We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, Showers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Moomaw

Lake Moomaw
George Washington National Forest, Covington, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 attractions in Covington
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: There's something for everyone at Lake Moomaw, from hiking and swimming to fishing.
Howland, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow, Showers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spend most of our summers camping in the Western United States so a camping trip in Virginia was very different for us. The campground loop we stayed in is very well maintained and had 4 free showers and flush toilets. If you were a camper you didn't have to pay the $5 fee at the beach, which also had free showers. Anyone that camps out West knows how rare showers are and that you have to go to town and pay for them. That alone made Lake Moomaw a bargain. There was a power outage while we were there and the staff worked very hard to lessen that inconvenience. The scenery at the lake was lovely and we enjoyed our time in Western Virginia.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“July 6th 2013”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went to have a nice BBQ with my husband after spending time at lake douthat ..The Bathrooms were Nasty and not kept up very well....Is was like a dead zone and they Charge you $5 Just to have to park.........I heard there was a hole nothing side to the place on bath county but decided not to go visit......Hoping they fix it up a little more Beautiful place but needs TLC for sure........

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clouds on a sunny day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice weather, great time with family and friends.... The boat rental was fun even though the boat stalled 3 times...... but the 2 people in charge that made a point of "visiting" our camp site in an effort to collect $40 that was credited to our boating fees as a curtesy OFFERED by the rental attendant were inconsiderate, rude and very unprofessional to say the least!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kents Store, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 days on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

this was our first trip to lake moomaw and it was the best campground yet and we do a lot of camping everything from the camp host to the bath house was very nice pet friendly everyone there had pets we plan on going back with our 3 yr old grandson and 11 week old puppy acess to it was simple off 64 take the staton exit to 39 he had kayacks we were able to get to the water from our very own campsite small path to the water it was awsome cant wait to get back there this time we plan on bringing family members

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A lovely diversion in Bath/ Allegheny counties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent some time at Lake Moomaw on a recent weekend trip to the VA mountains. The lake itself is very nice, and the facilities are well-kept and clean. As another reviewer mentioned, it is not the easiest lake to find, but the drives are very scenic, as well. So, as long as you are not in a rush, locating the lake can be a part of the relaxing trip. We chose to picnic near one of the swim areas because most of the picnic areas were offset from the lake, with no views of the lake. However, there are picnic tables right next to the lake near the marina, which we discovered on a second trip to the lake after our picnic. We saw deer several times while we were driving around the lake, as well as red squirrel and chipmunks. This is a very lovely lake in the mountains, and is a great option for taking in the mountain views without having to hike. Many of the parking areas to access the picnic and swim areas are honor pay.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Moomaw also viewed

 

Been to Lake Moomaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Moomaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Moomaw to your Saves list