We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking a little Spice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Grand Rodeo

El Grand Rodeo
200 Laurel St, Christiansburg, VA 24073-6567
540-394-4005
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Pelham, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lacking a little Spice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The place is beautiful but needs a little umph, like maybe some paintings on the walls or something. It looks clean, new but unfinished, feels like eating in a cafeteria almost.
The food was good and coming from NY, good prices too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    21
    14
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, FL
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fast service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Like most Mexican restaurants the food was prepared in advance and was heated up to serve. They supply you with ample chips and salsa as an appetizer and they are good.
We ordered the Steak Fajita and split it. It was good tasting and filled the twoi of us up.
I have eaten there before and I would go back to this restaurant to eat again.
Prices are very reasonable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Favorite Mexican Place in the NRV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

When I want Mexican, this is my go-to place. Atmosphere is nice, but the food is consistently delicious. If we want Mexican specialties or if we want standard burritos or tacos, this place always offers the freshest taste around. That's why there's frequently a line out the door to eat here!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western va
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Memorable meal at El Gran Rodeo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We tried this restaurant based on Trip Advisor rave reviews. The service staff is very friendly and helpful. We found our food choices, the taco beef salad and enchiladas supreme to be totally lacking in quantity, taste, and the exceptional preparation reported by other reviewers. Not what we expected and surely not the best Mexican food available in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Enjoyable dinner. The highlight was the cucumber margheritas. It sounds weird but was very tasty. It says a lot about a Mexican restaurant by the way the rice and beans taste. El Rod's were exceptional. For some reason my wife did not like the chile relleno but never said why. The wait staff were extremely knowledgeable of the menu and very attentive. Highly recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Grand Rodeo also viewed

 
Christiansburg, VA
Christiansburg, VA
 

Been to El Grand Rodeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Grand Rodeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.