We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, relaxing atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
9039 Mountain View Dr., Copper Hill, VA 24079   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Copper Hill B&B and Inns
Bent Mountain, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views, relaxing atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Super location with Mountain views that are breath taking....

However, The over-all first impression of the B&B was not very inviting....upon our arrival, we were not greeted in the lodge, there appeared to be no one around. We did call out for a response, and finally a man came out of his office. He did not introduce himself, and our reaction to his attitude and persona was not very friendly or hospitable. We gathered by the ensuing conversation he was the owner. My thoughts were, the owner, (i saw his name on a diploma on the office wall) we were "invading his castle", and he really didn't want to bother with the process of checking us in, and showing us our rooms etc...

His wife, came to greet us, as we ate breakfast on the deck, and she was delightful! The breakfast was a completely "self serving", which was okay, but not exactly what you might expect in a Lodge that cost $150.00 per night.

Over all the Lodge had beautiful surroundings, and nature was abundant, all around you. But the atmosphere that the owner created, give off bad vibes. May I suggest, the lady of the lodge, meet and greet the visitors, and I am betting the entire experience would be much better.  
I would describe Jesse at  times, as arrogant and rude, not at all what one would expect when staying in a B&B. The rooms were clean but the odor was not pleasant. It was obvious they were trying to cover up the musty  and mildew odor with a chemical...which was overwhelming.  . I doubt we would stay there again...unless Jessee's wife handled all the "greetings" and check in process. She was delightful.

Room Tip: Try not to get the large suite on the lower floor.....it had a musty and mildew odor to it, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseLawrence, Manager at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
I have to admit that my wife Bonnie is a much nicer person and more inviting than i am. However am I really that bad? I am very sorry for the impression i left with you, it certainly was not my intent. We are pretty casual around her as it is our home and we try to treat people the way we would family visiting. we leave folks to their privacy unless they want to talk and we are always willing to visit. We enjoy having folks from all walks of life stay with us and that is why we share our home with so many. 42 stares and 10 foreign countries this year and for 10 years. Our success speaks for itself. Some folks arrive tired and I try to get them settled quickly and be a helpful as possible. Our breakfast is detaied on website and is self service so folks can come at their leasure if they want breakfast. Anyway I hope you will give us another chance sometimes. Jesse lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The location is very nice, and it was scenic. The man (I think he was the owner) that showed us our room was not very friendly. That is OK, we could deal with that. However, when we arrived in our room we were overwhelmed with the odor of what I suspect was an extreme overuse of a cleaning product, perhaps Febreeze. We opened the windows on both sides of the room and tried to air out the room for two hours while we visited a near by town. When we returned, the room was still unihabitable. The cleaning product odor was so strong it was irritating our lungs.Because it was affecting our health. We contacted the owner and all he could offer was for us to sleep on the couches in common living room of the place. Not a good thing, and then we would have to pay full price for at their room rate. We ended up having to stay in another hotel in a nearby town. Since we were not able to stay there, we challenged the charge on our credit card bill since they did not render the services they advertised, which were a place where we could sleep. They refused to credit our charge card.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseLawrence, Manager at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We regret the issues outlined in this complaint. This is a extra large suite and the most popular of all our suites. There are times in any location that some folks have greater sensitivites to cleaning materials than others. We have no way to know about folks with these issues ahead of time if they do not say something. This is our home and we use same cleaning materials throughout our home. We never offered to put people in our living room on the sofas as an alternative as stated, that is silly. We have completed 10 years and 3500 reservations so our success speaks for itself. We value doing a good job fpr our guest and are blessed with many returns year after year. We had folks from 42 states and 10 foreign countries this year and we enjoyed them all. Jesse lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copper Hill hotels

Bloomfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you like B&B's that have paper thin walls, dogs barking through the night, a do-it-yourself breakfast, and a curmudgeon for a host -- all for the exalted price of $137 a night -- welcome to your dream lodge.

When my wife and I entered the (alleged) B&B it appeared empty save for an elderly guest lying on the sofa watching FOX News. We walked around looking for the host and finally called out with "Hello." Up popped the gentlemen from the couch -- he was the owner. He didn't appear happy to see us except to demand payment in full not too long after a cursory hello. He was also not happy or helpful in providing requested information on restaurants. In fact, he gave misinformation about the nearest town, which, if accurate, would have improved our dinner that night.

The room was clean and the view was beautiful, but the walls were made of cardboard and we could clearly hear quiet conversations from the adjoining rooms while trying to sleep. Note that I wear a hearing aid, but not to bed. I guess I should be thankful for the persistent barking of one of the owner's dogs through the night, protecting the bikes in our car, but I was not. (Note that we have 3 dogs and we'd take corrective steps if this happened at our home.)

Bent Mountain really should be renamed either Motel or Bed & Snack. Breakfast consisted of toast which you make yourself and assorted breakfast bars. You want butter on that toast? Walk over to the refrigerator and get it yourself. Check out the cheap yogurt and fruit cup in heavy syrup while you're there. Did I tell you the coffee was undrinkable? If the owners read this be aware that the second B in the title means a full, sit down breakfast.

Worst lodging experience I've ever had. We felt ripped off. Worse is that it appears from reviews elsewhere that this is the de rigeur from Bent Mountain and they apparently don't wish to make changes.

Save. Your. Money. Caveat emptor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseLawrence, Owner at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
My apologies for any misunderstandings. Continental Breakfast was exactly as advertised. Food is presented as required by local health department. After 3500 reservations over 10 years, a few folks fail to read a complete description of breakfast on the website so we we check them in we take them to the kitchen and explain about breakfast. As far as complaint about thickness opf oflls, the construction of this facility more than meets normal Our prices are more than competitive and people often comment that we should charge more. We try to let folks have their privacy. Our dogs do bark at times when a deer, turkey or bear pss by us but they are kept insde our barn in a seperate building. We do at times have a guest with a barking dog but they are also always kept in our cabin suites in a seperate building.
Our success speaks for itself. But in any case we always hate for folks to leave and their expectaions are not met. jesse lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The Property and views are beautiful. Bonnie is warm and hospitable but Jesse does, however, truly seem bothered by having guests at the property. We had rented rooms for the past 7+ years - same weekend/ same rooms for a family reunion. Last year, our parents (80's) cancelled their room 2 weeks in advance due to illness. The room was immediately rented to someone else- we know this as we saw people come to the Property looking for a room and turned away because all the rooms were filled. Red Flag/ Concern: Two weeks advance notice of cancellation by a repeat customer, the room was rented and no lost income incurred, and yet NO REFUND of the DEPOSIT. Our parents called to follow up to see if it was a mistake and were told - there are no refunds. Be aware.

Each year when we ask about reserving for the next, we have been told - not now, we'll do it later. We assumed, as loyal repeat customers, that it would continue in the same manner. We called in early March to finalize what we thought were our standing reservations for the end of July to be told sorry - no room at the Inn.
We're disappointed and ending our patronage.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseLawrence, Owner at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We always enjoyed having you folks stay with us and we have always tried to treat you as family and perhaps it is true that familiarity breeds contempt. We always gave you the run of the place including the kitchen and the oven you left on and left and other guest had to put out the resulting fire. Replaced oven $2500.00. but still you were always welcome. I often called you to alert that rooms were filling up as this weekend is always very busy. We booked a wedding this particular year and they took all the rooms. Surely it is not our responsibility to keep up with your plans. as far as deposits we have always had a firm policy of no refunds for deposits and it is spelled out very clearly on the website. We did rerent the room for one night at the last day of the cancellation but reservation was for two nights. Most reservations for that week are for three or four nights but we always rented to you all for two nights and lost the opportunity for more nights from others. We do regret the misunderstanding and the ill will you now feel towards us after so many years. Hope you will consider coming back sometime if just to say hello while you are down the hill. Jesse lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Great view and comfortable physical plant, but Jesse almost seemed bothered by having guests and seldom had any inclination to communicate unless he was echoing Fox news which he seemed to watch all day, monopolizing the "lounge" area.

Breakfast was a joke. Paper plates with kid sized individual cereal boxes and frozen bagels.

Great location and view, but I wouldn't stay hear again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseLawrence, Owner at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
My apologies for any misunderstandings. Continental Breakfast was exactly as advertised. bagels are never frozen. Food is presented as required by local health department. After 3500 reservations over 10 years, first complaint about food. As far as complaint about me personally I am a little confued but certain folks are sincere about their feelings. I had just had bypass heart surgery 10 days earlier so maybe I was not at my best. I never snubed anyone and spend hours talking to folks that want to talk and i enjoy it. We try to let folks have their privacy.
Our success speaks for itself. But in any case we always hate for folks to leave and their expectaions are not met. jesse lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at Bent Mountain Lodge whilst cruising the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is way off the beaten track at the top of a mountain, but if you follow the directions supplied it is easy to find. The lodge itself is most luxurious and our room was spacious, clean and had every amenity we wished for.
The hosts were helpful and offered advice on what to see and where to dine. We were made to feel very welcome. We would certainly stay there again if we revisit the area.
Richard & Gwen

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Jesse & Bonnie Lawrence have done a wonderful job "renewing" this great B&B. Views of the parkway and surrounding mountains are exceptional. The lodge and surrounding acres just seem to go on and on. Rooms are well done and common areas very spacious. We look forward to visiting again when the Fall colors are out.
Mary & Mike, Williamsburg, VA

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9039 Mountain View Dr., Copper Hill, VA 24079
Location: United States > Virginia > Copper Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Copper Hill
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are celebrating our TEN YEAR ANNIVERSARY AND 3500 RESERVATIONS. As you enter the grounds of BENT MOUNTAIN LODGE BED AND BREAKFAST,INC. you will begin an experience you won't soon forget. Climbing the mountain to the Lodge, you will gaze at the spectacular views that are unparalleled on the Parkway. Just stepping onto the grounds you will begin to realize that you are as close as you can get to natural, majestic beauty. Visitors here have said it's the closest place they have been to "heaven on earth". The 15,000 square foot lodge sits atop the mountain with a view overlooking the Blue Ridge Parkway. In every direction you are awed by the majesty of the mountains that appear never ending. As you relax and take in the view from one of the decks or sunrooms, you come to realize that earth's tapestry is simply unmatched! As you enter the lodge you will notice the beautiful pond and the amazing rock and woodwork. Inside the lodge we offer a choice of six suites and 4 suites in our cabin and all show warmth, elegance and convenience. All of our suites have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Each suite has a wonderful view of mountains and/or grounds. All suites have their own baths. Some suites provide private deck entrances and five suites inside the main lodge have Jacuzzi Tubs. The lodge offers hi-speed internet use (wireless internet available). All suites have TV's. The large 22 ft. handicapped ramped gazebo, 12x15 ft. (600 SQ, Ft) Sunroom and 900 sq. ft. adjoining deck and 1500 sq. ft. covered gazebo pavilion and grounds themselves are a perfect wedding location, bridal luncheons, family reunions, birthday parties, quilting retreats, scrapbooking retreats, the possibilities are endless. Lodge is conveniently located between Floyd, Va. and Roanoke and Salem, Va. and approx. a half hour drive to the Christiansburg / Blacksburg, Va. area. If you are looking for an alternative to a hotel or motel the accomodations here are for you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list