We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2659 Roanoke Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Christiansburg
maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our second stay at this very nice. It is easy to find because it's right off the main road. The room was big and very clean. We did not eat the breakfast that was offered but it looked nice with the standard items of muffins, toast, cereal, etc. The shower had consistently good water pressure and the linens were nice and fluffy. Bed was a bit soft for me but is was comfy and clean. As it was last year, check out/in was fast and friendly. All the staff that I encountered were friendly. The outdoor pool/hot tub looked nice but we didn’t get a chance to get use it because of our schedule. The AC unit kept our room nice and cool. There is a very good Pizza Hut and Waffle House just up the road. Looking forward to my next stay at this Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel enough to come back and that we did not disappoint this time around! I look forward to seeing you next time you stay at our hotel! Safe travels!

Njeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    45
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
61
23
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Not what it used to be. I agree with other reviewers who find this place a bit scruffy and run down. First went there when it was new and enjoyed it very much. It’s a good half way stop between my home in NJ and Atlanta. The place needs a good updating and please improve breakfast service. Thank god that an employee, bertha, was there to help out. The breakfast room was packed and they were running low on most food. I must also say that the guests did little to help by spilling pancake batter and juice on the counters. She hustled as fast as he could to do her best to resupply the place and keep it under control. Brava bertha! Look, it’s only for one night, but feels more like a motel 6 now than a Marriott.

Room Tip: think of it as a motel 6, certainly not up to marriott standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am sorry you were not completely satisfied with your stay and I hope you give us the chance to prove the last stay was a fluke. I am glad Bertha was able to make your stay somewhat enjoyable and will pass along your compliment! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and I hope you decide to give our hotel another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Fairfield Inn and Suites in Christiansburg is a very clean and modern hotel. The value was quite good at $116 per night for four adults. The reception at the front desk was very polite and the service was fast and efficient. The room itself was clean and modern. Our room was very cold when we arrived as the thermostat was set at 66 degrees Fahrenheit and we had to open the window to warm up our room. The beds are very comfortable and had 5 pillows on each queen bed.

The television reception was excellent with limited channel reception (Perhaps 20 channels). The internet service was very fast. We had a good nights sleep with the exception of being awoken very early due to loud talking outside our 2nd story window (They were possibly employees), which was just above the outdoor swimming pool. It was surprising how clearly we could hear people's voices, despite the window being fully shut. In the morning, the breakfast was quite good and included scramble eggs, sausage, waffles, a continental selection, juice and coffee. The hotel is a very convenient as a stop-over hotel to another location. There are various restaurants nearby, so food selection is not a problem. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the outdoor swimming pool due to the noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello and thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickamauga, Georgia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We called the hotel directly as we were driving south on 81. The phone people were very professional and helpful. They were friendly, thoughtful and efficient. The drive took longer than expected so we did not arrive until after midnight. Thank goodness we had a reservation because the hotel was full. We were greater warmly by a sweet young woman ( I believe her name was Bertha) Fairfield has a gem in her! She was very polite. And friendly. Answered every question before I even asked jumped into action for our one request and was all around very helpful. The room was clean, roomy and comfortable. The breakfast was quite substantial and extensive for a hotel breakfast. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello and thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am so pleased you had a great stay at our hotel! I will pass along your compliments to Bertha, and we are very lucky to have her. I am glad you are planning on staying at our hotel again and I look forward to seeing you!

Njeri Kershaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NH
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here one night while passing through. Unfortunately it was "Floyd Fest" weekend, a music festival south of here that attracts 15,000 fans, and all the hotels jack up the rates/fill up. Only room they had left was a king suite, a bit pricy at $165/night, even w/AAA discount (includes all taxes). Nice suite, with separate 'living room,' AC was working well on this hot day. Toilet seat won't stay up - the lip of the shelf above sticks out, meaning guys have to 'hold up' the seat. Nice recessed lights over the bed for reading; only problem was, there's no switch to turn them off except over on the wall in the living room. Housekeeping left two conditioners, but no shampoo. After two kleenex pulls, the box was empty, with no spare in sight. These are minor issues, I know, but a suite's a suite and you expect more, especially for the price paid.

Good features: free WiFi, nice free hot breakfast (eggs, sausages, waffles), plus cold choices galore. Bed was comfortable, lobby big and inviting, as was breakfast area. Pleanty of free papers around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello! We are pleased that you took the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed the suite and will speak to maintenance about the toilet seat and make sure housekeeping checks the little things to make sure you have an even better stay! I am glad you enjoyed our free wifi and hot breakfast! If you are in this area again we would love to have you back!

Njeri Kershaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked this room through Priceline at the last minute when we were about 20 miles out from Christiansburg. We did the name your own price option and got the room for about 50% less than advertised. The accommodations were nice. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spacious. Breakfast was yummy and we felt very safe there. Not a bad place to stay for the discounted rate, but I wouldn't necessarily pay the advertised price online which was over $100.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our newhot breakfast! If you find yourself in our area again we would love to have you back!

Njeri Kershaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at this hotel several times over the last few years because of it's proximity to Virginia Tech. It was our "go to" hotel but no more. The hotel is starting to look tattered and it smells a bit stale. We had a king suite on the second floor. The bathroom was clean and in good condition but the toilet seat was loose and a hazard. The room was setup nice and seemed clean but the cleaning staff isn't thorough and i saw dirt, dust and a feather behind my nightstand. The most unpleasant aspects of the room were how muggy the room was requiring us to run the a/c on a low setting thereby freezing, the mattress on the king bed is sagging in the middle and transfered AND multiplied any movements made by my husband, the sofabed was not made, no linens in the room and we had to go down and get them, and the mattress was so uncomfortable our teen son joined us in the king bed. Lousy night's sleep. WiFi VERY weak. Breakfast was nice and front desk staff very nice. Really appreciated that the hotel closed on time at 10pm sending all the rowdy little leaguers to their rooms. Noise from the little miscreants was an issue but not the hotel's fault. Next time we'll probably go to the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hello, I am sorry to hear you had a stay that did not meet your expectations. We strive to give everyone service that makes them want to return, and I am displeased to hear we didn ot measure up this time around. We would hate to lose a loyal customer, and I hope you give our hotel another chance! I am glad the service was great, and we will make sure you have great amenities as well. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

Njeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg

Address: 2659 Roanoke Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg Hotel Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn Christiansburg
Fairfield Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn Hotel Christiansburg
Christiansburg Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.