We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good local ethnic eatery.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Restaurant

San Juan Restaurant
1005 Vallley Ridge Road, Covington, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 26 restaurants in Covington
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Ga
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A good local ethnic eatery.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We has chicken fajitas for two with frozen margaritas. The food, service and price was OK. The fajitas were a little on the salty side and the salsa was a little bland but overall, a good Mexican establishment, especially for a town of this size.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    4
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Authentic Food, but lacking in atmosphere!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The restaurant was very old and in need of some updating. The service was friendly and the menu had a good variety. The food was good but I have had more authentic. I'm sure it 's good for the area and the reviews brought me in but I was less than impressed. Good but not great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great is a standard here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family and I eat here often as good food and service is a standard here every time. The quality of the food here is always great, it does not matter if there is 1 or 20 people in your party they always make sure you are well taken care do. They have the best Mexican food in the area. I recommend this restaurant if your having a meeting, birthday or just don't want to cook. They have a separate room for parties and will accommodate whatever you need for your event.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The food here is great, especially the taco salad & the fajita chicken, the only thing to avoid is the beef taco it can be bland. Always friendly staff and usually very quick to receive food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great value and good tex/mex food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good Tex/Mex food with a very extensive menue. Very reasonable prices, prompt friendly service. Not what you would expect to find in the mountains of Virginia and well worth the stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan Restaurant also viewed

Been to San Juan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.