We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get-a-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks Victorian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Oaks Victorian Inn to your Saves list
The Oaks Victorian Inn
311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel amenities
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Great get-a-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was such a wonderful place to relax. It was very clean, beautifully decorated, great hospitality and a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
102
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My new bride and I came to The Oaks for a quick getaway after our wedding. Bernie and Linda's hospitality was great. They gave great suggestions for dining and activities during our stay and the amenities at the B&B were perfect. We would highly recommend The Oaks to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We visited the B&B for our 15th Anniversary and was very pleased. There were lots of little details that was made and appreciated (little fridge stocked with beverages, flashlight, etc). The owners, Bernie and Linda, are very welcoming and accomodating and personable. In addition, the breakfast was pleasant. Overall the experience here at the B&B was great. A return trip is in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We were in town to see the Tech game and tailgate with our daughter and her friends. This property is a mere 15 minutes to campus but a world away in terms of relaxation. The innkeepers, Linda and Bernie, are so welcoming and accomodating. We stayed in the garden cottage - the B&B experience but with privacy - including a private porch, sauna, and hot tub. Everything was spotless and well appropriated. We had our own fridge (stocked with a few beverages), microwave, and coffee/tea maker with an assortment of coffee/teas. In addition to glassware and wine opener, they even provided plastic wine glasses for us to use in the hot tub - which we did. The private front porch looks over a lovely koi pond and the entire setting is truly peaceful. One caution about the garden cottage - the bed is in a loft so you need to be a little mobile to make that work. We had no problems even getting up and down in the night and would stay there again, but if that is not your thing the rest of the Inn is lovely too. Since we came to see our daughter and VT regretfully we had breakfast only one day but it was fantastic and healthy. Linda was even kind enough to provide us the recipe for our favorite dish, the spinach brownie. We can't say enough about the lovely common areas, the food, the proprietors, the rooms, the reasonable price, etc. We will definitely be back to the Oaks Victorian Inn, one regret is that by posting this well deserved review, it may be harder to book in the future - lol. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We were traveling to Tennessee and my wife found this gem on the internet. The stay exceeded expectations and we actually stayed on our return trip. That should speak volumes in itself. From the greeting at the door, the tour of the house, and the chatting in the living room with Linda & Bernie made a great first impression. Then the room we had with a very large bathroom, split up in a way that it was almost a his & hers bathroom. Then the delicious cookies and port wine. Ask about restaurant recommendations and not only do Linda & Bernie have menus, but they even have recommendtions on place and what they enjoy and recommend. The breakfast each day was outstanding. We ate combinations we had not had before and they were wonderful. Upon leaving they give you several gifts, one is more of those delicious cookies. I know I missed something but the visit was one we will make again when we travel south again.

Room Tip: All the rooms look great but we especially liked being on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This was our first stop on the Blue Ridge Parkway, and we were looking for something different and romantic to start the trip. We booked the Julia Pierce suite – the bathroom is lovely. The Inn was easy to find. Linda and Bernie were welcoming and helpful, and gave us great directions to local antique shops, recommended a good place to eat and sent us on our way the next morning with fresh baked cookies and lots of local information on the area and places to see. Nothing was too much trouble – from ironing a shirt and skirt, providing boiling water and a tea pot for early morning tea, to printing out tickets for us. So we will definitely be back and next time will book the garden cottage (and hot tub), which the couple who shared our breakfast table had booked and said was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at the Oaks to celebrate my wife's birthday and visit our daughter at Virginia Tech. We were looking for a quiet getaway that was not too far off the beaten path and this was the perfect place. Less than 10 minutes from the campus and yet a world away...this majestic Victorian home is on a splendid corner lot in historic Christiansburg, VA. Linda and Bernie made us feel right at home and took care of us like we were long lost friends. The room was fantastic and all 3 breakfast meals were unique, tasty and splendidly presented. If you want to eat a mound of pancakes until your stomach explodes...go to Denny's...if you enjoy tastefully presented, home cooked creations stay at the Oaks Victorian Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Juila Pierce ...beautiful room with a very large private bathroom with a jacuzzi tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oaks Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Victorian Inn

Address: 311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Oaks Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Victorian Hotel Christiansburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaks Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.