoke filled breakfast room we watched the servers get drinks and take orders for tables that had been sat after us. I had to go get menus from the host stand myself where there was no one standing so I helped myself. We were never acknowledged or greeted as we sat and waited. Finally at 9:21 a full 31 minutes after we had sat down and 41 minutes since we, we decided to leave and find the nearest McDonalds where the service should undoubtedly be better even though we had paid for the breakfast at Best Western as part of our room fee. As we stood up to leave, a server walked up to us and said "ok" while taking out her order book. She didn't apologize for the wait or greet us in any way. We ignored her and left the restaurant. No one stopped us and she didn't say anything else she just watched as we left.

Overall the room was sub-par and the customer service was horrible. If you have to stay in Covington overnight I suggest going 500yds up the street, spending the extra $15 and staying at the Holiday Inn.

  • Liked — N/A
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountain View

Address: 820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western, Odigeo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mountain View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.