We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Friendly Welcome Here.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
9039 Mountain View Dr., Copper Hill, VA 24079   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Copper Hill B&B and Inns
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“No Friendly Welcome Here.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Entered the main entrance and the owner was sleeping and never said hello,Even though I did.The owners put a note on my cabin door early in the morning and slammed the wooden gate and woke me up at real early in the morning,The note said they had a doctors appt and all amenities were locked and nobody around,Nice place but no accommodations.No access to kitchen or any of the facilities.Cabin was real nice and clean,High thread count sheets,Very nice property on top of a mountain.Really needed a good night sleep and did not.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We only got to spend one night here and sadly, the fog was SO thick, it made for some very scary driving! But once we arrived, it was worth the drive and was very relaxing. We stayed in the Geneva Suite - which was short of like a full basement apartment. Very comfortable and affordable. Wish the weather had been have as agreeable!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent a couple days at the Bent Mountain Lodge B&B, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property is beautiful, and we found it to be clean and we had plenty of space in which to spread out after a few heavy days of travel. In our walk-through Jesse suggested that we could treat the Bent Mountain Lodge as our home, and that's what we found we could do. There are a minimum of rules, and no sense of being told that we must be careful not to disturb heirlooms.
We found Jesse to have some good recommendation for local sites, and his recommendations were excellent.
Breakfast is "continental style", which is basically that you serve yourself from a selection of cereals, etc..
My wife went on to TripAdvisor and related that there were several reviews that were less than flattering. Because of this, I would like to make several suggestions to those thinking of making a stay at Bent Mountain Lodge. First, we were told to treat the Bent Mountain Lodge as our home. For Jesse and Bonnie, that means giving people space. They won't flutter over you, but they were there for us whenever we had a question. Jesse didn't initiate most of the conversations, but was informative and thorough when he was speaking with us. So, if you want talkative or gossipy, you're not apt to get it here. Second, breakfasts are cold cereal or pastry, although you have the run of the professional grade kitchen. In this regard, and here I'll agree with my wife, the Bent Mountain. B&B is more like an Inn than a B&B. We've had many delightful breakfasts at B&Bs over the years, but this resembles what we do at home: a cup of coffee, some juice, and some cereal, and off to start the day. Finally, Jesse did ask us to settle accounts when we arrived, and then that was done for the rest of the stay. Some reviews fault the management for "settling up" on arrival, but this is a business, so once you settle your bill you're done. Again, not warm and cuddly, but it gets the job done.
The Bent Mountain Lodge is convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway, and to Roanoke, and made for a pleasant stay.
One last thing: ask Jesse for a couple (or 3) carrots. He'll know what you mean, and you'll be glad you asked!

Room Tip: Our Room, Suite 1, had a beautiful view of the rising sun: spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Bent Mountain Lodge 3 to 4 times per year for the past 6 years or so. As a Roanoke native who returns to visit family, I can't think of any other place in the area with the uniqueness of amenities and comfort. We mostly stay for long weekends, including Thanksgiving. We consider it a much-preferred alternative to any other hotel/motel in Roanoke, with its beautiful valley views, serenity and restful opportunity to escape fast paced life into a rural mountain setting, friendly animals and caring hosts. We've had several family members come up to the lodge to experience the captivating view with the hosts going out of their way to welcome them, including providing carrots for my nieces to feed the horses. We look forward to visiting with the cats, dogs and horses as well as with Bonnie and Jessee and have already booked our next stay.

Ellen & David, Vienna, VA

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A wonderful destination in itself, but also a great waypoint when traveling along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Convenient off the parkway, with great views and beautiful rooms in the lodge or convenient, well-appointed and convenient rooms in the cabin (4 rooms and a well-equipped kitchen out there). The Lawrences are a pleasure to work with! HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had planned a trip through the Blue Ridge Parkway. For my trip, I booked a lodge on the parkway, however do t the government shutdown, I had to find alternate lodging. I saw Bent Mountain Lodge, but was a little concerned because some of the negative comments I saw on tripadvisor. I don't know who those people were or what their expectations were. The lodge sits on the top of Bent Mountain. About 4 miles from the parkway. photos of the lodge give you a good indication of the lounge area and also the kitchen. The view is breath taking. You should expect about 1 mile of gravel roadway to get to the lodge. My van did the climb with no problem.
While in the lodge, I felt like i was in my own home. There was a guest fridge that had items that guests could help themselves too. Every morning there is coffee, fresh fruit (great local apples), muffins, which can be toasted. We run in the mornings, but the owners left the food out for us to serve ourselves.
We arrived late and the owner waited for us to insure that we got to our room. The lodge has rooms in the main building and additional rooms outside the main lodge. We stayed in the main lodge. Again, it felt like I was staying in my own home.

The owners left us on our own, which is the way we wanted things and acommondated a few requests that we had. They also helped us find local places including a running area.

Our room was $120 per night, which is about $40 less than what it would have cost on the parkway. I found the cost of the room very reasonable and the most inexpensive of our trip.

During our 7 day trip we stayed at the Biltmore in Asheville, N.C. as well as Kiawah Island Resort in SC. I mention this only to say that I have stayed in a number of hotels. I would certainly return to the Bent Mountain Lodge. It is different than these other two hotels, but just as good.

Any concerns I had because of comments,were certainly dispelled.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was a wonderfully relaxing weekend in a gorgeous mansion. We were able to enjoy the great room, the deck, and our Jacuzzi tub in our room. The pets are friendly and cute and the owners were very nice.

Room Tip: We chose a room in the house, which we enjoyed because we were able to use the kitchen and great roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9039 Mountain View Dr., Copper Hill, VA 24079
Location: United States > Virginia > Copper Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Copper Hill
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are celebrating our TEN YEAR ANNIVERSARY AND 3500 RESERVATIONS. As you enter the grounds of BENT MOUNTAIN LODGE BED AND BREAKFAST,INC. you will begin an experience you won't soon forget. Climbing the mountain to the Lodge, you will gaze at the spectacular views that are unparalleled on the Parkway. Just stepping onto the grounds you will begin to realize that you are as close as you can get to natural, majestic beauty. Visitors here have said it's the closest place they have been to "heaven on earth". The 15,000 square foot lodge sits atop the mountain with a view overlooking the Blue Ridge Parkway. In every direction you are awed by the majesty of the mountains that appear never ending. As you relax and take in the view from one of the decks or sunrooms, you come to realize that earth's tapestry is simply unmatched! As you enter the lodge you will notice the beautiful pond and the amazing rock and woodwork. Inside the lodge we offer a choice of six suites and 4 suites in our cabin and all show warmth, elegance and convenience. All of our suites have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Each suite has a wonderful view of mountains and/or grounds. All suites have their own baths. Some suites provide private deck entrances and five suites inside the main lodge have Jacuzzi Tubs. The lodge offers hi-speed internet use (wireless internet available). All suites have TV's. The large 22 ft. handicapped ramped gazebo, 12x15 ft. (600 SQ, Ft) Sunroom and 900 sq. ft. adjoining deck and 1500 sq. ft. covered gazebo pavilion and grounds themselves are a perfect wedding location, bridal luncheons, family reunions, birthday parties, quilting retreats, scrapbooking retreats, the possibilities are endless. Lodge is conveniently located between Floyd, Va. and Roanoke and Salem, Va. and approx. a half hour drive to the Christiansburg / Blacksburg, Va. area. If you are looking for an alternative to a hotel or motel the accomodations here are for you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.