We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, clean, good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Covington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Covington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Covington
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   701 Carlyle Street, Covington, VA 24426   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Indy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfort, clean, good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Beds were very comfortable, room was super clean, my top two criteria. Arrived late so didn't try the pool area. Rate was a tad high but they lowered it as I talked of taking another room for less a few miles away. Was very pleased with the room, the ac worked well, didn't try the microwave but the mini fridge was cold. The breakfast was ok, the gravy was lukewarm but the cinnamon rolls were good and hot and tasted great. The sausage was not that hot, and the banana's were green. Overall a B- breakfast but the eating area was well maintained and more roomy than some other HIE's I've been to of late. I would definately stay there again because the bed and pillows were so comfortable.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds and very clean
  • Disliked — Breakfast food not hot as it should be.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
20
6
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Goleta, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

A clean, comfortable room. Spacious bathroom. Great internet access. Convenient to I-64.

Overall, I was very satisfied.

Breakfast buffet was "adequate"---the usual thing you expect at a Holiday Inn express (reconsistuted scrambled eggs), OK Coffee, Biscuits.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — (there's nothing not to like)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2005

With this hotel you know exactly what you're going to get. Check-in is really friendly and efficient, rooms are spotlessly clean (as are the bathrooms) and breakfast does the job. It's easy to get to and ticks all the boxes.
Each time it's been money well spent for an overnight - and if you get a room with a mountain view then that's a bonus. Only downside is lack of anywhere decent within walking distance to eat, but get a taxi to the Cat and Owl and you'll have no complaints (well, maybe about the taxi ....)
Have stayed there twice now and doubtless will do so again.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2005

Husband I stayed here this past weekend while on a mini-vacation. Clean, confortable room. Great breakfast (cereal, bagels, muffins). Only two small glitches - we arrived early but could not check in until regular time (the desk clerk explained they had been at capacity the night before and were trying to catch up) and we had no towels in room but this was quickly fixed. All in all, a great little place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Covington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Covington

Address: 701 Carlyle Street, Covington, VA 24426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Covington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Covington is a great hotel surrounded by the beautiful Virginia mountains. Built in 1999, this is a 4 story interior corridor hotel offers 63 guest rooms. Our hotel features a fitness room with treadmill, a bicycle and stepper. There is also a coin operated washer and dryer on the property. In addition, we offer a deluxe complimentary continental breakfast serving hot items. All of our guest rooms feature an in room coffeemaker, iron & ironing board, 27 inch TV, free HBO/ESPN, in room hair dryer and all of our rooms have microwave/refrigerators, three telephone. The Holiday Inn Express also has an indoor pool with whirlpool, and features a limited number of rooms with in-room jacuzzi. We have a meeting room which can be used for both personal/leisure and corporate needs. Downtown Covington is within 2 miles and we have several nice restaurants nearby. High speed internet available in rooms. Visit Covington, VA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Covington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Covington Hotel Covington
Holiday Inn Covington
Covington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Covington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.