We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WAY overpriced and not clean.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added America's Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
America's Best Value Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   908 Valley Ridge Rd, Covington, VA 24426-6348 (Formerly Covington Knights Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Covington
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“WAY overpriced and not clean.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here this past Friday night because I was too tired to complete our trip that evening. We had not planned on stopping in Covington and after our stay, I recommend you not stay in Covington either. We tried to get a room at the Holiday Inn but they wanted $149 for one night. Are you kidding??? So we ended up at the ABVI. This was just an average cheap room, however every place in the Covington area is SO over priced! After talking with the desk clerks, I am almost sure that there is one owner for 3 motels. This way they can keep the pricing up around town. This place was not so clean, not very comfortable, OVER PRICED and the shower curtain was "spoiled", as my wife describes it. The pillows were wore out and the sheets were as thin as could be without shredding and super wrinkled. The shower curtain had a terrible smell that when wet, made it almost unbearable to be in the shower. My wife could not use the shower because of the smell. I took a super fast shower and the smell was just terrible. I brought this to the desk clerk's attention when checking out and her response was, "It's so hard to get good help" and made no offer to knock a few bucks off the price of the room or anything else. We will not be staying in Covington again if at all possible and if we do, it will not be at this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    0
    13
See reviews for
2
7
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for the Greenbrier Classic golf tournament. We should have stayed in Beckley and driven the extra miles. They gouged us for $124.00 tax and all for a room that would go for $29.00/night, or maybe even 10.00/hour. It is musty, the towels were worn completely out with some staining so we went to Kmart and bought some. The commode seat is broken, we had no maid service on Saturday until 7:00 at night. The coffee pot was molded when we got there and was never cleaned the whole week.The wallpaper is coming off the walls in the bathroom. I'm not sure when those pictures shown online were taken, but it wasn't this decade. This place is not worth it at any price. Keep going. The back seat has to be better, and it certainly is cheaper.

Dave
Marietta, Oh

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here on the 3rd of July. Checked in about 9pm. The room smelled, the bed smelled - as well as the pillows..ect.
The next morning when I went to check out, I told the lady that I was displeased with the room. She informed me she could not help me. I asked if the normal rate was $129.. She informed me no- they raise the rates the first week of July because of the PGA- which was being held @ The Greenbrier, 42 miles away. Normal rate is $79.00 . I told her the room was not a $129.00 room. She told me I could talk to the manager at the Best Western. I guess he has several he manages in Convington. Mind you I was not there for the PGA- the hotel was not booked up., I was on my way to see my dad. I went to the Beat Western, the lady at the desk told me there was nothing she could do, but the manager would be in about 1:30., I told her I would call beck. I did, he was not in, she took my name & number, he never called. I called back the next day, still no manager. I called again, I was informed he was at the Pizza place I could call him there. I did, was told to call back. I did - still no manager. Now I don't mind playing for a room when I travel. This was not worth it. If you stay there be prepaired -

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Upon arrival there was no one at the front desk and we had to wait for several minutes. The woman, who was very pleasant, gave us a room that would not be exposed to the road traffic. The room was in good condition, clean and spacious with plenty of towels and soap. There is no restaurant on site but a voucher for breakfast, up the road at Best Western, is provided. (Do not eat at the restaurant next door.) We had to use the lobby computer at Best Western as there was none available at Best Value.

Room Tip: This was not a busy motel so there should be a room set back from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place was a bit worn but it was clean,safe, and quiet. I ask for a non smoking room and their was no hint of smoking. It was a bit expensive but it was due to the mountain area. It was not difficult to find and a free breakfast at Best Western

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Best Western was full and they recommended this place. We should have kept going. Staff was nice, room was old, musty, linens and towels were old. I guess the room was as clean as it could be for as old as it was. The tub faucets were away from the wall with oversized holes, the door between the two rooms was flimsy and locks were not very supportive. IT WAS WAY,WAY OVER PRICED for the accommodations. Should have been $50 a night instead of $91.38. Never again, no matter what time or how tired, we will keep driving.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

There's not much good to say about this hotel. The photos available online must be very old, the rooms are not as clean and neat as the photos. I had a non-smoking room that smelled like it had been smoked in for 10 years. Everything just looked old and dirty. The towels were pretty worn out and a few of them had stains on them. There was no soap or shampoo in the room. The free breakfast they advertise is not even on site, it is down the street at the Best Western that is operated by the same management company. Best advice, stay anywhere else in town if possible, they can't possibly be any worse.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Address: 908 Valley Ridge Rd, Covington, VA 24426-6348 (Formerly Covington Knights Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — America's Best Value Inn 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn in Covington, Virginia is a 43 room hotel located off Interstate 64 in a small valley surrounded by breathtaking scenic views of the Appalachian Allegheny Mountains. All of our guest rooms are ground level and are divided among the property's three buildings. Our hotel is nature friendly with many grassy areas, trees, and beautiful flowers. There are several attractions and recreational activities nearby for your enjoyment such as Humpback Bridge, Falling Spring Overlook, Thunder Alley, and Skateland Roller Rink. If you love the outdoors, be sure to take a trip to Douthat State Park where swimming, fishing, and hiking are just a few of the many activities offered. At Americas Best Value Inn Covington, take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet access, free local calls, use of our guest laundry facility, access to our on-site business center, and wake-up service. Enjoy the convenience of our attractively landscaped picnic and BBQ area, fax/copy services, vending machines, and ice machines. Relax in your own private guest room with amenities including a mini-fridge, microwave, cable TV, coffeemaker, table with chairs, and iron/ironing board. At Americas Best Value Inn Covington, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.