We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2331 Tyler Rd, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Christiansburg
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I got a room here, ten minutes from B'burg and VT, for half what I would have paid in Blacksburg. And it's a great hotel, especially for the mney. Good, clean room. Decent breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your stay and review! We are very pleased to hear about your great stay with us! We like to offer a 'memorable stay in a favorable way'. We are working hard with our housekeeping staff to make sure that everyone enjoys a nice clean and comfortable room like yourself! Once again thank your for your stay and kind words, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    19
    5
    14
See reviews for
38
22
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I went to this hotel to specifically get a room with a Hot-Tub and use an Indoor Pool. Unfortunately, their Indoor Pool couldn't be used due to maintenance needs but looked okay to me. Other than that, the price was all right ($98) but I ran into some problems with payment. Expedia.com did not cancel my prior reservation (No Hot-Tub Room) and Hotels.com already took the money out. The lady at the front desk was confused & charged me AGAIN for the same room. She was nice enough to have me on speaker phone with Hotels.com so we could straighten this out & she ended up cancelling her payment. Fortunately, she was able to give me the last Hot-Tub room so there was some good with the bad. The breakfast was very good! I couldn't have asked for a better, free breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: If you want a Hot Tub room, make sure to call the Property before making any payments. DO NOT depen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are very glad to hear that you had an overall enjoyable stay. We are sorry about the confusion with the 3rd party booking sites and the payments. Our pool has been repaired and is now in great operational condition. Also on your next trip by, book with us directly, get your choice of room type, and pay the same price or less compared to the 3rd party booking sites, and we won't charge you until your check in! Much less confusion and piece of mind for everyone! We wish you and your family many more safe travels and looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Creek, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I went to use the hot tub, and the water was ICE COLD. I then went to the front desk, and the lady at the front desk told me that the hot tub was not working, and it should be fixed by Feb 14th. (that does not help me). She then told me "That it SUCKS that it is not working". Then why was there water in it?? She could of told me about the hot tub when I checked in. The toilet seat in the room, looked pretty disgusting. There was some kind of plastic coating on the seat that was peeling off. This is one hotel I will never stay at again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and review. We are so sorry to hear that your stay was not up to the expectations that you expected. While you are correct that hot tub was out of order because the heater broke. This is currently being corrected. I very sorry for the response that you received when you spoke to the front desk about this as well as that is not a response that you should have received, and we are talking to our staff on how to rectify and communicate correctly in situations like yours. Again we are very sorry and hope that you will come back to see our changes. We wish you many safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Average hotel. Acceptable but not impressive. It had a nice breakfast buffet with a good selection. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom towel storage was disappointing as they were kept under the sink in a dark hole. We were only stopping there on a major trip so didn't use the pool or other amenities.

Room Tip: Satisfactory for long trip stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and review. We are happy to hear the feedback from our guests. We are glad that you had a good nights rest and enjoyed our breakfast! We strive to provide the best services around and hearing compliments like yours is encouraging to know we are. We hope that we will get to see you again on your next trip by! Wishing you and your family many more safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because it hit 2 features - namely indoor heated pool and pet friendly. And the reviews weren't bad. Well the pool was actually heated to a very comfortable level (December in VA, it got to freezing outside), my daughters and I spent a good 30 minutes swimming. Very nice! And there were at least three other folks there with dogs, and everyone was well behaved. The dog in the room across from ours gave one little growl when we walked past and into our room but he was just curious. No barking, no nothing. We all slept like babies. I'm a normal sleeper so either the walls are super thick or folks were just courteous. I didn't hear any slamming doors or yelling down the halls like I have experienced at other hotels.

There were plenty of folks at breakfast the next day. It was fine with a little something for any type of breakfast eater. Staff kept items stocked as they got low. Breakfast area was clean.

Staff ladies were ALL super nice and professional. This hotel is halfway between where we now live and the rest of our families live. Definitely will make this hotel a usual stop along the way when we drive for semi-annual visits.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and response. We love hearing the feedback of our guests. We are so delighted to hear that you had a very pleasent stay and enjoyed the amenities during your stay. We take pride in providing the best service and rooms in the area. We are glad that you had a very restful night. We are so looking forward to you returning on your next trip to visit family! We would like to wish you many more safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luling, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night in October 2013. The place was clean and properly equipped. The staff was courteous. The breakfast was surprisingly good...

All I all, it was a decent hotel in a decent location for an average price...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your stay and review. We are always glad to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope you will visit us again soon so that we may have an opportunity to make your next stay even better than the last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Upon check in, we were greeted by large boxes of tubs in the breezeway. Checked in, went to room, couldn't get in as someone else was in the room. Went back down, argued with desk clerk about the fact that their was someone in the room and then received a new room and key. Went up, when stepping off elevator, was overwhelmed by the heat and smell. As we walked down the nasty hallway to our room, we opened the door to be met by more filth. The window was covered by at least 40 dead flies, white stains on the chair, black specs on the bedding and nasty film on windows. Went back down to let them know this was absolutely unacceptable and we would not be staying. She was not able to credit the stay as she had to have a manager do so. Two days later I had to call the manager to get the credit which had not been done. Horrible nasty place! Do not bother staying here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments and concerns with our hotel. We take each comment and review personally and work hard to improve any issues that come to our attention. We are truly sorry that you had these issues. Our hotel has recently hired a new head of our housekeeping department and are working hard to resolve any cleanliness issues. All rooms are going through a full extra deep cleaning process to elminate this issue as well as many items in the rooms being replaced. Again thank you for your recent comments and we hope that you will stop by again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 2331 Tyler Rd, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the dazzling beauty of southwest Virginia and within easy reach of classic destinations like the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Comfort Inn & Suites, Christiansburg, provides guests with an unparalleled lodging experience.We offer free hot breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and are located directly off I-81 at exit 109. We are located within 5 minutes of Radford University, 10 minutes from the Christiansburg Aquatic Center, 15 min to the NRV Mall, and 20 minutes from VA Tech, home of the Hokies!WE ARE 100% SMOKE-FREE AND PET FRIENDLY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Radford
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Radford
Radford Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.