We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful front desk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Covington

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Covington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn Covington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   429 W. Main Street, Covington, VA 24426   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Covington
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very helpful front desk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We made a last minute booking and last room left last weekend. Front desk Dharmesh was very professional. Got us room but keys did not work. We were passing by and needed to sleep. served our needs.Decent room, ok breakfast.Can use better plates and cups. Would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
16
8
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phila, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It was late; we had been driving all day and lost track of the time with no plans for accommodations for the night. We had tried every hotel in town and there wasn't a room to be found anywhere! After calling the main reservation number for this place (we had a heck of a time finding it as the GPS sent us to some mobile home park up in the hills), we drove in and asked if they had anything. The manager on duty was very helpful and apologetic, but the only room they had left was a smoking room and was experiencing a problem with its door lock such that no key cards could be programmed for it. Well, that's way safer than a Wal-Mart parking lot (which was our only alternative at that point), so I was happy to take it. He showed me the room before doing any paperwork, just to be sure that we'd be satisfied before checking in. We were; I expected a stinky room (I hate smoking rooms) but I would never have known it was a "smoking" room. He also suggested (since we were tired) a local pizza delivery and gave me the menu so we could just park ourselves in the room for the night (it was fast and tasty). Given our circumstances (desperate for a room, tired, etc.), I would have expected to get gouged on the price but we got the a rate either at or close to what you see here on Tripadvisor, AND he also asked if we were AAA members so that he could extend that discount. This motel/motor lodge is not new and it harks back to a time when rooms were smaller and you walked up diamond-plate metal steps and across outside corridors to get to the rooms. I have no problem with that style of accommodation, as long as it is clean and well maintained---and this was. The rooms were recently renovated and very attractive, offering an excellent use of the smaller space. Breakfast was OK (again, clean and maintained---all I can really ask for from free breakfast buffets!). The morning staff was also very friendly and helpful. If we're ever in Covington again we would certainly be happy to stay at this place again---even if there were other rooms available in other hotels in town!

Room Tip: Try to get away from the stairwells if you can. We were close to the steps and heard people as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here during the 2014 Greenbrier Classic Golf tournament and were certainly gouged on price. Normally this hotel's rate is well under $100, but we were gouged for $239 plus taxes. The hotel was in no uncertain terms, nasty! Unknown substances on the bed linens, shower curtains and towels were "gray" from overuse. In, general, everywhere you looked, it was dirty. I also woke up after the first night with several insect bites. Had we had any other alternative, we would have left the first night, but unfortunately we had a lot of money invested in the trip, tickets for the tournament, concerts, etc. If this is your only option, just stay home. Avoid this place entirely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Hotel is easy to find-bathroom was recently remodeled-no problem with the A/C. It was clean and the staff was friendly. I was skeptical of the reviews on here as to stay or not, but needed a close place to the Greenbrier and this was only a half hour away. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This newly remodeled Quality was very cozy and modern. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and breakfast was very adequate. The only disadvantage was they had satellite TV and wifi and it stormed the night we were there thus messing up the wifi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moli K, General Manager at Quality Inn Covington, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you.

We hope to serve you even better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here because the prices for other hotels in Covington were almost double the price. I was warned by local friends that the location was sketchy, but we decided it was worth the risk. We arrived in town for a wedding around 2 pm, and were able to check-in fairly quickly. The room was decent, and looked ok overall. We quickly changed and didn't return until after the wedding around 9 pm. The people in the rooms around us were loud. The toilet was not set properly, and would wobble. The a/c was awful. It apparently had an energy-saving feature that caused it to run for a few minutes and then shut off for several minutes. It didn't get cool in the room until sometime in the middle of the night. While we were preparing to leave, my wife found press-on nails left on the counter, as well as a disgusting stain on the bed under the sheets. We would gladly pay the extra money for another hotel if we return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Check in was slow but adequate. Traveled there on business so 4 of us took about 30 minutes to get our keys. No one else was ahead of us. One of my party had major disfunction with his room key and had to get another room. hour later he got a room. Room was clean although the bathroom could have used a little more attention to detail. clean towels. Small room. I stayed in a single king on the first floor and could hear footsteps in the room above me pretty vividly which, to me, is very annoying. but slept ok in a comfortable bed with 4 pillows. Housekeeping staff is very friendly. The guy that checked us in was still there at midnight and there in the morning, He was there in the afternoon after we returned from work and is still here! HMM.. Any way this place is OK but no places within walking distance for dinner, but, had some great restaurants available for delivery. OK place for a slow season if your looking for price. It was quiet and slept OK. the continental breakfast was below average. Do yourself and the local economy afavor walk down the street for a meal in the morning, your not going to miss the hotel breakfast savings at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Covington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Covington

Address: 429 W. Main Street, Covington, VA 24426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Covington 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Covington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Covington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.