We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks Victorian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Oaks Victorian Inn to your Saves list
The Oaks Victorian Inn
311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We were traveling to Tennessee and my wife found this gem on the internet. The stay exceeded expectations and we actually stayed on our return trip. That should speak volumes in itself. From the greeting at the door, the tour of the house, and the chatting in the living room with Linda & Bernie made a great first impression. Then the room we had with a very large bathroom, split up in a way that it was almost a his & hers bathroom. Then the delicious cookies and port wine. Ask about restaurant recommendations and not only do Linda & Bernie have menus, but they even have recommendtions on place and what they enjoy and recommend. The breakfast each day was outstanding. We ate combinations we had not had before and they were wonderful. Upon leaving they give you several gifts, one is more of those delicious cookies. I know I missed something but the visit was one we will make again when we travel south again.

Room Tip: All the rooms look great but we especially liked being on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
103
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This was our first stop on the Blue Ridge Parkway, and we were looking for something different and romantic to start the trip. We booked the Julia Pierce suite – the bathroom is lovely. The Inn was easy to find. Linda and Bernie were welcoming and helpful, and gave us great directions to local antique shops, recommended a good place to eat and sent us on our way the next morning with fresh baked cookies and lots of local information on the area and places to see. Nothing was too much trouble – from ironing a shirt and skirt, providing boiling water and a tea pot for early morning tea, to printing out tickets for us. So we will definitely be back and next time will book the garden cottage (and hot tub), which the couple who shared our breakfast table had booked and said was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at the Oaks to celebrate my wife's birthday and visit our daughter at Virginia Tech. We were looking for a quiet getaway that was not too far off the beaten path and this was the perfect place. Less than 10 minutes from the campus and yet a world away...this majestic Victorian home is on a splendid corner lot in historic Christiansburg, VA. Linda and Bernie made us feel right at home and took care of us like we were long lost friends. The room was fantastic and all 3 breakfast meals were unique, tasty and splendidly presented. If you want to eat a mound of pancakes until your stomach explodes...go to Denny's...if you enjoy tastefully presented, home cooked creations stay at the Oaks Victorian Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Juila Pierce ...beautiful room with a very large private bathroom with a jacuzzi tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at this B&B in Christiansburg during a Virginia Tech football weekend. In years past we had stayed in a local hotel and decided to make a change to add a little more charm to our weekend. The proprietors were very kind, willing to offer recommendations for local restaurants and arrange reservations.

Our room, Sir Christopher's Suite, was conveniently located on the ground floor and was spacious, clean and well-appointed. We enjoyed the property, especially the wrap-around porch with plenty of rockers and comfortable seating. This was a great place to meet other visitors and spend some time with Linda & Bernie. Everyone brought their own libations and it was a convivial atmosphere.

The breakfast was very nice and plenty hearty for a B&B-style breakfast. We were only able to enjoy one breakfast during our two night stay because we needed to get an early start on our last morning, so we missed an opportunity to compare different offerings, but the first day's selection of a frittata & fresh cantaloupe with coffee and juices was a good start.

I hesitate to offer a full "5 Star" rating on this property because I felt the owners could have offered some sort of early "take-away" breakfast, at the very least coffee to go, for visitors who need to depart prior to their 9:00 dining time. The property is small enough to be able to offer such personalized niceties, yet nothing was offered. As we left the owners did not thank us for our business, and we felt it did not matter to them that we were heading out for a very long drive and would have to hunt down some breakfast on the road. It's the small details that are so critical to the visitors who choose a Select Registry B&B over a hotel or larger inn, so we left unsure as to whether we would choose it again. To be sure it is a beautifully appointed home and very conveniently located.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Sorry that you are hesitant about staying with us in the future. We agree that it's the small details that are critical such as providing valet service when guests need something ironed or procuring a bottle of chardonnay though it is not offered as an add on package. When taking care of the check out paperwork the night before, your husband was thanked and given a new Select Registry book along with a token "thank you" bag of cookies. Fresh brewed coffee was just coming out to the foyer server as you were leaving and there were to go cups in the cabinet below. Please check your email where you will find a thank you note that is sent to all our guests upon their departure. We enjoyed spending time with you on the porch and hope to see you again.

Linda and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The inn is very lovely and immaculate. The room was large and very nicely decorated. The breakfast was somewhat lacking though. The portions were meager, with no seconds, and it lacked taste. Would expect more for the price. As it was, we went away hungry and had to get an early lunch.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theoaksvictorianinn, Owner at The Oaks Victorian Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
We are very sorry that you were disappointed in breakfast. Being a sit down breakfast and not a buffet, we do not offer seconds on the entree. We do try to make breakfast as hearty and tasty as possible taking all of our guests dietary needs into consideration when planning the menu.. Seconds and more are always offered for coffee, tea and juices. We hope that users of Tripadvisor will consider our other reviews when choosing a Bed and Breakfast in the Blue Ridge Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here while taking our son to Va. Tech. Everything was very well done from check in to checkout. Breakfast cozy & delicious. Would stay again

Room Tip: stayed in dtached cottage. very cozy. narrow steps to bedroom. not for elderly or handicapped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Linda and Bernie (the owners) at The Oaks Victorian Inn couldn't be nicer hosts. We chatted with them well into the evening, as we ate our dinner (delicious food from Macadoo's on Main Street) while rocking in the rocking chairs on the gorgeous wrap-around porch. This is a great place to stop during a long drive--about 4 hours from Washington, D.C. and 3.5 hours to Asheville, NC. The property has old and magnificent oak trees and pretty flower gardens and lawns. The souffle served at breakfast included apples from the tree in the backyard. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious. If you go, check to see what's in the big cookie jar...maybe you will find Linda's yummy oatmeal/cranberry/chocolate chip cookies!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. The Alexandria room on the first floor is very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oaks Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Victorian Inn

Address: 311 East Main Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Oaks Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Victorian Hotel Christiansburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaks Victorian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.