We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Covington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Covington to your Saves list
Quality Inn Covington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   429 W. Main Street, Covington, VA 24426   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Covington
new york
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed their on Aug 13, i had Excellent service, and they had Great Room, and the staff was very Friendly and Good Breakfast. Their is isn't much in downtown area but the property was in great condition for a exterior, and I will stay here again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
18
8
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter Inlet Beach Colony, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I get no pleasure in having to write unenthusiastic reviews, but this place really is no great shakes. The parking lot had some trash blowing around. The breakfast was so bad that I hardly ate anything, and that's usually my favorite meal of the day. The room was small, as was the parking lot. The inn has a deal with a department store catty-corner across the street to use their parking lot, but it was pretty full during they day except for far reaches. This is a fairly new motel located in a dying city with huge empty lots and unoccupied buildings everywhere. How on earth could they have bought so small a lot that there isn't room to park half the cars of guests? And, the room was far too expensive compared with what it should be.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, go to a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockville, MD
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We Stayed during the greenbrier week . Had the best service ever and will stay here again and again and again. The Staff was great, the person at front desk was very help full finding the resturants and i know their wan't much a choice but i was worth it staying here and loved the room, the double king suite was great and beds were amazing. Slept like a baby. Also the manger on duty was very helpfull and he personaly greated us and checked us into the rooms. i will definitely stay here agian next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretto, Tennessee
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed there for a BBQ contest 'cork & pork'. The parking lot was being resurfaced one section at a time, so parking was even more limited. All the outside trash cans were overflowing with beer cans and the 'patio' upstairs was trashed with empty beer cans and cigarette butts. The parking lot was filthy with trash and debris. The room it's self was ok, the beds were high but comfy. The bathroom was about the size of a postage stamp, with no exhaust fan. When I went to get ice I had to pass through were the maids had gathered to chain-smoke and gossip, I just about died from the smoke. The breakfast was mediocre and the doughnuts had been frozen then thawed for that morning, gross. The second night we were there the power went out due to storms in the area. The umbrellas in 'patio' area blew off and hit cars. The next day the staff was very understanding. Also they don't have a pool. To sum my stay up I would stay somewhere else if I ever came back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Having stayed in Lewisburg and Lexington previously I was looking for somewhere else to stay in the area, so Covington it was. I'll come on to the hotel in a minute, but first a plea. People of Covington, what is the matter with you??!! You live in a beautiful part of the World, have a lovely Main St and downtown area, but you all seem dead - no downtown restaurants, not a single bar in town, nothing, dead dead dead. Come on, wake up and start enjoying your town, please.

The hotel was a good standard Quality Inn, but the ONLY restaurant is 2 miles away, anItalian pizza restaurant, and when you're on Main St that just ain't right. Other stops on our trip were Lexington, Asheville, Fontana and DC - and this was the worst value for money by such long way, $119, and definitely not worth anything near that.

Room was spacious but we switched the AC off as it was very noisy and couldn't be adjusted. Breakfast was very limited but OK. Stay at Sheridans in Lexington instead.

Room Tip: Don't think theres' much to choose between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

You definitely need GPS or detailed instructions to find this business in downtown Covington, Virginia. I have been a Choice Rewards customer for about 7 years and adore this chain of motels (Comfort Inns, Quality Inns, Sleep Inns, etc.). But this one is NOT one of their better ones. Expensive (close to $100 on a weeknight, not during any special event week), and really cramped parking. Room was clean and bed was very good. Complimentary breakfast was adequate. Selection of tv channels was poor, only about 20 or so. Next time I might travel the extra 30 miles to Lewisburg, WV to stay at a different Choice motel, or even stay at a different motel in Covington.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room away from the lobby to have a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I reviewed the local hotels in Covington before deciding on this Quality Inn. We were looking for a safe, comfortable hotel for a family occasion in a nearby town. This hotel looked to be marginally better than the alternatives. Plus I thought it would be quaint to be downtown.

First, I concur with the pretty much unanimous opinion that whatever is happening in Covington is not happening in the nearby downtown area. We stayed on a Saturday night and it was dead. DEAD in caps. We arrived at 600PM and I don't think there was anything open within walking distance. Consider one of the alternatives nearer I-64 if you are looking for the usual selection of nearby restaurants, big box stores, etc.

The facility is shoe-horned into a too-small plot, with a curiously out-of-place stone facia. The immediate impression of the facilty is overall clean, but worn. We found an old, empty can of Skoal behind the main door of the bedroom. Otherwise, the room was OK. Flat screen TV worked fine. So did the HVAC. Very nice and comfortable King size bed. Plenty of pillows! Clean bathroom.

The parking lot is a mess. And poorly lined for spaces! This was probably my biggest issue with the facility. The building is configured in a U-shape opening on the Main Street, with a covered entranceway/portico to the lobby on one of the interior wings. The driveway is also U-shaped, with parking spaces angled off both sides. The problem is the way people park two deap in the center, potentially blocking the flow of traffic. We have a mid-size SUV and it was difficult to make the turn and squeeze it around the circle. Best bet is to park across the street next to the Bank in the annex parking lot - poorly lit, but not crowded.

My advice is this - if you are passing through the region, plan to stay at either Lexington or Lewisburg. Both have a good selection of hotels, restaurants and shops immediately off I-64. If you need to stay in the Clifton Forge or Covington area, read the reviews and make your best decision based on priorities. My guess is your favorite guest rewards/loyalty program will make the decision for you.

Very basic aging facility with all exterior rooms. No restaurant on-site and nothing open nearby that we could find on Saturday evening. Oh yes, I forgot to mention the nearby paper plant. I am sure the locals would tell you it is the smell of money, but that conforting thought was of little help to my over-saturated olfactory senses on Sunday morning. Set your expectations accordingly.

There is always camping!
.

Room Tip: Toss of a coin. Maybe 2nd floor over the lobby? There is a patio above the portico. Otherwise they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Covington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Covington

Address: 429 W. Main Street, Covington, VA 24426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Covington 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Covington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Covington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.