We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like shoe leather” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sagebrush of Colonial Heights

Sagebrush of Colonial Heights
204 Southgate Sq, Colonial Heights, VA 23834
(804) 520-8216
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Sagebrush is a casual dining Steakhouse. Our menu is full of appetizing items with an emphasis on hand-cut Angus steaks. We also offer prime rib, award winning ribs, fresh seafood & chicken, as well as a variety of garden fresh salads, appetizers & homemade desserts. We pride ourselves in serving a great meal with value & variety in a family friendly environment.
Sharpsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Like shoe leather”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

While the staff were quite friendly, the quality of the food was bad. I ordered a steak salad. The salad portion was good. The steak portion was terrible. The meat was ice cold, mostly gristle and tasted awful. The only reason I didn't complain or send it back was we were at the end of a long work day while traveling, and I just wanted to get back to the hotel and relax.
Don't waste your money here. Go around the corner to Lone Star Steakhouse and get a better meal. That's what we did the remaining nights while in town.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“extremely dissappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ordered a NY Strip at $19.95, with a choice of 2 sides. Ordered the salad, parts of it was frozen. Waitperson asked me how it was, so I told her it was frozen. Management insisted that it was not possible as refrigerator is set to 41 degrees. Why would I make this up?
Steak was fatty and grisly. The only taste was over-seasoning, no natural taste. I tried to eat about 2/3, discarding about 1/2 to fat and gristle. Totally disgusting! I would not eat the rest. I left the restaurant hungry. I did not appreciate the attitude of the manager. Do not waste your money. I am only critical of restaurants that really fall below the bar- this is one of those occasions.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food a good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have visited many times. The food is always good and the prices are very reasonable. I have had steak to Chicken wings. Always peanuts to eat at the bar and the owner will come to your table if you have a problem.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I were in Colonial Heights and decided to stop by Sagebrush for lunch. She had the chicken strips and I had the grilled chicken tips sauteed with green peppers and onions. We both enjoyed our meal and was very filling. They have a good selection of lunch specials, some as low as $5.00. Very clean and the staff was very friendly. We will definitely return and recommend a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sagebrush of Colonial Heights also viewed

 
Colonial Heights, VA
 

Been to Sagebrush of Colonial Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagebrush of Colonial Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.