We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay at The Oaks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks Victorian Inn

Save Saved
You added The Oaks Victorian Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oaks Victorian Inn
311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel amenities
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay at The Oaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Once again Linda and Bernie were wonderful hosts. We made our annual trek to Blacksburg in the fall to watch a Va Tech football game and once again we stayed at The Oaks. Its such a great place...unique and interesting rooms, beautiful house with a lot of character, wonderful gardens and two of the best inn keepers in the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
99
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I love Virginia and decided to explore this particular area for our anniversary when we came upon this gem on line. There is no false advertising here. This place is just as pretty in person. Linda and Bernie are walking tour books for the area. They are full of wonderful suggestions. They are helpful but not intrusive and Linda does an amazing gourmet breakfast. Their helper is a wonderful lady who is also sweet and friendly. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Bernie and Linda have created an incredibly beautiful, warm and comfortable B&B. Their attention to detail is wonderful. My husband and I had dropped our daughter off at college and wanted to spend a few days vacationing in Virginia before heading home. We had never been to Christiansburg before so we were thrilled to have hosts that new the area so well and could inform us on the best things to do and places to eat. We so enjoyed our lovely breakfasts and delicious homemade cookies. (my favorite were the coconut!) After touring during the day we loved sitting out on the front porch talking with our friends and our hosts while enjoying a cool breeze. Bernie and Linda (and Edie!) were just great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Oaks when all the area hotels were booked (we were taking his youngest son back to Virginia Tech). For just a few dollars more a night, we enjoyed an amazing room, a delicious breakfast, homemade cookies and sherry, and the company of the very delightful hosts. The house is immaculate, beautiful - well, breathtaking really. The food was out of this world, and the hosts were incredibly accommodating. So much attention to detail! I was delighted in checking out the art around the house. We stayed in the cottage, which has a hot tub and sauna, and is a bit more private. It was truly charming; however, do be prepared to climb a fairly steep ladder to the bed! We will most very definitely stay here again at any opportunity. We are very frequent B&B guests, and I can honestly say this is absolutely one of the best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Lucky for us that the hotels were booked. We love hosting VT parents. Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The wonderful lodging and terrific breakfast were just part of the experience. I did not expect to make three culinary discoveries. First, the complimentary sherry reacquainted me with a beverage I had not enjoyed for years. Second, the special batch of lavender cookies Linda made at my request introduced me to the art of cooking with ths flower. And finally, the Gentleman Jack that Bernie and Linda shared with me late one evening while we sat on the wrap around porch converted this die hard bourbon (Kentucky) snob to the joys of really good Tennessee sipping whiskey. The accomodations and the innkeepers take hospitality to a whole new level.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
The absolute best thing about running a B+B is sitting on the porch and talking with our guests. Glad you liked the Gentleman Jack. If you want a real treat try the Jack Daniels Single Malt. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Linda & Bernie continue to be such great hosts. We have stayed here several times before and it is always such a pleasant experience. The rooms are always very comfortable. Having homemade cookies to nibble on, brandy in the evening, and an awesome breakfast are always there. Chatting with the other guests over breakfast as well as getting ideas of places to go and eat from Linda make this stay so much more enjoyable than a hotel. You won't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Be adventuresome and try a different room each visit. They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Always a pleasure having you as our guests. We look forward to your next visit. There will be plenty of cookies in the cookie jar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent two nights here on recent Carolina's trip. We arrived during a storm and were a bit dishevelled when we arrived but hosts Bernie and Linda soon sorted that out.

Warm welcome, beautiful property, first class bedroom and breakfast top notch

Recommend without hesitation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We hope you enjoyed being our guests as much as we enjoyed being your hosts. Sitting on the porch in the evening and talking with you was great. One of the perks of being innkeepers. So pleased that you chose to stay at The Oaks while visiting the US. Thank you...Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oaks Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Victorian Inn

Address: 311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Oaks Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Victorian Hotel Christiansburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaks Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.