We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks Victorian Inn

Save Saved
You added The Oaks Victorian Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oaks Victorian Inn
311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel amenities
Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We came into town for a family wedding and Linda and Bernie welcomed us with open arms late in the afternoon. They suggested restaurants in the area and provided late night snack trays. The Julia Pierce room was warm, inviting and very comfortable. We slept well and awoke early enough for coffee on the porch, then dined in "high cotton" style in the dining room with other guests. At the end of the day and whirlwind wedding functions, we relaxed in the whirlpool tub before turning in for the night. We could not have asked for better hosts. Beautifully appointed rooms, wonderful garden area, and the food was fabulous! Ray and Jeanne

Room Tip: Choose a room that meets your needs while you are traveling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing The Oaks as your home away from home. So pleased that you took advandage of our pre-breakfast coffee out on the porch. We just love sitting out there too. We hope to see you again when you are in the Blue Ridge Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
100
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place is very special. We will definitely be going back. Customer service and quality at every turn. The food is delicious and the care with which it is prepared and served is second to none. A great place to escape to.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
So pleased that you found The Oaks as special as we do. We stayed here as guests on our way home from looking at other B+Bs that were for sale and the first words out of Bernie's mouth when we walked in the door were "Why couldn't this place be for sale?" 11 months later we became the owners and 2 years after that we had the honor of being your hosts. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What an outstanding week-end. The Oaks Victorian Inn was a perfect place to stay for a weekend getaway. Our hosts, Linda and Bernie could not have been more helpful or pleasant. They made our first B & B stay such a great experience. We were pleased with every aspect of our stay. The breakfast was unbelievable!! Thanks for a great experience

Room Tip: staying in the garden cottage allows you to use the hot tube....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Oaks Victorian Inn as your first bed and breakfast and hope you will continue to stay at B+Bs when you travel. Just like people, no 2 are alike and each offers its own special and unique experience. We wouldn't travel any other way. Hope to see you again next time you are in Southwest Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We could not have picked a more perfect place to stay, our big football weekend at VT. The Inn is a short drive from Blacksburg and a quiet oasis to return to after a fun filled football game! Bernie and Linda were wonderful hosts in their beautiful Inn. The rooms were immaculate. The Inn was filled with the aroma of LInda's great cooking coming from the kitchen. Breakfast was elegant and we look forward to returning. Loved hanging out on the wonderful porch. Thanks Bernie & Linda for such a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Julia Pierce room, beautiful bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Football weekends are always a lot of fun. Thank you for choosing The Oaks as your oasis. Next time you come you'll see changes on the porch. We got some great new furniture. Check out The Oaks Victorian Inn facebook page and you'll see the new love seat. We look forward to seeing you for another football weekend or just a great escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Oaks was a pleasant surprise, with the room spacious and comfortable, the breakfast a delight, and the two owners friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We were very pleased with everything about the B & B. It is in the top tier of the many B & B's we have visited in the past. A strong recommendation to those who will be traveling to or through the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Marshall and Virginia

We like surprises and thrilled that we were one of them and that you enjoyed the breakfasts as well as the B&B. We hope to see you the next time you are in the Blue Ridge mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokeelia, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Finally, on this trip I was able to not only get my spouse to consider a B & B but to stay at one ---- I'm so happy it was the Oaks. Linda & Bernie are the perfect hosts. We very much appreciated the cleaniness of the property. And the food what's not to like ---- best breakfast we've had since we left Vermont.
Thanks for our hosts for making this a wonderful stay.

John & Diane Nivens

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Oaks Victorian Inn as you hubby's intro to B+B's. We never travel anyway else anymore. So glad you enjoyed breakfast. After people see this review I'm really going to have to be on my game but I'm ready for the challange. Hope to see you next time you're travelling through Virginia. ...Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We can't remember enjoying a vacation more! After 34 years of marriage, it was the perfect romantic getaway. Linda and Bernie were the perfect hostess and host ... warm and welcoming without being intrusive. The accomodations were perfect. We stayed in the Alexandria, and will request the same room the next time. We are already looking forward to a winter getaway so that we can enjoy the fireplaces!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Jackie and Valerie

Linda and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Oaks and have decided to return. You can curl up with a book and glass of wine in front of the fire in our cozy library. The Julia Pierce has a fireplace and jacuzzi for two. You may want to consider it for your next stay. It is one of our most romantic rooms. Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oaks Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Victorian Inn

Address: 311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your The Oaks Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Victorian Hotel Christiansburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaks Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.