We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but ergonomics & housekeeping could be improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2659 Roanoke Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Amherst, NH
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good, but ergonomics & housekeeping could be improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here one night while passing through. Unfortunately it was "Floyd Fest" weekend, a music festival south of here that attracts 15,000 fans, and all the hotels jack up the rates/fill up. Only room they had left was a king suite, a bit pricy at $165/night, even w/AAA discount (includes all taxes). Nice suite, with separate 'living room,' AC was working well on this hot day. Toilet seat won't stay up - the lip of the shelf above sticks out, meaning guys have to 'hold up' the seat. Nice recessed lights over the bed for reading; only problem was, there's no switch to turn them off except over on the wall in the living room. Housekeeping left two conditioners, but no shampoo. After two kleenex pulls, the box was empty, with no spare in sight. These are minor issues, I know, but a suite's a suite and you expect more, especially for the price paid.

Good features: free WiFi, nice free hot breakfast (eggs, sausages, waffles), plus cold choices galore. Bed was comfortable, lobby big and inviting, as was breakfast area. Pleanty of free papers around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello! We are pleased that you took the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed the suite and will speak to maintenance about the toilet seat and make sure housekeeping checks the little things to make sure you have an even better stay! I am glad you enjoyed our free wifi and hot breakfast! If you are in this area again we would love to have you back!

Njeri Kershaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    53
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
69
25
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked this room through Priceline at the last minute when we were about 20 miles out from Christiansburg. We did the name your own price option and got the room for about 50% less than advertised. The accommodations were nice. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spacious. Breakfast was yummy and we felt very safe there. Not a bad place to stay for the discounted rate, but I wouldn't necessarily pay the advertised price online which was over $100.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our newhot breakfast! If you find yourself in our area again we would love to have you back!

Njeri Kershaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at this hotel several times over the last few years because of it's proximity to Virginia Tech. It was our "go to" hotel but no more. The hotel is starting to look tattered and it smells a bit stale. We had a king suite on the second floor. The bathroom was clean and in good condition but the toilet seat was loose and a hazard. The room was setup nice and seemed clean but the cleaning staff isn't thorough and i saw dirt, dust and a feather behind my nightstand. The most unpleasant aspects of the room were how muggy the room was requiring us to run the a/c on a low setting thereby freezing, the mattress on the king bed is sagging in the middle and transfered AND multiplied any movements made by my husband, the sofabed was not made, no linens in the room and we had to go down and get them, and the mattress was so uncomfortable our teen son joined us in the king bed. Lousy night's sleep. WiFi VERY weak. Breakfast was nice and front desk staff very nice. Really appreciated that the hotel closed on time at 10pm sending all the rowdy little leaguers to their rooms. Noise from the little miscreants was an issue but not the hotel's fault. Next time we'll probably go to the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hello, I am sorry to hear you had a stay that did not meet your expectations. We strive to give everyone service that makes them want to return, and I am displeased to hear we didn ot measure up this time around. We would hate to lose a loyal customer, and I hope you give our hotel another chance! I am glad the service was great, and we will make sure you have great amenities as well. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

Njeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Pleasant staff. Room was large and clean. Breakfast was better than average. We did not have reservations, and took the only available room. Tripadvisor requires 200 character minimum and this should do it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our new hot breakfast! We hope to see you the next time you are in our area!

Njeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Spent Sunday with the folks at Fairfield and thanks for the hideaway and exercise stop over. College transition/transfers can be taxing but not when you have a neat, clean, quiet place to rest and relax. Excellent - great fitness center but sure wish you could add a "Bike!" Pool area neat and well kept. A grand walking path out back and wide open spaces to watch for critters. Take an upstairs (odd numbers) room for solitude! Continental breakfast fair but wish they had "biscuits and gravy!" A 15 minute drive to Tech but that can be a most enjoyable ride on a bright and clear June morning. If you need good service and a place to hide- - - Fairfield Inn Christiansburg can be the place. May want to clean the bathroom exhaust ducts, it's been a while since they had some love!

Room Tip: Restaurants with easy driving distance . . . we chose "Outback" and their service and food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Byron,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will look into the suggestions you left here! The next time you visit your child at Tech, or are just passing through the area, pleae stop by our hotel again, we would love to have you back!

Njeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have a confirmed reservation last night and when we went to check in they had no room for us. No Excuses or any offers of assistance other than to call 6 hotels in the area that were booked. Told us we could drive to Roanoke which is 45 minutes away - it was 11 PM. Hopefully I will never have to attempt to stay in a Fairfield Inn again and I would recommend you do not either. Very poor customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very distressed to learn this happened to you and invite you to contact me personally (njeri.kershaw@marriott.com or 540-381-9596) so I can fully understand what happened with your reservation. At this hotel we pride ourselves on great customer service and giving you a stay that would make you want to come back and again I apologize we did not deliver. I would love to speak with you.

Thank You,

Njeri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was here for my niece's graduation from VT. The property was clean and nice outside. The room was big and spacious. The beds were comfortable. And the bathroom was big and had plenty of room for toiletries. However the service was very spotty. The first day our room was made up just fine except we didn't get fresh washcloths. The second day our room was not made up at all when we returned at 5:00pm. The response was good once we called though.

The free breakfast was very crowded and the room had tables with very large chairs that took up way too much room.

I think this hotel would be better on a weekend when they are not full. The housekeeping and breakfast service seemed a bit overwhelmed with the crowds.

I hate to be hard on a place, but for $249 a night I expected more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your response! I'm sorry you had only an average stay and I hope you give our hotel another chance to change the average stay into an exceptional one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg

Address: 2659 Roanoke Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansburg
#3 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg Hotel Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn Christiansburg
Fairfield Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn Hotel Christiansburg
Christiansburg Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;