We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Christiansburg VA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2725 Roanoke Street, Intersection I-81 & Exit 118C, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great stay in Christiansburg VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Located just outside of town and easy to find off I-81, the Holiday Inn Express in Christiansburg does not disappoint. We stayed there as we were in town for a funeral. Room was clean, comfortable and was up to snuff with other Holiday Inn Expresses we stayed at.
Our room was a King Jacuzzi mini-suite, the weekend we arrived was Radford University's parent's weekend and when booking this room on short notice the website listed the hotel as full. A call to the hotel put us in touch with a very pleasant desk clerk that told me they had just had a cancellation and one room was available. We jumped on the room as we needed to find something close to town.

The cost was a bit pricey but at $145 +/- for a few hour advance time was acceptable. The room did not disappoint although the wall paper over the bathroom door was peeling and the ironing board was broken (but still usable). After a long day of driving and attending the 1st night of the funeral the jacuzzi was a welcome sight. It worked perfect and was more than enough room for two.

The hotel was packed with kids and parents but remained mostly quiet except for the kids running and jumping in the room over our head. We called the front desk and they addressed the situation.

Hot breakfast was good with meats, eggs (omelets), cereals and breads. The coffee was good as well. Could not find a full juice bar 24/7 like other HI Express we have stayed in but the coffee was available in the lobby.

If you are staying in or around Christiansburg, the Holiday Inn Express is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    29
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
44
17
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Nice clean large rooms that made a good home base for a visit to Virginia Tech for a football game. Our room on the first floor was a little noisy, primarily because of kids running and screaming to/from the breakfast room. As for the breakfast, it was standard hotel chain continental fare; nothing special. Front desk and cleaning staff were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Upon our arrival at the hotel, we drove into an empty space in the parking lot near the entrance to register. To our dismay, we later discovered that the car bumper had been damaged by a metal spike protruding several inches from the concrete space marker. The person on duty at the front desk disclaimed any responsbility pointing out signs around the lot announcing "Guest Parking User Assumes All Risk." The desk clerk only offered to telephone for a wrecker to take our car away although we had Virginia Tech graduation ceremonies to attend that evening. Upon checking into our room, we found the bathroom counter dirty though the beds and other items were fine. Upon returning to the room the next day, we found the door ajar with our personal belongings inside. The same desk clerk we first met the previous day was on duty and seemed unconcerned when we reported the security lapse saying it must have been left open by cleaning staff. The hotel charged $468 nonrefundable for a mandatory two nights for that weekend due months in advance (no credit cards accepted). At check-in, the desk clerk than wanted a credit card number in case a guest made a phone call or broke something. The bottom line: The hotel seems keen to make a profit, but demonstrates less concern with the well-being of its guests and the maintenance of its property. In addition to the defective parking space marker that damaged our car, both water fountains in the first floor hallway were not in service. To be fair, the only staff member on duty at the desk the day of arrival was harried because there was full occupancy. The person who then came on duty helped replace some parts on our bumper, offered some advice, and seemed genuinely concerned with the hotel's reputation. It is regrettable that the hotel seemed understaffed on what surely was one of the busiest weekends of the year. On the positive side, the hotel was convenient to the Virginia Tech campus, the beds were comfortable, and the room reasonably spacious.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

The desk person at check-in was informative and eager to completly satisfy any requests. The room, a suite, was large and had enough furniture so that relatives who met us there before going out to dinner could sit down comfortably. Everthing was very clean including the bathroom, rugs, furniture and.bedding. A very nice king size bed with a great mattress provided a good nights sleep. The free breakfast was very tasty with fresh muffins,bagels and a great cheese omelet. The one negative comment I have was that only beverage vending machine in the entire building was out of many selections but I don't know whether the staff or the vending machine company are responsible for stocking it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I hate it when the room is billed as a suite and that means a mini fridge, mini microwave and (uncomfortable) pullout couch. The pool opens at 10am - hope your kids weren;t hoping for a swim before checkout! breakfast - microwavable eggs and instand outmeal. yes there were other items but not very appetizing. I think this hotel is a rip off. also, the ice machine was empty - I was sent to the 3rd floor to hope there was some there. this is virginia, you would think they might keep the ice machine stocked in 90 degree weather. will never stay there again!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Stayed here for a single night on the way to another destination. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Room was clean and nicely decorated. Generally comparable with other Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn locations.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Drove in to watch Hokie basketball game and stayed one Wednesday night. Booked one double-bed room online via ichotelsgroup website for $89 night.

Check-in was quick and friendly. Located just off the highway and easy to find. Room located on fourth (top) floor facing freeway. While sitting at the desk inside room I could hear people in the next room talk, cough, etc., but I did not have any problems with noise while sleeping. Virginia Tech campus was a few minutes away and ended up eating in Blacksburg before the game as planned. Discovered more choices for eating, gas, and other services on the opposite side of the highway. Bathroom was spotless, had enough towels, and shower pressure good. Property seemed fairly new or just a very clean hotel. Did not utilize pool or gym although would not have mind using. Used the business center to print out boarding passes. Only minor issue I had was with the elevator. When pressing the floor you want to go to it makes a buzzing sound. That could be annoying if your room was next to the elevator, but fortunately we had one about four rooms over. Enjoyed not only the free copy of USA Today newspaper, but also the local newspaper which was nice to have.

Took advantage of the complimentary breakfast in the morning. Nothing fancy, but the eggs, croissants and cinnamon rolls fresh out of the oven and apple juice were enough for this vegetarian to make it to the next meal.

Check-out was also quick and friendly. Overall a nice, comfortable stay where I wouldn’t mind staying again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg

Address: 2725 Roanoke Street, Intersection I-81 & Exit 118C, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansburg
#5 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Christiansburg is nestled in the beautiful Virginia Mountains along Interstate 81. The hotel is located minutes from Virginia Tech and Radford University. Blacksburg, Roanoke and Salem are easily accessible from the hotel. Enjoy the Southern hospitality of the area without sacrificing business conveniences. We have a very friendly staff that will make your stay feel like you are right at home. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Christiansburg, VA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Christiansburg
Holiday Inn Christiansburg
Christiansburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.