We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners, new experience, still great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks Victorian Inn

Save Saved
You added The Oaks Victorian Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oaks Victorian Inn
311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel amenities
Chestnut Ridge NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“New owners, new experience, still great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second stay at the Oaks. The first was 5 years ago, and we enjoyed it very much...so much so that when we decided to drive south to Hilton Head we planned our route so that we could stay here again. Linda and Bernie have been the owners for a couple of years, and they've made some nice changes in the public areas...the library in particular is a very nice place to sit and read, or play games, or strum on Bernie's guitar.

One thing that has not changed is the great breakfast (thank goodness).

All in all this is an excellent B&B, and I don't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for coming back to The Oaks. It was a nice surprise having guests from our old neighborhood and fun talking about all of our old haunts. When you go to Jade Village and have a great meal think of us. Hope to see you next time you are in the Blue Ridge Mountains...Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
99
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I chose this B&B last minute from the Select Registry Book as we were driving through this area. This is such a beautiful B&B with such gracious owners as host. Every part of our stay we felt very welcome and relaxed. The owners Linda and Bernie were available if we needed them but were quietly in the background. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. The home is pristine in its appearance and so beautifully decorated! This is definitely a must if you are planning to be in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while visiting our daughter in Christiansburg last weekend and as we told Linda and Bernie, this is definitely where we will stay for all future visits. I am a bit of a nut about cleanliness and I have to say, this place sparkles! Edie, the housekeeper is amazing! Every crystal on the chandeliers sparkled, the extensive woodwork was beautifully oiled, and there was not a speck of dust anywhere! We wanted to bring Edie home with us! We stayed in the Alexandria Room and loved it! The bed was very comfortable and the sheets and towels were sooooo soft! Breakfast both mornings was fantastic! Upon arrival, we were asked what we preferred for breakfast -- something we've never been asked at other B&B's and which has been an issue for us. Other B&B's we've stayed in offered only one choice for breakfast, usually something sweet. We said we'd prefer something other than sweets but that we didn't want to cause a problem and we were assured it wouldn't be - how refreshing! We had fresh fruit and an amazing egg dish both mornings! First time I've seen my husband enjoy a B&B breakfast! The innkeepers, Linda and Bernie were so much fun -- very easy to talk to and eager to provide ideas for things to do in the area. Our only regret was that we didn't get to stay longer. We plan on joining the "Sleep Around Club" - a stay in every room in the inn! Can hardly wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for that glowing review. You are sooooo right. Edie is amazing! She's been with The Oaks for 20+ years. It's really her B+B and she is kind enough to let folks like Bernie and me to buy it from time to time. So pleased that you joined the Sleep Around Club. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I found this B&B through a gay website as I was looking for a gay friendly B&B for my partner and I to spend Valentine's Day weekend at. The home is just as beautiful in person as in the pictures. It sits just off the main street within walking distances to small shops. The home is well decorated, warm and inviting. We stayed in the Bonnie Victoria and although the bathroom is separated and just down the hall, it wasn't an issue at all. The hallway leading to the bathroom felt private and the fireplace in the room was a nice bonus to the experience. Linda and Bernie were incredible hosts and were easy to talk to and Edie, the housekeeper, kept our room looking amazing when we'd left to go out during the day. They gave us some great suggestions for things to do in the area and they are the reason we will be back to stay again at The Oaks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing us as your 1st B+B experience. Hope we got you hooked on them. There are some really great ones all over the country. Come back when the weather is nice and take advantage of the hiking and trail riding and exploring this beautiful part of the country or just sit in a rocker and relax on the porch. Looking forward to hosting you in the future. ...Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed at this BnB driving back to Atlanta from a weekend wedding in Pennsylvania. We didn't have reservations. We literally pulled off the highway to eat dinner fairly late at night near Roanoke, and decided we were tired to continue driving, so we started pulling up nearby hotels and BnBs on the 'ol smart phone (thank god for modern technology, eh?). We stumbled across this BnB in Christiansburg, and it looked great. So we called, and thankfully they had the Garden Cottage still available. So we thought it would be worthwhile to drive a bit further to stay there......and SO glad we did. Upon entering the home, we knew we made the right choice. The home was GORGEOUS. We were immediately greeted by Linda and given the low-down on the house, even despite it being pretty late at this point. While we would've liked to stay in the main house due to the ornate beauty and experience of it, we had a great time in the Garden Cottage. It's far enough away from the main house and has enough trees/bushes around it to feel private. Being able to enjoy the outdoor private hot tub that comes with the cottage was well worth not being in the main house! We definitely took advantage. The cottage itself was small and cozy and full of charm. Almost felt like being a kid again, with the vertical ladder going up to the bedroom loft. The kitchenette was tiny, but suitable and sufficient. The bathroom was great, with the sauna. Definitely a fun little abode to stay in for a night or two. Breakfast the next morning was DELICIOUS, and service was excellent. Linda and Bernie were great, made us feel very welcome, and enjoyed talking with them. A 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We found this lovely B & B on the way home from a very long cross-country drive and called after 8PM to see if a room was available. Linda and Bernie stayed up until after 10PM to welcome us and gave us a tour of their lovely home. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated and our bed was divine! The bathrooms are luxurious and beckoning. Breakfast was wonderfully as was our conversation with Linda and Bernie. This was the absolute cleaning home or B & B I have ever seen. Don't miss the opportunity to stay at this amazing B and B. It deserves 10 stars but we were limited to 5!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a fantastic get-away. We were guests many years ago and the charm has increased exponentially. Linda & Bernie's love for the Oaks exudes from their smiles and attention to detail. They made us love it all over again. We look forward to the Oaks cook book. Thanks ofr you hospitality. Perhaps in the futute you might consider a room with the motif of the Red Soxs...100 years ago!

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 different rooms, all were marvelous. oops, they don't have a fitness center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oaks Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Victorian Inn

Address: 311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Oaks Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Victorian Hotel Christiansburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaks Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.