We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifton Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lantern Inn
314 Jefferson Avenue, Clifton Forge, VA 24422   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Convenient to anything in Clifton Forge, this is a comfortable place and a good value. The rooms are fairly spacious and the beds comfortable. It's not far from the railroad but that isn't a problem (and besides, nothing in Clifton Forge is far from the railroad). The internet works well and is free. There's a serve-yourself continental breakfast in the kitchen and plenty of room downstairs to relax and socialize. I frequent the area and am happy to return every trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Had a great 2 night stay, it was just like being at home! Beds were comfy, rooms and house was spotless! Staff couldn't do enough for you. Brand new washer and dryer for your convience as well as 2 beautiful living rooms. Well equipped kitchen area! Beautiful furnishings thought out the home and located right in the heart of the town!
Al G.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I just spent one night here. The rooms were clean and the snacks and breakfast offerings were perfect! The bathrooms were very large and wonderfully stocked! If you are ever in this area, you have to stay here! Woof-woof-woof.......even our dog, MacGregor loved it here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a great two night stay at the Red Lantern Inn. Just like being home. Friendly and helpful in every way. Full kitchen and two nice living rooms. Will stay again next year while visiting Clifton Forge. I would highly recommend for a pleasent stay. NDL

Room Tip: all rooms are great. Room #1 has a private math. Rooms 6 and 7 are downstairs, 1,2,3,4,5 are on sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is the place to stay. Great Experience and helpful staff. They will bend over backwards to make you comfortable and take care of your needs. The Inn is one of a kind and so beautiful and comfortable, it makes you feel like you are at home. I will definetely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would recommend Room #1 as it has a private bath. Room #6 was great as was #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I came here with our 13 month old and spent two nights at the Red Lantern. We could not have asked for any better accommodations. The Inn was always clean including the rooms. Additionally, there was always a stocked fridge with essentials for breakfast and snacks during the day; a HUGE plus that we were not even expecting. From the Inn Keeper to the entire town, everyone was as friendly as could be. Whenever we come back (and we will), this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is the king room it is on the street and has great views of the mountains and the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield area, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent four nights at the Red Lantern Inn, as we were volunteering at the Greenbrier Classic golf tournament. In addition to the wonderful, welcoming staff, the other guests were most enjoyable!

The accommodation exceeded our expectations; Joann has done an exquisite job making the inn a classy, yet comfortable place. The muffins are second-to-none, and the coffee met my high standards! :)

We have already made reservations for the same time, same place next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Red Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lantern Inn

Address: 314 Jefferson Avenue, Clifton Forge, VA 24422
Location: United States > Virginia > Clifton Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clifton Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual overnight accommodations in downtown Clifton Forge, VA within walking distance restaurants, shops, C&O Heritage Center, Arts & Crafts Center, Clifton Forge School of the Arts, Masonic Amphitheater, and the Amtrak station. Guests can take the Amtrak to Clifton Forge for the weekend and enjoy a quiet weekend in a small VA town. The Masonic Amphitheater has events every weekend from May until October. Outdoor activities in the area include: hiking, biking, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, swimming. A short drive away is Douthat State Park which has miles of stream fishing, a 50-acre lake stocked with trout, a sandy swimming beach with snack bar, boat and bicycle rentals, more than 40 miles of hiking and mountain-biking trails, an amphitheater, playgrounds, picnic areas, tent and trailer camping, a restaurant overlooking the lake, and nature and history programs. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lantern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Red Lantern Inn to your Saves list