We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that authentic...but not terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Don Jose

Don Jose
3609 Blvd, Colonial Heights, VA 23834-1321
(804) 520-8422
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not that authentic...but not terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The margeritas taste like lime jello and have about as much tequila...have them make you one by hand, or order beer.
What is that NASTY white sauce they bring with the chips? I've been to Mexico a million times and NEVER have seen that awful stuff. The enchilada sauce must be canned, it is a strange color and tastes like BBQ. I suppose they are making stuff "gringos" will enjoy, but it is far from REAL Mexican food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“DYnamite Service and Food Too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Quesdela del mar is the best I've ever had. Weekends are very busy, but well worth the wait. The servers are always kind.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonial heights
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“authentic and fast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I enjoy eating here a lot. We know we will like whatever we order and that it will be brought to us in a quick and courtious manner. Everything I have ordered has been fresh and very tasty. The staff does a great job keeping drinks filled and being attentive without being annoying.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“It has gone downhill...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This was my favorite Mexican restaurant in Colonial Heights. However, the food seems to be more processed (not fresh) or reheated. I love their salsa but I only go here if I have a coupon and don't want to drive far. Sorry.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and reasonable prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We eat at Don Jose often and cannot say enough about the delicious quality of the food and large variety of the menu. You are greeted with smiles from the friendly and attentive staff and served warm chips with salsa and a white sauce as soon as you are seated. From the fajitas to the chile rellenos--it is all fantastic and priced reasonably!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Jose also viewed

Colonial Heights, VA
 
Colonial Heights, VA
 

Been to Don Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.