We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dying breed =(” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Drive-In

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Starlite Drive-In
275 Starlite Drive, Christiansburg, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction Details
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A dying breed =(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Vintage outside drive in. Good prices on admission & food. The wait in the food line can be horrible so we now take cooler with food & drink. Go early to get good parking spot & let the kids play outside. Take frisbee, bubbles, football etc to entertain till it gets dark. Also the line of cars to get in can be very long. Smart to go at least 30 mins to an hour early to get in line to wait for parking spot.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Old School" with New Movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Starlite Drive-In is one of very few remaining drive-in theaters, and the only one in Southwest Virginia. Prices of movies and concessions are very reasonable. And, they show the latest movies! Great for a date-night or an evening out with entire family!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Drive-in Movie opportunity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We got away for the weekend to experience the outdoors of Floyd County like kayaking, tubing, four wheeling and such and decided to try out a relaxing night at a Drive-in Movie. This one in Christiansburg is a throw back to many years ago. In my home town, we had Drive-ins when I was a kid but they were mostly for young couples wanting private time or for rowdy kids having beer time so not a wholesome experience for kids. This was not the case at all. It felt like GOOD FAMILY FUN. It wasn't even about what movie was playing, it was about the experience! Unlike the big movie theatres these days, the food/drinks/ popcorn were VERY affordable and not even worth it to bring your own (though they allowed it) They post the prices on their website so we knew what they had and planned what we would eat and for the price, food was good. They opened early so you had time to get a prime spot, order and eat your dinner, and go back for popcorn before the movie. Since we were from out of town, we had our dogs, and they were welcome ;) Most families were in trucks and backed in and sat outside under the stars...many families waited for the movie while playing frisbie and such. I wish I lived closer because this was really my idea of a relaxing night out. cost was $5 per person. Sound was good. I do not think this is open all year round so before going, check and make sure they are open and see if the film playing is something you would enjoy. The employees were all very friendly and accommodating.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riner
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Drive-in Movie!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is an old fashioned drive in movie with the speaker that hangs on your window. It is the only one around that I know of in this area. The food is very good and part of the experience. They have great hot dogs and simple fast food like nachos, popcorn, etc. There is a lot of background noise from other cars and kids, and people walking back and forth from the restaurant, so don't go if you are really wanting to concentrate on the movie. Kids love it because they can sit out on a blanket in front of the car or in the back of the truck and eat popcorn and watch the movie. The drive in movies are some of the best memories I have as a kid and I am glad the family that owns the starlite has continued the tradition and kept the drive-in open.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Ugh this drive-in can get annoying at times... The One in Christansburg”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

There has been issues in the past there for me, as in like when my grandmother went in the line to get food at Fast and the furious 4 The line was so long that she dident get back until the movie was near the end. Very poor.... also While watching the movie "Cars" There was a issue with the projector that holded up the movie for quiet a bit. The screen was flipped upside down and the movie was going backwards, People were booing at them and all that [lol], and there can always be a issue with the speakers, but when you use the radio in your car its better.... I hope they Improve this Drive in in christansburg to be much better.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starlite Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Starlite Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Starlite Drive-In to your Saves list