We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good local ethnic eatery.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Restaurant

San Juan Restaurant
1005 Vallley Ridge Road, Covington, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Covington
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Ga
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A good local ethnic eatery.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We has chicken fajitas for two with frozen margaritas. The food, service and price was OK. The fajitas were a little on the salty side and the salsa was a little bland but overall, a good Mexican establishment, especially for a town of this size.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Authentic Food, but lacking in atmosphere!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The restaurant was very old and in need of some updating. The service was friendly and the menu had a good variety. The food was good but I have had more authentic. I'm sure it 's good for the area and the reviews brought me in but I was less than impressed. Good but not great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great is a standard here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family and I eat here often as good food and service is a standard here every time. The quality of the food here is always great, it does not matter if there is 1 or 20 people in your party they always make sure you are well taken care do. They have the best Mexican food in the area. I recommend this restaurant if your having a meeting, birthday or just don't want to cook. They have a separate room for parties and will accommodate whatever you need for your event.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The food here is great, especially the taco salad & the fajita chicken, the only thing to avoid is the beef taco it can be bland. Always friendly staff and usually very quick to receive food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great value and good tex/mex food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good Tex/Mex food with a very extensive menue. Very reasonable prices, prompt friendly service. Not what you would expect to find in the mountains of Virginia and well worth the stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to San Juan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.