We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2659 Roanoke Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Christiansburg
DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“No complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Other than having some trouble finding the hotel (GPS directed us to a nearby Holiday Inn) we had no trouble at all with our stay. The room was large and very clean, the beds were comfortable. Location is close to 81. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was fine. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I am happy to hear that you had no complaints with our hotel, staff or breakfast! We always strive to give you the best service and are glad we met or exceeded your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    50
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
65
25
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This property provides a very courteous staff (Erica), a convenient location, easy highway access, with ample eating choices in the area. I travel to the area to work and this has always been a favorite of mine.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face front of property, but are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I am glad to hear that our staff service was excellent and that we are one of your favorite places! We cannot wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was the most efficient and friendly check in service I've ever received. The front desk staff was very personable and not a hint of pretentiousness. Nice room, well kept hotel, good breakfast. We would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I am glad our front desk staff made you feel welcome and went beyond your expectations. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stay at this Marriott at least twice a year on our way from Georgia to NJ to visit family. The staff is so very welcoming and we feel like we are at home away from home after a long days drive. The rooms are comfortable and it is conveniently right off the interstate.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I am so pleased you use our hotel as a stopping point for your travels and look forward to you visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We needed a place to stay close to Virginia Tech and as a Rewards member I always look to Marriott properties first. The Fairfield in Christiansburg is right off the highway and ten minutes from VT, and also close to a few dining options. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean, large and comfortable and there is a nice breakfast in the morning. Perfect place for our short stay - I know I can always count on Marriott for a safe, clean, relaxing environment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
I am glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our property and hope you will do so again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

First, the good. The young man who checked me in was super friendly. The room was clean.

The location is not great. We were there for a Virginia Tech visit, in order to get to Blacksburg you had to make a left across four lanes of busy traffic with no light. Maybe it wouldn't have been an issue if it weren't for the road construction though. It was very difficult to get out in the morning.

The room was set up really weird. On the upside it was quite large. I imagine it was supposed to be set up as a suite. The way it was set up made no sense. The beds were not even remotely in the right locations for the outlets. If they had put them on the other side of the room it would have worked. As it was, the outlet for the lamp and the alarm clock was behind one of the beds, the cords had to run between the mattress and box spring. It seemed like a fire hazard to me. So those two outlets are taken up by the lamp and clock, the nearest place to plug in a phone charger or laptop was about six feet away at the other end of the room. The other bed was several feet away from the nearest outlet as well. The beds were so low to the ground I initially thought it was just a box spring and mattress on the floor.

At breakfast the first morning there was nothing to drink unless you wanted coffee. The juice machine appeared to be broken, but they didn't even put out pitchers of ice water. When I asked the grumpy lady who was manning the breakfast area, she snapped at me, telling me that I had walked by a drinking fountain on my way in. The second morning there were at least some bottles of juice you could pour from. The muffins were definitely old, as well as the bagels. My teens said the waffle station was good, the other hot choices were not.
We stayed two nights. When we returned to the hotel the second day our key card didn't work. I went down to the desk and the guy knew immediately what the problem was without my even saying a word. If the door locks reset each day, they should tell me that so I can fix the key on my way up. As I left the lobby someone else came to the desk with the same issue.

Room Tip: If the road construction is still going on, get a room on the back side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
First I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am happy that our front desk staff were friendly and accommodating to you throughout your stay. I am displeased, however, to hear about your issues with breakfast. That is not the image or service we wish to convey to any of our guests while staying here. I hope you will give our hotel another try so we can prove to you that our quality and standards we strive for are the best in the area. If you have any further concerns please feel free to contact me directly (njeri.kershaw@marriott.com). Thank you!

Njeri Kershaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Located not far from I-81 it's convenient for travelers. Our room, with two queen beds, was massive. It could have housed three queen beds with no problem so we called for a roll-away and it appeared almost instantly. When we checked in the night desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. After a good night's sleep we went to breakfast. The scrambled eggs were gone and the woman working the dining area wasn't in a hurry to replenish them. Same with the orange juice which was in a pitcher. When I asked for ice water she told me they had a water fountain in the hallway. Seriously. So we had a great staff the night before and one below the line in the morning. Such is life. Clean and roomy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I am pleased to hear our front desk staff went above and beyond to make sure you were comfortable. I am displeased to hear that breakfast was not up to our, or Marriott's, standards. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and I hope you will stay with us again so we can show you that this is not the norm of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg

Address: 2659 Roanoke Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg Hotel Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn And Suites Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn Christiansburg
Fairfield Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn Hotel Christiansburg
Christiansburg Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.