We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak to die for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wagstaff's Steak House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wagstaff's Steak House
3737 Boulevard, Colonial Heights, VA 23834-1336
804-526-7305
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $30
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Steak to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Overnight stop off route 95 Looking for something good to eat. List of recommended useless except for Wagstaff's which offered to let you pick your own steak & cook it properly. In that, they more than exceeded our expatiations. The salad bar was above average and the home made, really home made, cream Brule. One of the best I've had in a long while.

This will be a standard stop on our trips up & down 95.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great evening with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great service, good valve. Needs a bit up updating, especially in the entrance, put some doors on those closets! I had the grilled tuna and it was cooked perfect and it was delicious. Salad bar is simple but very good. I would go back over and over.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife & I have been going to this fine restaurant for many years. The steaks are cut to the weight you want at your table. There is homemade soup that is wonderful. I have never gotten a steak that was not cooked to my satisfaction. Full salad bar is available.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The steak was very good, which I know they are noted for. Atmosphere not so much. Servers forgot a few things which came out later. That is always disheartening. A patio, music and outdoor seating would be lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Steak Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just made yet another pilgrimage to Wagstaff's and once again, the steak was amazing. Granted, the decor and salad bar are less than stellar, but the great steak and great service more than make up for it. If you are a looking for a great steak experience at a reasonable price, this is definettly worth visiting. This has been a local's favorite for years for good reason.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagstaff's Steak House also viewed

 
Colonial Heights, VA
 

Been to Wagstaff's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagstaff's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.