We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great rate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2331 Tyler Rd, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, great rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

If you've read any of my other hotel reviews you will know that I look for three things in a highway rest stop hotel. Cleanliness, quietness, and darkness. The room was clean, the room was quiet, and it was plenty dark at night. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The only negative comment I have is that the free breakfast in the morning left something to be desired. Although the selections weren't so different from other hotels, it just seemed tired and dull. The only hot choices were scrambled eggs, biscuits and waffles. The eggs were downright inedible. The biscuits were hard. I did not try waffles. For the price we paid for our two rooms, it is hard to complain about a free breakfast though. It was decent enough to get us through the day until lunch.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located off of I-81. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very nice and comfortable. Breakfast selections were very good. Would rather have had bacon or sausage instead of the gravy and biscuits. Would highly recommend this hotel and we will stay again when we return to the area.

Room Tip: stay on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john5136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I recently stayed here on the way to Williamsburg, VA for the 4th of July and on the return trip as well. The property is well maintained, the rooms are quiet and spacious, the pool is very nice and the breakfast is wonderful. The staff people are very friendly and helpful, most especially the person handling the breakfast. I also enjoyed a nice walk out the road early in the morning. It is convenient to the interstate but you don't get the noise. I will definitely make it a stop when I am heading up I 81.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda54971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there 2 nights,had a great time the pool and the hot tob are indoors so no bugs which is good
Breakfast was awesome a specialty when it till 10 am
The town it's self is super cute and the river is breathtaking
Had a hard time leaving this spot for sure!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night on a recent road trip, and were very pleasantly surprised at what we got for the price. Everything is very new and clean, with nice finishes (granite in the bathroom). The room was large with plenty of space for luggage. The large fridge was a huge help on our long road trip to keep things cold and re-freeze ice packs for the next day's drive. The beds were comfortable, everything seemed very new and clean. Breakfast was very good - eggs and bacon, waffles, bagels, yogurt, fruit, etc. Make sure you get up in time for it as there are not many restaurants nearby, Very friendly service as well. All for only $70. We will keep this one on our list for future trips through the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishtail1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntigntown
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This property is starting to show its age but is still well maintained. The beds are the old style low beds found in hotels that have not been updated. The walls were covered with wallpaper and not the new colors of other Comfort and Sleep Inns. It is well located away from the major highway that goes by Christiansburg and Blacksburg. It is actually located on the old road and there is now a bypass that was built several years ago. We would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: You might want to get a room on the backside of the building so you can avoid the lights that shine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We made an overnight stay on a trip south at the start of the July 4 holiday week. It was a little tricky to find the parking entrance at night, a little better signage wouldn't hurt. There is almost nothing else off this exit, which didn't matter to us, but we would have been disappointed if we had hopes of a very nearby meal. The hotel was busy but we had no problem parking or getting checked in quickly. The front staff was very efficient and friendly. We were staying with a dog ($15 fee on credit card) but the room itself was on points, and they processed that without trouble. The room was clean and comfortable, everything in good working order. The first of our small problem was that the wireless Internet was very slow. OK for email and light browsing but getting my online newspaper was impossible given the speeds. In the morning, the breakfast was OK other than the orange juice. For some reason it was coming out hot. Not just room temperature but hot to the point of it tasting cooked (which is pretty bad, turns out). There was a small cup of ice provided to cool it down, but it wasn't a good solution to the problem at all. I'd strongly recommend that if there's a problem with the dispenser machine, the hotel should just send someone to a store for a few gallons of cold juice and put it out in a bucket of ice. On the plus side, the breakfast area was sufficiently large and well organized. But all in all, it was a good stay and every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
7.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#8 of 13 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
9.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 2331 Tyler Rd, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the dazzling beauty of southwest Virginia and within easy reach of classic destinations like the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Comfort Inn & Suites, Christiansburg, provides guests with an unparalleled lodging experience.We offer free hot breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and are located directly off I-81 at exit 109. We are located within 5 minutes of Radford University, 10 minutes from the Christiansburg Aquatic Center, 15 min to the NRV Mall, and 20 minutes from VA Tech, home of the Hokies!WE ARE 100% SMOKE-FREE AND PET FRIENDLY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Radford
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Radford
Radford Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing