We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to see native plants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falling Springs Waterfall

Falling Springs Waterfall
Route 220 North, Covington, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Covington
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great place to see native plants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The waterfall, which can be seen from the road is beautiful. If you're facing the waterfall and walk to the right of the fencing you can take a path to the top of the waterfall. I would be hesitant to take small children because there are no fences to keep them safe. I went at the beginning of May was there was a lot of woodland phlox in bloom. I also saw Dutchman's breeches, waterleaf, bladdernut, bottlebrush buckeye, Solomon's seal and trilliums to name a few. I hope to visit this site again over the course of the year.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Lovely waterfall. A nice walkway provided for optimum photo ops. Wish there was a path to meander about.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the prettiest places on the face of the earth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Find the path leading down the falls. The hike is not an easy hike but it's not to bad. I would recommend hiking boots or the like. Walk the trails it is so worth it. You can also get to the edge of the waterfall. They are a lot of cliffs and couple of odd caverns.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Awesome Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is just a few miles from the Humpback Bridge in Covington. Take Rt 220 out of Covington. You will wind up the mountain. As you get to the top watch for a pull-off on the left. There is a parking area large enough for 6-8 cars. If you start heading back down the mountain, you've gone too far. Turn around and watch for the pull-off. Once parked, you can walk along the guard rail and there is an area to view the falls. The walk is just 30 feet or so. The falls are beautiful. We were there on Christmas Day, it was about 29 degrees. The mist from the falls was hitting the trees down below and everything was frosted with a blue-tinged ice covering. It was amazing to see. Well worth the time if you are on I-64 in the Covington area. We got off at exit 10 to see the Humpback Bridge then followed Rt 60 in to Covington to Rt 220 for the falls. We got pictures at both spots and was back on the Interstate in less than an hour.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Beautiful and easy to find, wish we could have hiked it from below. Gorgeous views of the valley, great parking, and safe walk along the mountain road.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falling Springs Waterfall also viewed

 

Been to Falling Springs Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falling Springs Waterfall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.