We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View without hospitality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
9039 Mountain View Dr., Copper Hill, VA 24079   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Copper Hill B&B and Inns
Chicago, Il
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“View without hospitality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Great view and comfortable physical plant, but Jesse almost seemed bothered by having guests and seldom had any inclination to communicate unless he was echoing Fox news which he seemed to watch all day, monopolizing the "lounge" area.

Breakfast was a joke. Paper plates with kid sized individual cereal boxes and frozen bagels.

Great location and view, but I wouldn't stay hear again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseLawrence, Owner at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
My apologies for any misunderstandings. Continental Breakfast was exactly as advertised. bagels are never frozen. Food is presented as required by local health department. After 3500 reservations over 10 years, first complaint about food. As far as complaint about me personally I am a little confued but certain folks are sincere about their feelings. I had just had bypass heart surgery 10 days earlier so maybe I was not at my best. I never snubed anyone and spend hours talking to folks that want to talk and i enjoy it. We try to let folks have their privacy.
Our success speaks for itself. But in any case we always hate for folks to leave and their expectaions are not met. jesse lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at Bent Mountain Lodge whilst cruising the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is way off the beaten track at the top of a mountain, but if you follow the directions supplied it is easy to find. The lodge itself is most luxurious and our room was spacious, clean and had every amenity we wished for.
The hosts were helpful and offered advice on what to see and where to dine. We were made to feel very welcome. We would certainly stay there again if we revisit the area.
Richard & Gwen

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Jesse & Bonnie Lawrence have done a wonderful job "renewing" this great B&B. Views of the parkway and surrounding mountains are exceptional. The lodge and surrounding acres just seem to go on and on. Rooms are well done and common areas very spacious. We look forward to visiting again when the Fall colors are out.
Mary & Mike, Williamsburg, VA

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

My wife has allergies. After arrival (and payment for 3 nights), the odors from strong cleaning products used combined with dampness of the basement suite made it impossible for us to stay. We expected to forfeit our $50 deposit, but the owner demanded payment for an additional night. He returned our credit card payment less $200 in the form of a personal cheque, claiming his refund function on his credit card machine didn't work properly. It forced us to find a bank the next day and pay an additional bank charge to cash the cheque!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseLawrence, Owner at Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
These folks rented our largest and most popular suite, 1000 sq.ft. for 3 nights, two couples. The gentleman who made the reservation went into the suite and saw a Febrez spray can on the bar and said his wife was alergic to strong cleaning material and he did not think she would stay in that suite. Sure enough as soon as she entered she wanted to leave. The other couple had no problem and liked the lodge and the large suite. We offered to let them have two seperate suites, not as large for same price as the one but the lady would not even look at them and walked out. The other couple mentioned to us off to the side that they had problems the whole trip. There was no mention of any alergy problems when the reservation was made. It was 8:00PM at night and no way to rent to anyone else at that point. So we told them we would have to charge for one night and refund two nights. We refunded with a check to be sure there was not a problem with refund as refunding with a credit card is not always reliable. There was no complaint to the check or that we were charging one night as they had been given an alternative. The gentleman apologized and said he had to keep his wife happy. This suite is not in a basement, it is on ground level with 30ft. of windows and sliding glas door with heat pump. We regret the lady's issue and tried to accomodate her but she wanted no part of it. I know they were tired from traveling and often folks do not have a lot of patience. We are surprised they waited two months to make the comments and felt we took advantage of them. These situations are so rare that it is always upsetting have this happen. This is our home and everyone is welcomed as our personal guests.
Bonnie and Jesse Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Whilst the property is interesting and reasonably comfortable, the owners had gone away and left a neighbour, Becky, to look after things. Becky did a very good job but when I wrote to the owners to express our disappointment at not being able to meet them, which is what we thought B&B was about, this was the reply;
" We apologize for your disappoint with your stay in our home. We are glad you
found the accommodations acceptable which is what you paid for and used. You
did not pay for babysitting and entertainment and as you said you did not
receive from us. Becky and Dale tried to be very accommodating to you both
and were very surprised at your email as we were. The lodge is never locked
and we leave our keys in the cars day and night. Lots of people come and go
at all hours and that is the way they like it. We will make no effort to
justify out personal schedules to you. On Balance if you ever do return to
our beautiful area, we hope you will find a more suitable facility that can
meet you every need. Thank you for your business and visiting our wonderful
country.
Thank you for your interest in Bent Mountain Lodge
By the way, we didn't ask for babysitting, simply to meet the owners.
Add to that the approx. 35/40 mile round trip to a restaurant for dinner, why bother??

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9039 Mountain View Dr., Copper Hill, VA 24079
Location: United States > Virginia > Copper Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Copper Hill
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are celebrating our TEN YEAR ANNIVERSARY AND 3500 RESERVATIONS. As you enter the grounds of BENT MOUNTAIN LODGE BED AND BREAKFAST,INC. you will begin an experience you won't soon forget. Climbing the mountain to the Lodge, you will gaze at the spectacular views that are unparalleled on the Parkway. Just stepping onto the grounds you will begin to realize that you are as close as you can get to natural, majestic beauty. Visitors here have said it's the closest place they have been to "heaven on earth". The 15,000 square foot lodge sits atop the mountain with a view overlooking the Blue Ridge Parkway. In every direction you are awed by the majesty of the mountains that appear never ending. As you relax and take in the view from one of the decks or sunrooms, you come to realize that earth's tapestry is simply unmatched! As you enter the lodge you will notice the beautiful pond and the amazing rock and woodwork. Inside the lodge we offer a choice of six suites and 4 suites in our cabin and all show warmth, elegance and convenience. All of our suites have been designed for comfort and relaxation. Each suite has a wonderful view of mountains and/or grounds. All suites have their own baths. Some suites provide private deck entrances and five suites inside the main lodge have Jacuzzi Tubs. The lodge offers hi-speed internet use (wireless internet available). All suites have TV's. The large 22 ft. handicapped ramped gazebo, 12x15 ft. (600 SQ, Ft) Sunroom and 900 sq. ft. adjoining deck and 1500 sq. ft. covered gazebo pavilion and grounds themselves are a perfect wedding location, bridal luncheons, family reunions, birthday parties, quilting retreats, scrapbooking retreats, the possibilities are endless. Lodge is conveniently located between Floyd, Va. and Roanoke and Salem, Va. and approx. a half hour drive to the Christiansburg / Blacksburg, Va. area. If you are looking for an alternative to a hotel or motel the accomodations here are for you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bent Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list