We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Holiday Inn I ever stayed at” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Covington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Covington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Covington
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   701 Carlyle Street, Covington, VA 24426   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Holiday Inn I ever stayed at”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you need to stay in Covington, do yourself a favor and drive to Lewisburg, WV (30 minutes West) or Lexington, VA (45 minutes East). HIE Covington is known for its horrible customer service and price gouging (My last stay was $170.00). The staff are unfriendly and trained to squeeze every last penny out of you. Air conditioning units do not work well, if at all. Alarm clocks are out dated and last time it did not even work. The beds are not comfortable. I am really shocked this hotel has managed to keep their franchise through Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Covington, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Dan F,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

I am very disappointed to hear about your experience. I want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and as such, I apologize if we fell below your standards on most of our amenities and if the level of service provided didn't meet your expectations.

I assure you that we take every comment seriously and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
5
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Upon leaving, I realized we had not yet left a tip for the cleaning staff. I left a tip for two different rooms, which meant leaving a note to indicate which rooms. I put my wallet down to pick up the pen and paper...and walked out the door without realizing I'd left the wallet behind. I didn't realize it was gone until we'd driven all the way to North Carolina. Credit card, debit card, gift cards, hundreds of $, driver license --- in other words, my life! Not one cent was taken; two days later my wallet was delivered to me intact. I will be eternally grateful to the staff for their honesty.
Now, for the expected info - the room was clean; supplies replenished daily; no highway noise, despite proximity to interstate and 5-lane road; A/C worked; the included breakfast was good - eggs, sausage, yogurt, cereals, breads, pancakes, etc.; fitness room clean w/towels; had indoor pool, but didn't swim; staff was helpful and friendly even *before* I left my wallet.
We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Covington!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

It was storming...terrible so we were told they had a opening. from a hotel we stopped at first......now I know why....NO AIR. conditioning...it was July20th......97 degrees..hot and humid.....called down from bathroom because phone in bedroom didn't work.....bed was uncomfortable at least NO bedbugs!!!! I told them no air,,said nothing they could do..no other rooms........next morning I told the desk clerk about it again.. he said he couldn.t help me with any discount but he would report it to his manager....told me to call later....SO I did...no help...told me to call back on Monday...by that time I was so sick of the whole situation..i gave up...WE LOVE Holiday Inn Express but were totally upset by this one...BY the way we were headed to Willaimsburg Va.. where we were going to stay at one for a week...I was dreading the stay already.....I cannot believe they charged us 177.00 for this nightmare.....also room really smelled musty...must have been from NO AIR?????

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!! no air conditioning in our room and no phone service....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Covington, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear debbieraye,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I am concerned to read that your experience was not what you expected. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with our air conditioning system and deeply regret the poor experience and service issues you had during your stay.

Your comments are very important as we rely on you, our valued guest to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good points:
Very quiet, didn't hear neighbors once
Nice bedding/ clean linens
Microwave and mini fridge were nice to have
Nice TV
Drawbacks:
Our bathroom had strange dark red (rust?) staining behind the door
Lots of spider webs in the closet (we had formal clothes to hang up)
Very expensive

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Covington, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear UtahandOhio,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room amenities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bathroom cleanliness. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Not as bad as expected based on other reviews. Check in was quick, staff polite, room clean, everything worked, no complaints. I am a fairly picky traveler and am hard to impress, so I am impressed that I was impressed :-) Covington is a little off the beaten path, but has an old industrial charm. Meadwestvaco (paper mill) and outdoor recreation seem to be the main draws.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Covington, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Ufito18,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

While the comfort of the room was okay, the cleaning staff must rush through their jobs because this hotel is only superficially clean. If a hotel is not clean, it's not worth the money, especially over $150/nt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Covington, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Mdunk44,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is good to know you like our comfortable rooms. However, I am sorry the housekeeping service you received was less than satisfactory. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, we do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope to provide you with a better service in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've stayed in Covington every year for the past 3 years to work at the paper mill. And I and the guys I work with prefer to stay here. This hotel has a great location off the highway. There is not too much of a fitness center here. They serve the standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast, nothing special. Because of the demand, the price is usually pretty high

This stay, the room felt very dated. And there was grime in the bathroom. And they still use the toilet seat that is missing the front part of the toilet seat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Covington, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear RamblingManTN,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. It is nice to know that you liked our location. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced specifically with the room condition. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Covington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Covington

Address: 701 Carlyle Street, Covington, VA 24426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Covington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Covington is a great hotel surrounded by the beautiful Virginia mountains. Built in 1999, this is a 4 story interior corridor hotel offers 63 guest rooms. Our hotel features a fitness room with treadmill, a bicycle and stepper. There is also a coin operated washer and dryer on the property. In addition, we offer a deluxe complimentary continental breakfast serving hot items. All of our guest rooms feature an in room coffeemaker, iron & ironing board, 27 inch TV, free HBO/ESPN, in room hair dryer and all of our rooms have microwave/refrigerators, three telephone. The Holiday Inn Express also has an indoor pool with whirlpool, and features a limited number of rooms with in-room jacuzzi. We have a meeting room which can be used for both personal/leisure and corporate needs. Downtown Covington is within 2 miles and we have several nice restaurants nearby. High speed internet available in rooms. Visit Covington, VA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Covington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Covington Hotel Covington
Holiday Inn Covington
Covington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Covington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.