We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks Victorian Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 4 more sites!
The Oaks Victorian Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Midweek Special
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were greeted upon arrival and asked about our preferences. Good,, Our host answered our questions but were not overly expressive. Most of the interview session was about themselves rather than answering our questions. Breakfast was at 9 am sharp,do not be late.
You will sit where they tell you to at the table. The list of rules (which are understandable) are
printed for you in the host book. The breakfast interaction with Linda was negative. All that was really addressed were the negative feedbacks from other guest and this was not uplifting. Future guest should know that you may become the focal point of future conversation about how awful you really were as guest in the "Oaks". They (Linda and Bernie) were accused of being control freaks. I wonder why??
The breakfast food was great, the inn was neat as a pen,clean top to bottom and aside from a few declining moments we were very comfortable. One Big improvement needed. The sheets and pillow cases should be laundered with a non-scented (enviormental friendly) soap.One that does not bleed with a heavy scent, as sleeping all night is a good thing for those of us with a allergy or supersensitive nose.

Cookies were great..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Upon arrival we ask guests to come into our parlor so we can ask about breakfast needs and any other needs they may have while staying with us. We did tell you that we have a single breakfast seating at 9 and asked if that time worked for you. It is not often but sometimes guests ask for an earlier breakfast and we serve them sometimes as early as 7 o’clock. We have also had guests ask for a 10 o’clock breakfast and made breakfast for them at 10. We start serving juice and coffee at 9 but try to wait until all our guests are seated before serving breakfast. If not all of our guests are seated by 9:10 or so we do begin serving the first course. As you may recall there were 2 other couples staying with us when you were here. Many B+Bs seat all of their guests together and when we showed you the dining room at check-in you saw that there was a table set for 6. If you had asked for a separate table we would have gladly moved 2 of the place settings to another table. At breakfast one of the other guests asked if we ever get guests that are difficult or impossible to please. We do not make past guests a focal point of conversation but were asked so we answered honestly and tried to keep our answers light and humorous even though the questions were about negative situations. As for the sheets, we launder them with Tide and dry them with Snuggle fabric softener. These are commonly used products and many guests have commented on how good the sheets feel and smell. We are sorry you did not have a more positive experience at The Oaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
95
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We came into town for a family wedding and Linda and Bernie welcomed us with open arms late in the afternoon. They suggested restaurants in the area and provided late night snack trays. The Julia Pierce room was warm, inviting and very comfortable. We slept well and awoke early enough for coffee on the porch, then dined in "high cotton" style in the dining room with other guests. At the end of the day and whirlwind wedding functions, we relaxed in the whirlpool tub before turning in for the night. We could not have asked for better hosts. Beautifully appointed rooms, wonderful garden area, and the food was fabulous! Ray and Jeanne

Room Tip: Choose a room that meets your needs while you are traveling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing The Oaks as your home away from home. So pleased that you took advandage of our pre-breakfast coffee out on the porch. We just love sitting out there too. We hope to see you again when you are in the Blue Ridge Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place is very special. We will definitely be going back. Customer service and quality at every turn. The food is delicious and the care with which it is prepared and served is second to none. A great place to escape to.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
So pleased that you found The Oaks as special as we do. We stayed here as guests on our way home from looking at other B+Bs that were for sale and the first words out of Bernie's mouth when we walked in the door were "Why couldn't this place be for sale?" 11 months later we became the owners and 2 years after that we had the honor of being your hosts. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What an outstanding week-end. The Oaks Victorian Inn was a perfect place to stay for a weekend getaway. Our hosts, Linda and Bernie could not have been more helpful or pleasant. They made our first B & B stay such a great experience. We were pleased with every aspect of our stay. The breakfast was unbelievable!! Thanks for a great experience

Room Tip: staying in the garden cottage allows you to use the hot tube....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Oaks Victorian Inn as your first bed and breakfast and hope you will continue to stay at B+Bs when you travel. Just like people, no 2 are alike and each offers its own special and unique experience. We wouldn't travel any other way. Hope to see you again next time you are in Southwest Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We could not have picked a more perfect place to stay, our big football weekend at VT. The Inn is a short drive from Blacksburg and a quiet oasis to return to after a fun filled football game! Bernie and Linda were wonderful hosts in their beautiful Inn. The rooms were immaculate. The Inn was filled with the aroma of LInda's great cooking coming from the kitchen. Breakfast was elegant and we look forward to returning. Loved hanging out on the wonderful porch. Thanks Bernie & Linda for such a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Julia Pierce room, beautiful bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Football weekends are always a lot of fun. Thank you for choosing The Oaks as your oasis. Next time you come you'll see changes on the porch. We got some great new furniture. Check out The Oaks Victorian Inn facebook page and you'll see the new love seat. We look forward to seeing you for another football weekend or just a great escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Oaks was a pleasant surprise, with the room spacious and comfortable, the breakfast a delight, and the two owners friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We were very pleased with everything about the B & B. It is in the top tier of the many B & B's we have visited in the past. A strong recommendation to those who will be traveling to or through the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Marshall and Virginia

We like surprises and thrilled that we were one of them and that you enjoyed the breakfasts as well as the B&B. We hope to see you the next time you are in the Blue Ridge mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokeelia, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Finally, on this trip I was able to not only get my spouse to consider a B & B but to stay at one ---- I'm so happy it was the Oaks. Linda & Bernie are the perfect hosts. We very much appreciated the cleaniness of the property. And the food what's not to like ---- best breakfast we've had since we left Vermont.
Thanks for our hosts for making this a wonderful stay.

John & Diane Nivens

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Oaks Victorian Inn as you hubby's intro to B+B's. We never travel anyway else anymore. So glad you enjoyed breakfast. After people see this review I'm really going to have to be on my game but I'm ready for the challange. Hope to see you next time you're travelling through Virginia. ...Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oaks Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Victorian Inn

Also Known As:
Oaks Victorian Hotel Christiansburg
Oaks Victorian Hotel
Address: 311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oaks Victorian Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Oaks Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaks Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Oaks Victorian Inn to your Saves list