We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be perfect if not next to the railroad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15820 Woods Edge Road, Colonial Heights, VA 23834   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Would be perfect if not next to the railroad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

This hotel was very clean and even smelled brand new, even though the occupancy permit on the wall was from 2009. The train is pretty loud because there is an at-grade crossing right next to the hotel and the train blows its horn as it passes. I am a pretty heavy sleeper but heard at least two trains pass through the night. As posted in other reviews, the hotel does provide earplugs along with a memo stating "Sorry about the train."

Room Tip: The railroad tracks are on the back side of the building, so hopefully a room on the front side woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
4
7
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I only stayed here one night but plan on returning. I was originally concerned because I had read the other reviews regarding the train waking me up in the middle of the night. Yes, this hotel is right in front of very busy train tracks. when checking in I told the clerk my concerns, she said she would put me in the front of the hotel to minimize the noise. I did notice the sound of the train occassionally but not enough to keep me awake or disturb me. Beds were so comfortable. Room was very clean and upgraded, granite coutertops, nice appliances, great LCD tv, etc. I used they gym twice - nice equipment, etc. The laundry facility was a bonus. Lots of machines and front loaders for free! All in all, great stay and nice place. I will still here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

The backside of the hotel is next to the train tracks and you will have ear plugs in your room.

However, the rooms are clean and I love the kitchenette and the free washer/dryers.

The maids are great and deserve five stars but their services are geared towards extended stay customers.

The location is easy to access off I-95 but the train is horrible which hurts my location rating.

The price comparable to other hotels so do you want a free breakfast (do not stay here) or a free washer/dryer and kitchenette?

I have stayed here in 2009 and I have noticed that the pillows are older now and should be replaced but the mattresses are wonderful. I would stay here again especially if I need to do laundry for free.

I have stayed here before with my dog, an OLD yellow labrador retriever and they were at least nice enough to give me a ground floor room but the hotel has gone down and if you can't sleep through a train whistle, don't stay here. However, I will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are farther from the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night. We chose this hotel because it has a kitchen, which when you are on a road trip allows you to eat healthily. It is also part of the Intercontinental Hotel Group chain, and they have a sterling reputation for quality.

Our stay had an unfixable problem, and a fixable problem.

This hotel has rooms facing an active train track and rooms that do not face the train tracks. Our room faced the train tracks. We arrived at night, so I discovered this fact when I read the welcome letter which begins "We are sorry for the train...here are a set of ear plugs." (see photo)

I looked outside our window to see a huge bright white light - one of those parking lot lights perched right outside our window (see photo). For that, there was a set of heavy blackout curtains. The message is obvious: to fall to sleep, you must mask both your hearing and your vision. Clearly, both of these are unsolvable problems.

On top of this, the refrigerator was making horrendous noise, and at midnight were moved to another room. Presumably, this was a one-off problem, and the hotel handled it adequately although the maintenance person was a grump.

Front desk staff was efficient and friendly.

The unsolvable problem of the noise and the light (plugs and drapes are not solutions, they are stop-gaps) make this place a hotel to avoid.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Candlewood Suites, the service was excellent, guest check in excellent, all employee were courteous. The breakfast bar was the best we have ever had. Excellent value. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay comfortable and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

As a regular Tripadvisor user, for whatever reason, I did not check the reviews of this hotel before my husband and I arrived. I REALLY wish I had. In all my years of travel, I have never experienced such a blatant pet fee RIP OFF!!! It's absurd, and is an obvious attempt to gouge pet owners. There are so many pet-friendly hotels to choose from that charge very small fees and/or refundable fees for a well-behaved pet. This hotel is charging an outrageous $75 FOR ONE NIGHT!!! My itemized bill said $99 for the one night stay, plus a $75 pet fee. After arguing this fee with the hotel manager for 10 minutes, the fee was reduced to $25, which is at least tolerable, though still out of line in terms of what all other hotels charge. And the manager made a point of telling me that the only reason she was reducing the fee, is because I wasn't told about it when I made the reservation. She insisted that the $75 fee for one night is an entirely acceptable charge. This place should be reported to the Better Business Bureau.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

This is a lovely hotel and the staff was friendly. We asked for a quiet room and we were given a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the back of the hotel. Little did we know that the train tracks were a few feet away. Trains travel on the tracks every hour all night long, rattling the bed and blowing their whistles as they approached the crossing just beyond the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights

Address: 15820 Woods Edge Road, Colonial Heights, VA 23834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Colonial Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Colonial Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Colonial Heights Ft. Lee, Virginia Consider Us Home at the Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Colonial Heights - Fort. Lee, Chester, Petersburg, and Richmond, VA. The Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights Fort Lee is a member of the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn & Staybridge Suites Hotels. Specializing in extended stays, Candlewood Suites are the perfect choice for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary or corporate housing needs. Our Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located at exit 58, off I-95 near I-85 & I-295; minutes from Fort Lee, Chester, Petersburg & Richmond, VA business & real estate districts. Our location offers access to Wathal Industrial Park, Meadowville Technology Park, Honeywell, Dominion Power, Phillip Morris, Dupont, SRMC, Xymid, Sunchem, Northrup Grumman, LMR, Fort Lee and Defense Supply Center. The Candlewood Suites hotel offers apartment-style suites with all the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short-term hotel, real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio or one-bedroom suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TVs with DVD players, free high-speed, wired & wireless Internet access. Other features include Candlewood Cupboard, business center, free self-laundry facility, a fitness center & BBQ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Colonial Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.