We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, good service, convenient location to VT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2659 Roanoke Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Christiansburg
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice room, good service, convenient location to VT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We needed a place to stay close to Virginia Tech and as a Rewards member I always look to Marriott properties first. The Fairfield in Christiansburg is right off the highway and ten minutes from VT, and also close to a few dining options. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean, large and comfortable and there is a nice breakfast in the morning. Perfect place for our short stay - I know I can always count on Marriott for a safe, clean, relaxing environment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
I am glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our property and hope you will do so again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    45
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
61
23
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

First, the good. The young man who checked me in was super friendly. The room was clean.

The location is not great. We were there for a Virginia Tech visit, in order to get to Blacksburg you had to make a left across four lanes of busy traffic with no light. Maybe it wouldn't have been an issue if it weren't for the road construction though. It was very difficult to get out in the morning.

The room was set up really weird. On the upside it was quite large. I imagine it was supposed to be set up as a suite. The way it was set up made no sense. The beds were not even remotely in the right locations for the outlets. If they had put them on the other side of the room it would have worked. As it was, the outlet for the lamp and the alarm clock was behind one of the beds, the cords had to run between the mattress and box spring. It seemed like a fire hazard to me. So those two outlets are taken up by the lamp and clock, the nearest place to plug in a phone charger or laptop was about six feet away at the other end of the room. The other bed was several feet away from the nearest outlet as well. The beds were so low to the ground I initially thought it was just a box spring and mattress on the floor.

At breakfast the first morning there was nothing to drink unless you wanted coffee. The juice machine appeared to be broken, but they didn't even put out pitchers of ice water. When I asked the grumpy lady who was manning the breakfast area, she snapped at me, telling me that I had walked by a drinking fountain on my way in. The second morning there were at least some bottles of juice you could pour from. The muffins were definitely old, as well as the bagels. My teens said the waffle station was good, the other hot choices were not.
We stayed two nights. When we returned to the hotel the second day our key card didn't work. I went down to the desk and the guy knew immediately what the problem was without my even saying a word. If the door locks reset each day, they should tell me that so I can fix the key on my way up. As I left the lobby someone else came to the desk with the same issue.

Room Tip: If the road construction is still going on, get a room on the back side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
First I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am happy that our front desk staff were friendly and accommodating to you throughout your stay. I am displeased, however, to hear about your issues with breakfast. That is not the image or service we wish to convey to any of our guests while staying here. I hope you will give our hotel another try so we can prove to you that our quality and standards we strive for are the best in the area. If you have any further concerns please feel free to contact me directly (njeri.kershaw@marriott.com). Thank you!

Njeri Kershaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Located not far from I-81 it's convenient for travelers. Our room, with two queen beds, was massive. It could have housed three queen beds with no problem so we called for a roll-away and it appeared almost instantly. When we checked in the night desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. After a good night's sleep we went to breakfast. The scrambled eggs were gone and the woman working the dining area wasn't in a hurry to replenish them. Same with the orange juice which was in a pitcher. When I asked for ice water she told me they had a water fountain in the hallway. Seriously. So we had a great staff the night before and one below the line in the morning. Such is life. Clean and roomy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I am pleased to hear our front desk staff went above and beyond to make sure you were comfortable. I am displeased to hear that breakfast was not up to our, or Marriott's, standards. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and I hope you will stay with us again so we can show you that this is not the norm of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed at the Fairfield Inn and Suites by Marriott in Christiansburg Virginia this past weekend and was surprised...but not in a good way. When I booked the king room in Christiansburg for $129.00 per night I was surprised at the rate but figured, "It's a part of the Marriott family of hotels, it will be really nice." When I walked into my room my first thought was "hmmmm...not your typical Marriott branded hotel room by far." The hotel, though adequate is an older property, and it shows. The room is old, the bathroom fixtures and furnishings are old, the A/C is VERY OLD. At check-in everyone in front of me was asking for extra blankets which struck me as odd. Needless to say I understood when I crawled into my bed. Firstly the bedding is extremely thin, also the A/C is hard to regulate. It is either stuffy or freezing in the room, thus the extra blankets requests...I went to the front desk on day two and got my extra blankets and slept much better on the second night. Also the shower, the control handle and the spray fixture were very loose, so much so that when I changed the temperature or angle of spray I thought they were going to fall off in my hands. The front desk staff are great, very friendly and accommodating. The lobby and breakfast area are nice though I never ate breakfast so I can't comment on that. I don't want to leave the impression that this is a bad hotel, they just need to invest in some modern updates and fix the place up a bit...or charge a bit less as a nightly rate, this one is not up to Marriott's standards.

Room Tip: Third floor is the quietest. Request extra blankets at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Ranhar2,

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey on our hotel. I am very happy to hear that the staff service was friendly and accomodating to you and your friends during your stay. I am disheartened to hear there were some issues with your room and will be speaking to our maintenance manager and housekeeping manager to ensure your next visit to our hotel will show that the room you received is not the standard or norm of this hotel. I hope if you are travelling through the area you stop by here again to give our hotel another chance, and maybe try our great breakfast! If you need any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me (njeri.kershaw@marriott.com). Thank you!

Njeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed at this property just last week. Clean hotel, helpful front desk staff. The breakfast was pretty standard fare, but I've had much worse. The biggest challenge was the bedding. The mattress in my room was about as squishy as they come. Guessing this hotel is on the list to get new mattresses...or at least I hope so. Also - surprised to see that they had done some repair work around the back of the toilet and under a shelf that extends over from the sink area. Well, they left the fiber board exposed. Nothing structural, but oh how unattractive. Think maintenance just forgot to follow up and put a cover over that part of the wall. Finally, good thing I was only interested in watching NCAA basketball on a network channel since most of the cable channels were anything but clear.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad the staff was helpful and accomodating during your stay. I was distressed to learn about the repair work behind the toilet, and will look into that further. We strive to give every guest a clean, comfortable room for relaxing or any needs you may have and apologize for not meeting that. I hope you come stay with us again so we can show you how much we can shine! If there is any further assistance you need please do not hesitate to contact me directly (njeri.kershaw@marriott.com). Thank you.

Sincerely,

Njeri Kershaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Impressive welcoming clean relaxing friendly interested staff great room good nights sleep. Breakfast selection of food was as normal but the hot food was hot and the tables were being kept clean so the morning experience was relaxing. Love the way the place is presented.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay! We strive to give every guest the type of service that will make them want to return, and we are glad we met that expectation with you! We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Njeri Kershaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Good location, good price. Friendly and helpful staff. I've stayed here quite a few times and have always been treated very well by the staff. Rooms are always clean and well appointed. This is one of the better Fairfield Inn's I've stayed at.

Room Tip: Hotel is well of the interstate so one side of the hotel is as good as the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and also enjoyed the staff service! We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and we are happy those expectations were met. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel!

Sincerely,

Njeri Kershaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg

Address: 2659 Roanoke Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg Hotel Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn Christiansburg
Fairfield Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn Hotel Christiansburg
Christiansburg Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.