We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 star hotel in a 1 star town . . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Covington

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Covington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Covington
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   701 Carlyle Street, Covington, VA 24426   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Covington
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A 5 star hotel in a 1 star town . . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Ok, obviously this is not a 5 star hotel! However in light of the area and your options, this is a must stay. Most people are coming here on business. The paper mill in town is one of the few reasons this town still exists. Rooms are clean, the hotel staff is friendly, although they seem understaffed. This is a very beautiful area and walking out of the front door in the morning after a good nights sleep to see the mountains in the morning mist and fog is refreshing. The hotel staff puts out chocolate cookies each night, but you gotta get 'em quick! There is a pool at this location. As far as restaurants there is a new locally owned sports bar right down the road. Fairly convenient acces to I-64. If you come to the area you should stay here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
4
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Took to long to check inn, their wasn't anyone at the desk, had to wait about 20 mins. The sheets in the bed had blood stains and their were no towels when i want in the room. It took them about and hour after i called it in for towels at front desk and the breakfast was cold. So i check out and want to the hotel in downtown!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Covington hotels

Covington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

After the derecho came through covington, my sick, diabetic mother lasted five days in 100 degree heat without power. On day six, she needed a room. When my father called, he was told a room would be 269.99 per night.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

In late April, I was sent on a week long trip to the western part of Virginia to attend a conference at the Homestead (about 45 minutes up a mountain from the Holiday Inn). Because of the haste in booking, I was forced to book the Holiday Inn. I'm a bit of a snob when it comes to hotels. I stay as the Sheridan, the W, the Embassy Suites or Hilton if the option is there. I had not stayed in a Holiday Inn, in fact, since I was a kid.

Check In

I didn't get in until late on Sunday night due to a 90 mile drive from Roanoke Airport. Being from Chicago, I don't do mountains, so I was freaked out trying to get to the hotel before nightfall. As I got into Covington, the HIE was the very first sign I saw. I parked and walked into a small but pristine lobby with a breakfast station (of course, not full of food due to the time on night) and dimly lit hallway. On the other side was the desk and there stood just a delightful woman who was as cheery of a person as I'd ever met. I was a bit of a grouch from all of the travel and she snapped me right our of that. She gave me my keycard, told me about breakfast and sent me on my way.

The Room

So I expected a run down hole in the wall. What I got, however, was an unexpectedly large room with new drapes, furniture, refrigerator and linens. There was a business station for my computer and alike as well as an easy chair for relaxing in the corner. All of this with a king sized bed and plenty of room to get around. I always bring my Playstation 3 on long trips so I have something to do and was delighted to see a brand new 42 inch LG HDTV. Even better, they give you and outside line to cable so you do not have to deal with those annoying "hotel channels". I was able to hook up my system no problem.

The bathroom was standards, but very clean. The shower, one could tell, had been added or refurbished recently. It was very nice.

The bed was very comfortable.

NOTE: The room comes with free WiFi and I kept forgetting the pass code, but the front desk was more than happy to supply as many times as I needed. Very kind indeed.

Breakfast:

Slept like a brick and woke up refreshed to find that their breakfast station included cinnamon rolls, scrambled eggs, toast, bagels, bacon, sausage, pancakes, cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, coffee and tea. Also had some of the best biscuits and gravy I've ever had there. Just fantastic. I asked the front desk for directions to the resort and they knew it without thinking twice.

Fitness Center/Pool

After 4 days of presenting, I needed some hot tub time, but everywhere I go there are kids splashing around like jerks in the tub. Here, I had the place to myself. A very small, but very comfortable and serviceable pool accompanied by 3 treadmills, some dumbbells and, of course, a hot tub were all mine for 2 hours on my last day. VERY relaxing.

Summary:

I will never come back through Covington. I mean, there is nothing there and the place smells like sewage due to a paper mill in the center of town. That said, if I do, I will DEFINITELY stay here again. Just a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: The view is great if you get a top floor. Glorious mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

WE only stayed one night but this hotel was excellent. We loved the breakfast. The complimentary tolietries are fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is easy to find and convenient to the interstate. We hadn't planned on staying there, but after a long day of driving, we needed a rest. I called the l 800 number and made a reservation. The operater was helpful and pleasant. When we checked in, the clerk said we could not use any discounts like AAA because of the way the reservation was made. The total for one night was $160.00.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Just checked in... Get ready for bed and pull the sheets down to find yellow stains in the waist area of the sheet. Don't think they had been washed after the last people used them. Looked bad and gives you that nasty trashy feeling.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Covington, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Anniedawn78,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Covington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Covington

Address: 701 Carlyle Street, Covington, VA 24426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Covington 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Covington is a great hotel surrounded by the beautiful Virginia mountains. Built in 1999, this is a 4 story interior corridor hotel offers 63 guest rooms. Our hotel features a fitness room with treadmill, a bicycle and stepper. There is also a coin operated washer and dryer on the property. In addition, we offer a deluxe complimentary continental breakfast serving hot items. All of our guest rooms feature an in room coffeemaker, iron & ironing board, 27 inch TV, free HBO/ESPN, in room hair dryer and all of our rooms have microwave/refrigerators, three telephone. The Holiday Inn Express also has an indoor pool with whirlpool, and features a limited number of rooms with in-room jacuzzi. We have a meeting room which can be used for both personal/leisure and corporate needs. Downtown Covington is within 2 miles and we have several nice restaurants nearby. High speed internet available in rooms. Visit Covington, VA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Covington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Covington Hotel Covington
Holiday Inn Covington
Covington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Covington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.