We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to Rate this Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Compare Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Compare Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare Inn and Suites
203 Interstate Dr, Covington, VA 24426   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Covington B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Difficult to Rate this Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Although my rating is "average", there is no rating that adequately represents my stay at this motel. Passing through the area and decided to stop for the evening. Not sure why but motel rates in Covington seem higher than comparable motels in other similar areas. This motel (it's definitely not a B&B) was suggested by a local we met as clean and low cost. The property is unusual because it consists of a brick bldg with inside accessed rooms on 2 floors (told to us as previously a Comfort Inn, I doubt this but possible) and 2 or more other bldgs housing suites, front desk and a conference area. We took a room in the front brick bldg, non smoking double, 1st floor. It turned out to be a heavy smoking room with an ashtray and burns on the carpet. The ground floor window had a rigged stop to keep it from being opened more than 6" but still seemed unsafe. The not very comfortable beds were positioned on foundations that were larger than the mattresses, leaving metal bedframe pieces sticking out at the right height to bang your shins. The shower faucet did not work. The flusher on the toilet broke requiring manual operation. As if this were not enough, we noticed a large slug taking up residence at the top of the wall, out of our reach (we would have loved to help him out). Where is my "terrible" rating? First, I have to think that this comedy of errors is not normal and most important, when we told the story at checkout, the front desk clerk promptly and to our satisfaction, adjusted our bill. The room rate was originally $78+; 2 other Covington motels have the same owners, Best Western Mountain View (where you eat a wonderful free breakfast when staying at the Compare Inn) rate $111+ and America's Best Value rate $66+. The Compare Inn has a friendly staff and the room had mini fridge.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Radford, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

There was loud music and people drinking in the parking lot outside our window until 6 AM in the morning. The front desk did not answer the first 2 times we called and said they couldn't help the 3rd. Best Western across street is owned by the same people.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

The hotel is now called Compare Inn. The service was good, the front desk allowed us to stay until 3:30 while we were trying to find a traler tire. the only reason we stayed here was because we had a flat on the highway. Had to leave the boat and trailer. the people here are very friendly and helpful. the place is very quiet and reasonable. I paid $80 a night. The A/C did not work and in the summer, that was not very comfortable. they allow pets which is nice. Full breakfast, but you have to drive across the street to Best Western (owned by the same guy) to get breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

Our daughter was married in Covington the first weekend in October. We, her sisters, brother, & a few friends came up from Orlando. The bride's grandmother, aunts, uncles, and cousins came down from Pennsylvania. We had 9 rooms in all!. They were clean and neat. The included breakfast was much more than pastires and cold cereal. The staff was friendly and helpful. Any of us would definitely return and we will be recommending this hotel to anyone who asks. Thank you, Compare Inn, you made our stay so much more enjoyable!

  • Liked — How helpful staff was in getting rooms assigned to wedding guests/how well maintained
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

Loved the grounds of this B&B and the rooms were well decorated with powerful A/C.

Breakfast in the morning was yummy and the staff was friendly and helpful.

The rural setting was lovely and seeing the starry sky at night was amazing!!!

Some of the rooms have a modern bathroom and some have a clawfoot tub, so if you like a modern shower try to get one of those rooms.

The cons: very close to the interstate which takes away from the whole rural feeling, and no internet!

  • Liked — The room decor and breakfast.
  • Disliked — The location... remote and rural Virginia. Maybe a plus for some.
  • Tips/Secrets — See review.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2005

Our stay at Milton Hall could not have been more pleasant. The entire house and grounds are gorgeous and the hospitality was equally as wonderful. The price of the rooms in Oct. 2005 varied by $50. Although we stayed in one of the more expensive rooms, this is a wonderful bargain, especially for the lower priced rooms. The breakfast is gourmet (you won't have to eat lunch) and there are many amenities available to the guests from a charming game room to croquet to over 40 acres to wander on. And we could not have felt more welcome. The innkeepers are available and helpful, but not to the point where you feel as if you are a guest in their personal house as in some B and Bs. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Compare Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compare Inn and Suites

Address: 203 Interstate Dr, Covington, VA 24426
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compare Inn is set atop a hill in the beautiful Allegheny Mountains. You will enjoy the experience of friendly staff, great food,and accommodations like that of home with breathtaking views and convenient location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Compare Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compare Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.