We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Covington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Covington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Covington
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   701 Carlyle Street, Covington, VA 24426   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

WE only stayed one night but this hotel was excellent. We loved the breakfast. The complimentary tolietries are fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
5
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is easy to find and convenient to the interstate. We hadn't planned on staying there, but after a long day of driving, we needed a rest. I called the l 800 number and made a reservation. The operater was helpful and pleasant. When we checked in, the clerk said we could not use any discounts like AAA because of the way the reservation was made. The total for one night was $160.00.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Just checked in... Get ready for bed and pull the sheets down to find yellow stains in the waist area of the sheet. Don't think they had been washed after the last people used them. Looked bad and gives you that nasty trashy feeling.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Covington, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Anniedawn78,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

As always I requested a quiet room. What I got was room almost on top of the highway. After a full day of travel I was too tired to make the effort to get another room so we made the best of it. As expected we heard truck traffic all night. Although the room appeard to have been clean at some point, it looked like it had sat unused for an extended period of time as thee was a thin level of undisturbed dust on everything. Breakfast was typical HIE fare but was kept well stocked.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Covington, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear glrsandldy,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The only reason I would not give this an excellent is because of the price. It is a bit much at $140. However, it looks recently remodeled and that could be the reason. The hotel was not very crowded at all a few cars and we only seen two other people. The hot tub is outstanding, could be a few degrees hotter, but I like to boil, so most likely everyone else will love it! The room was nice, we stayed in 206. King room, bed was pleasant, but pillows were lacking! I would recommend bringing your own, even though it says soft and firm on pillow cases they are small and lumpy. the furnishing as very large for the room, two nightstands chair, desk and chair and a large center that housed the dorm fridge, microwave, coffee maker (one cup), dresser and HUGE TV! It was like having a mini theater as you lay in bed. Lots of channels that came in clear. Room very clean including the bathroom that had a oversized shower head and three settings. They had an exercise room, I did not use but extremely small if you get a few people in there it will be hard to walk around to get to another machine total of four, treadmill, bike and two different stair machines. Overall would come again, but to expensive to make it a continual weekend get a way.

Room Tip: Room 206 king bed was really nice, small but wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at the HIE the first of Jan. The room was really nice. The price was little pricey for this time of year I thought. The thing that sticks out is the Breakfeast that they had was not up to par. Actually they didn't even have an attendet on duty to oversee it. I have stayed at other HIE and i have noticed the diffrent. The gravy was terriable the cinnmon rolls were hard. It was not well done.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Room was clean, beds where very comfortable, staff helpful and friendly, overall a great stay for a work trip. Thanks for the great nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Covington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Covington

Address: 701 Carlyle Street, Covington, VA 24426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Covington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Covington is a great hotel surrounded by the beautiful Virginia mountains. Built in 1999, this is a 4 story interior corridor hotel offers 63 guest rooms. Our hotel features a fitness room with treadmill, a bicycle and stepper. There is also a coin operated washer and dryer on the property. In addition, we offer a deluxe complimentary continental breakfast serving hot items. All of our guest rooms feature an in room coffeemaker, iron & ironing board, 27 inch TV, free HBO/ESPN, in room hair dryer and all of our rooms have microwave/refrigerators, three telephone. The Holiday Inn Express also has an indoor pool with whirlpool, and features a limited number of rooms with in-room jacuzzi. We have a meeting room which can be used for both personal/leisure and corporate needs. Downtown Covington is within 2 miles and we have several nice restaurants nearby. High speed internet available in rooms. Visit Covington, VA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Covington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Covington Hotel Covington
Holiday Inn Covington
Covington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Covington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.