We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a deep cleaning” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Covington

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Covington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Covington
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   701 Carlyle Street, Covington, VA 24426   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Covington
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Needs a deep cleaning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

While the comfort of the room was okay, the cleaning staff must rush through their jobs because this hotel is only superficially clean. If a hotel is not clean, it's not worth the money, especially over $150/nt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Covington, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Mdunk44,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is good to know you like our comfortable rooms. However, I am sorry the housekeeping service you received was less than satisfactory. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, we do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope to provide you with a better service in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
4
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've stayed in Covington every year for the past 3 years to work at the paper mill. And I and the guys I work with prefer to stay here. This hotel has a great location off the highway. There is not too much of a fitness center here. They serve the standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast, nothing special. Because of the demand, the price is usually pretty high

This stay, the room felt very dated. And there was grime in the bathroom. And they still use the toilet seat that is missing the front part of the toilet seat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Covington, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear RamblingManTN,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. It is nice to know that you liked our location. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced specifically with the room condition. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This motel is definitely showing signs of it age. We stayed one night. The room had an OK bed but the pillows were lumpy like very old washed polyester fill. Everything in bathroom worked even though there were serious signs of aging like cracks in the sink. The breakfast was marginal with what tasted like powdered eggs and under cooked sausage patties.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Covington, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear fspandorf,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way back from the Homestead. It was a nice standard Holiday Inn Express hotel. We had a good night rest. Front desk was very accomodating and nice. Overall a pleasant stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were in town for a funeral and did not want to impose on family. My husband is from Covington and knows the area well. The hotel is clean and an average at best Holiday Inn Express. I moved the coffee maker to put toiletries there and there was hair on the counter. All of the furniture, tv, clock, and lamps were dusty. The carpet was sticky between the beds as well. I probably could have overlooked so much of this had the room been priced to match the city..$130 a night for the location, time of year and amenities is outrageous to put it mildly. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Covington, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Page M,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor service from housekeeping which was unacceptable. We will address this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I've stayed here on and off over the past year, doing work for the nearby paper mill. I've stayed at two other hotels in town when this was full, and both times, i've called them every day to try to get in here if someone left or cancelled. Its a standard Holiday Inn Express, nothing special, and kind of expensive as far as Holiday Inn Expresses go, but the manager and front desk workers are very nice and accommodating, the maid staff is good, and it is definitely the best hotel in town. Near the highway.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterlington, Louisiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place meets all of the standards you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The staff is friendly, rooms are clean and the normal breakfast. It is right off the Interstate and easy to find. If you like pizza Cucci's pizza is close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Covington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Covington

Address: 701 Carlyle Street, Covington, VA 24426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Covington 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Covington is a great hotel surrounded by the beautiful Virginia mountains. Built in 1999, this is a 4 story interior corridor hotel offers 63 guest rooms. Our hotel features a fitness room with treadmill, a bicycle and stepper. There is also a coin operated washer and dryer on the property. In addition, we offer a deluxe complimentary continental breakfast serving hot items. All of our guest rooms feature an in room coffeemaker, iron & ironing board, 27 inch TV, free HBO/ESPN, in room hair dryer and all of our rooms have microwave/refrigerators, three telephone. The Holiday Inn Express also has an indoor pool with whirlpool, and features a limited number of rooms with in-room jacuzzi. We have a meeting room which can be used for both personal/leisure and corporate needs. Downtown Covington is within 2 miles and we have several nice restaurants nearby. High speed internet available in rooms. Visit Covington, VA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Covington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Covington Hotel Covington
Holiday Inn Covington
Covington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Covington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.