We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Oaks Victorian Inn to your Saves list
The Oaks Victorian Inn
311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel amenities
Blackstone, Virginia
1 review
“Fabulous weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have visited Christiansburg my entire life, either staying with relatives or in various hotels. This time I decided to finally treat myself and my mother to this beautiful estate that I have admired for many years! It is an exquisite piece of property. From the photo provided, you can see the exterior of this grand home; well, we found the inside, and the hospitality, to be just as equally charming! The house is immaculate! The bed linens and towels "top of the line"! The food was terrific and elegantly served! Just an all-around fabulous experience! We will definitely be returning! Thank you, Linda, Bernie, and Ede!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We love it when past Christiansburg residents choose to stay at The Oaks. Their memories of the old time charm of the town are so very special. Hope to see you next Christainsburg Alumni weekend.
Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
102
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hixson, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A wonderful experience! The Inn is beautiful and clean. The owners make you feel like you are family from the moment you arrive. The breakfast was excellent and the atmosphere charming. We cannot wait to return. Our stay was just lovely. Thank you Linda and Bernie.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased that we made you feel like part of our extended family, which just keeps growing and growing. Hope to see you again soon. ...Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Had a charming stay this summer at the Oaks. The rooms are luxurious with many amenities, including upscale toileteries, bonnet top canopy beds, cookie jar filled with warm cookies & black washclothes for easy make-up removal. The innkeepers (Bernie & Linda) are very knowledgeable and eager to get to know their guests and to acquaint them with this lush, beautiful Blue Ridge area. They went out of their way to accomodate our needs and requests for breakfast and for referrals to area points of interest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had such high praise for our amenities. We strive to make our guests feel very special and cater to all dietary needs. We hope to see you again

Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed here one Saturday night enroute to somewhere else. It is right off I-81 south of Roanoke.

The inn is very clean and well appointed. The innkeepers are attentive while not being intrusive.
They helped me to find a brewpub for dinner.

The bed was very comfortable and I slept well.

Breakfast was wonderful. I had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for posting the glorious review. We do get a lot of people stopping here on their way to another destination since we are so close to I-81. We only recommend restaurants that we ourselves have tried and go back every so often to make sure that it still lives up to our standards. We hope to see you again

Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etters, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at this lovely Inn on a trip to the Smoky Mountains. The accomodations (Sir Christopher's Chambers) were very restful after hours on the road. The innkeepers, Linda and Bernie Wurtzburger, greeted us upon our arrival and spent some time with us just getting to know us and our preferences. The room was very comfortable. It was so soothing to sit out on the wrap-around porch to have a glass of wine and relax. The high point, however, was breakfast. What an absolute delight! Not a buffet but served at table with any dietary restrictions taken into consideration. The Parmesan baked eggs were out of this world. We sat at a table with 2 other couples and shared travel experiences, discovering new places to travel in the future. And the innkeepers came to the table to chat with us over breakfast. It was a delightful interlude. We recommend it highly to anyone in or traveling through the area. This is also a Select Registry inn.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that you found our porch soothing and relaxing. It is one of our favorite spots at The Oaks. Linda takes pride in preparing delicious breakfasts and we are glad that you enjoyed the parmesan eggs. We hope to see you again when you are traveling through the area.

Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Oaks Victorian Inn in Christiansburg, VA offers a tranquil respite with exceptional hosts. The residence maintains the charm that the name purports and offers spacious interior and interior venues to simply sit and relax. The wrap around porch has ample seating and provides for a relaxing venue to simply enjoy conversation or reading interests. The individual rooms offer a quiet and restful place to recoup with most having an attached bathroom that exceeds expecations of the normal, abbreviated weekend travel plans. Linda and Bernie are extremely hospitable as they welcome their guests and take pride in assuring they treat them not only as guests, but as family. The Oaks Victorian Inn is certainly an exceptional value for these type of accomodations, and I look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. So happy that you found our B+B. We loved sitting and talking with you on the porch as did our other guests. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

The Inn had friendly hosts, clean rooms and excellent food. They have a beautiful garden. The Inn is located on a quiet street. We had a very calm and restful stay. The hosts have a collection of menus from local interesting restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We're pleased that your stay was calming and restful and hope to be your hosts again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oaks Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Victorian Inn

Address: 311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Oaks Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Victorian Hotel Christiansburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaks Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.