We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Wake Up Late” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2331 Tyler Rd, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't Wake Up Late”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The lobby is nice and the pool was great during the day. Don't sleep beyond 8:00 A.M. If you plan on eating breakfast. My husband and I got there at 8:00 and over half of the food was gone and we were told that they wouldn't refill anything because they are closing by 9:00. The paper they gave us for the weekend said 9:30 and we have stayed in many Comfort Suites and on the weekend they usual stay open until 10:00. The food was all gone by 8:30 and many people turned away at that time. when I went to the front desk they replied that the general manager is trying to cut back and is closing the breakfast earlier than they had before. My advice, go to the Quality Inn at exit 118, much better.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel, stay at the Quality Inn off of exit 118 (Interstate 81) in Christiansb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabee Y, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your helpful insight. We take pride in our guests’ input and have taken your suggestion to heart. Henceforth, we are making sure our breakfast trays are filled to the brim until the end of breakfast and are changing the hours to 6:30-9:30.

Again, thank you for sharing your concerns with our team.

Nabee Yi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    24
    8
    15
See reviews for
49
26
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stay was pretty much what you would expect from a Comfort Inn. Fairly clean and a good breakfast. A little noisy when we stayed due to high school state tournaments going on, but that would have been the case at any hotel. Later in the morning, fire alarms kept going off and this went on for a fairly long period of time. We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabee Y, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive input. We value your comments.

This issue of the repeated fire alarms is being looked into, and we are trying to contact to other companies to resolve this issue. I assure you of a more comfortable stay next time you visit us.

Again, thank you once again.

Genera Manager
Comfort Inn and Suite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We came to the hotel because we had no power and water after the storm. Breakfast was awful, the beds and pillows are uncomfortable, staff was non existent. Everytime I tried to go to the front desk for help or to let them know of issues ( the handrail for the hot tub was broken and the pool water was do contaminated my entire family is now seriously ill) the staff would scatter like mice when you turn on the kitchen light. I left the do not disturb sign on the door so we could rest and one morning housekeeping just came in anyway, waking us all up at 730am. I would say unless you are desperate for a place to stay, go elsewhere. And if you HAVE to stay there, definitely stay out of the pool!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am sorry you had a less than pleasant experience while you were staying at my hotel. Since your stay, we have been working on the issues you mentioned, and have since improved our procedure for maintaining our pool cleanliness.

In this case, the power outrage caused by severe weather disrupted our normal filtration system. Our staff availability was also disrupted. The Back up people were not familiar with the breakfast routine which caused breakfast services to be less than usual standard. We are diligently working on the issues to improve our overall services.

As a result of this power outrage we have developed more elaborate back up plans to be able to provide continuous good services. We hope you will give us another opportunity to offer our normal standard of services. Thank you.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosamond, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Okay, but not worth what we paid, however breakfast waffles, juice, coffee, etc were good. Halls on 3rd floor constantly smelled of smoke. First room we were given (311) smelled smokey, table was in disrepair, room wasn't cleaned completely. We were able to move another room on same floor that was much better. Comfortable 2-queen beds in room. Good air conditioning in the room. Carpets throughout most of the hotel appear to be old and dirty. Helpful front desk and kitchen staff (breakfast buffet). Please ignore my rating for the restaurant, there was only a breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your stay and review. I am sorry to hear that it was not up to the standards that you expected. We have recently renovated our guest rooms and made many overall improvements to the hotel. I am glad that the staff took great care of you and we hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area and check out our new upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S. expats
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was pleased with the room I got at the Comfort Inn; two queen sized beds, and a good sized space. The room was quiet, (though the hotel was full) and the beds were soft, with lots of pillows.

There is a cramped pool, and a jacuzzi, which one member of our party used.

I did not care for breakfast. I didn't grow up eating biscuits and gravy for breakfast, so I gave it a miss. Someone else I was traveling with did enjoy this kind of thing but commented that the biscuits "were like hockey pucks.." Coffee was provided, but they ran out of both decaf and regular before 8:00 am. (Hello....hotel is full???? Make extra coffee for paying guest??? Not rocket science???)

Cream cheese was on hand, but no bagels, or even space for them. A single waffle maker made for tension as people lined up to wait for it to make waffles in 3 excruciating minutes. There were wildly cooked scrambled eggs that looked like part of a quiche they were so overcooked. They handful of hard boiled eggs disappeared well before the coffee.

The hotel is fine, but eat breakfast somewhere else.

Room Tip: First floor is closer to the pool/jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We definitely are adding an additional waffle maker and another coffee maker to help improve our breakfast services. We regret any inconvenience during
your previous stay with us, and we would like to invite you to return.

Again, thank you for your input.

General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildothian
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Traveling back from Wise, VA and needed a place to rest. I asked for a non-smoking room and someone had been smoking in the room. Just think that it is important for the staff to advertise the rooms for what they really are. The breakfast also was not all that. The sausage gravy of sweet and tasted weired. The powdered eggs were also not the best. However, I did enjoy the belgian waffle.

Room Tip: If you want non smoking, check out the room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. We have made several improvements to our breakfast and renovated our guest rooms. We would like to invite you to stay with us again so that we can provide you with a pleasurable overall experience.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This place looks great on the outside, but the inside is just worn out. The carpet all throughout the building is stained and the whole place needs a real good airing out. My room was only partially cleaned. There were cob webs and water stains on the ceiling and the wall paper was peeling throughout. The fire alarm malfunctioned twice, which shut down the elevators. I was tired and the sheets were clean, so I slept and left. For the price, I expected a real Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your stay and review. I am sorry to hear that it was not up to the standards that you expected. We have recently renovated our hotel and would like to invite you to return. We are certain we can provide you with an excellent overall experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 2331 Tyler Rd, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the dazzling beauty of southwest Virginia and within easy reach of classic destinations like the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Comfort Inn & Suites, Christiansburg, provides guests with an unparalleled lodging experience.We offer free hot breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and are located directly off I-81 at exit 109. We are located within 5 minutes of Radford University, 10 minutes from the Christiansburg Aquatic Center, 15 min to the NRV Mall, and 20 minutes from VA Tech, home of the Hokies!WE ARE 100% SMOKE-FREE AND PET FRIENDLY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Radford
Comfort Inn Radford
Radford Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.