We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to remember fondly and come back to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks Victorian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Oaks Victorian Inn to your Saves list
The Oaks Victorian Inn
311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nazareth PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place to remember fondly and come back to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We loved the way Linda and Bernie greeted us and made us feel at home and the next morning, we had a wonderful conversation with them as we enjoyed the delicious breakfast goodies. Our room was beautiful and spacious with a luxurious bathroom and every detail thoughtfully arranged. Linda and Bernie also gave us excellent ideas for dinners and hiking trails in the area. We take great pleasure in places where people do what they are doing with care, imagination, and love and this is one of them.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
103
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Linda and Bernie are tremendous hosts. We immediately felt very welcome and really appreciated their introductions to their home and soliciation of any special requests or needs we might have. Since there was a dietary issue for us, this was very much appreciated. Restaurant recommendations, directions and information on other places to go and see were provided with a keen interest in our preferences. We really felt at home right away and were sorry we couldn't stay longer. Our room (Alexandria) with very spacious bath was immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfasts were outstanding with a lot of attention to detail. No noise or control freak issues here, just tremendous attentiveness to guest's wants and needs. We certainly hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Bottom Line on Top - 5 green disks. We'll stay here again.

A short drive off I-81. The directions provided were spot on.

Parking was no problem. One space for each room seems reasonable. Keen56 must have been traveling in a convoy.

Bernie and Linda welcomed us and gave us a brief tour of the common areas of the inn.
They provided about a dozen menus from local restaurants and gave us a recommendation. (We took their advice and had an excellent dinner.) They inquired about food allergies and any other special needs we might have. We needed to go to a drug store and again their directions were right on the money. If this was a lecture from control freaks I’ll take it. Where we come from this is called the provision of useful information born of concern for one’s guests.

We stayed in Sir Christopher’s Chamber. The room and bath were large and beautifully decorated. Everything was immaculate. Toiletries and fluffy towels and robes were provided. We experienced no noise issues.

Breakfast the next morning was choice of juices, choice of coffee, tea or cocoa, yogurt with homemade granola, upside down apple French toast and bacon. All excellent. Hey, you want choices I’m sure there’s a McSomething nearby.

Altogether a great experience. YMMV, but I doubt it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and vindication. We love being innkeepers and truly feel bad when guests feel that we have not done our best to provide them with a positive B+B experience. We hope to see you in the near future and wish you Happy Holidays. …Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

What a lovely experience we had staying at The Oaks! From the time we arrived we felt like we were home. Bernie and Linda were incredibly gracious and accommodating, and when we left it was with true regret. There were so many personal touches that made a difference. We have stayed at B & Bs before, but we rate this experience at the top of the list. The Oaks is a wonderful old home that has been treasured and loved, and it shows. We especially appreciated the fact that they took the time to sit down with us when we arrived and truly wanted to get to know us. It was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
So happy you chose The Oaks. It was such fun sharing Thanksgiving dinner with you and your son and daughter-in-laws friends. Great food, interesting conversation and wonderful new friends. What could be better. ...Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Ris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

A welcome by control freaks? and it took us a good half an hour of lectures to check in. The bedrooms did not have bathrooms and a noisy staircase on the third floor where they lived. Breakfast was a take it or leave if choice and car parking limited

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Upon arrival, we invite guests to join us in the parlor for a few minutes so we can get to know a little bit about the people staying in our home. As you may recall, we asked about dietary needs so a breakfast menu could be planned to accommodate all guests staying with us. We had a full house when you stayed with us and a savory as opposed to sweet breakfast was requested and prepared. There is one parking spot for each guest room and lots of additional parking on the street. Sometimes a guest with a large vehicle is not thoughtful when pulling into our parking lot taking up more than one space. If that happened when you stayed with us we apologize. Every guest room has a private bathroom. As a matter of fact, one guest room has 2 full bathrooms. There is however, and we believe it is the room in which you stayed, one room where the bathroom is not physically in the room but in the hall. It is clearly stated on our website that it is private to the room but in the hall and robes are provided. The stairway up to our living space is next to that bathroom and we try to be as quiet as possible, but The Oaks is over 100 years old and some of the stairs do creak. We come down early in the morning to make coffee and tea available at 7:30 and are sorry if we disturbed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This place has everything you ever wanted from a B&B - great rooms, great breakfast, wonderful hosts. We could not have been more comfortable or more welcomed! We stayed in the smallest room with the bathroom down the hall (private, but out of the room) - and it was still the best B&B ever! We will plan a vacation to this area again just to stay in this lovely B&B. The large porch was a wonderful place to relax after our long drive, and the hosts, Linda and Bernie joined us for a friendly chat. I have never felt so welcomed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent, even the one with the bathroom detached. It was still very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Elegant inn, friendly staff and delicious gluten-free breakfasts.
First class B&B

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oaks Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Victorian Inn

Address: 311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Oaks Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Victorian Hotel Christiansburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaks Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.