We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dinner, local place - good price food soso” 3 of 5 stars
Review of D and J Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
D and J Family Restaurant
904 S Monroe Ave, Covington, VA
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 26 restaurants in Covington
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A little dinner, local place - good price food soso”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have eaten here many times in the past but were dissapointed this time. There were only a few other customers but our breakfast was quite cold - eggs, bacon and biskets. They offered to warm it but scrambled eggs do not do well in a microwave and they already tasted like they had been wrarmed over once. The bisket gravy was good but again was not as hot as one would expect and the biskets were cold so the meal was not satisfactory, The waitress seemed more interested in talking with her girl friend then checking on our coffee, etc. Unfortunately after looking forward to visiting again we will probably not be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

% Recommend
    0
    1
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Needs a deep clean”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family and I were in town for a funeral, we don't live there in Covington. We try to eat local to support local businesses, but this place was awful. The table and floors were sticky, the waitress NEVER washed her hands but was touching everything and then touched my food, and the menu was terrible. I ordered a ham sandwich, because I thought it was a safe bet- this is what I got: one slice of Kraft cheese, one slice of ham from a package between two pieces of white bread. What?! No mayo, mustard, lettuce, onion, tomato, etc? Who in the world eats plain cheese (Kraft?!) and ham on white bread. My other family member's meals weren't any better either. Yeah this place is cheap but who wants cheap food if it doesn't taste good?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“HomeCooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Yes, this is a Mom&Pop's place and yes it it definitely dated and yes the service can be slow at times. But you can't beat the home-style cooking. As mentioned before the menu is limited but they have the best fried chicken around.....broasted. Good home-style vegetables and a small salad bar. This is not the place to go if you're looking to be seen, but a good place to go for a good meal at a good price. They have a Sunday special on the 3-pc chicken dinner w/ 2-sides for $5.65. Would probably cost you $10 or more @ KFC and much better sides.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Local Mom and Pop Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for breakfast. Older Mom and Pop type place. Limited menu. Locals were shouting at each other across booths. One waitress so service a little slow. Could use some paint. Kind of looking for Barney Fife and Sheriff Taylor to walk in the door. We would come back. Try to patronize local businesses when we travel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to D and J Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D and J Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.