We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room with basic amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2659 Roanoke Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Christiansburg
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Large room with basic amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Large clean room about 10 minutes from VT. I was on the ground floor but it wasn't noisy (even on weekend). Newer equipment in fitness room. Typically nice breakfast with make-your-own waffles, cereal, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, bacon, bagels. Great coffee! Only downside was no fridge in the room. Also tried to get a rollaway cot but they only had one left and it had gotten wet. Recommend you reserve one in advance if you need it.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of a ground floor room. They are convenient to the fitness room, pool, hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    69
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
88
34
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
215 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed last night, and was a pretty average evening. I don't exactly agree with the $114 a night it costs although the military discount did help somewhat. I was a little insulted when checking in my Army Service Uniform (dress) and had to ask if there was a discount. After this the clerk asked me for proof through ID. Really - who guys out and buys an Army Dress Uniform gets a high and tight just to stay at a hotel in Christiansburg, VA? A little bit rediculous. Aside from this not much to note. The gym was OK, but would suggest you bring a rag to wipe down the equipment as there was no bleach water bottle or anything to wipe down the equipment when your done for sanitizing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Found the Fairfield Inn to be a good hotel for the money. Clean, generally comfortable, and staffed by friendly folks. Complimentary breakfast was a nice bonus.

Keep in mind that this is a Fairfield Inn, which Marriott describes as its “most affordable welcome on the road”. So don’t expect the amenities of a JW Marriott. You get what you pay for here; which is a decent room at a competitive price for the area.

This appears to be a fairly new hotel so I’m not sure what the prior comments about it being old and musty were all about. I found the facilities to be new/updated, clean, and appealing.

The breakfast area is somewhat small in relation to the demand. That is, there could be more tables and more room at the counters to accommodate times of peak demand. But the staff hustled to ensure that all food stations were stocked – smiling as they did it.

Hotel is just off of 81 so the area has a bit of a truck stop feel to it but the hotel is far enough from the highway that road noise is not an issue. Things did get a little loud on the floor Friday night as weekend revelers started to roll in; not sure if this is a recurring theme or just the wedding party that happened to be in town that weekend.

All things consider, this is a good hotel for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I went to this hotel with family. We rented three of their mini-suites.

The mini-suite consists of a TV room with a fold-out couch, a bedroom, and a bathroom. There is no wall/door between the TV room and the Bed room, so don't count on having any privacy if you have more than one person staying there. The rooms were bigger than most hotel rooms, the bed was comfy, the televisions were modern, and the room had both a min-fridge and a microwave.

The people that work there are friendly, but not particularly available. AFter about 10:00 at night, the front desk attendant hid behind a little wall screwing around on the internet, both nights of our stay.

There is an outdoor pool, which was closed in mid-april, as well as a hot tub.

The hotel furnishes a free continental breakfast with belgian waffles, yogurt, eggs, bacon, sausage, bagels, cereal, microwaveable biscuits, and coffee. I thought they did a pretty good job with the breakfast.

Okay, now onto my complaints.

1. My brother in law's door didn't work properly. The card keys didn't work in the door, which meant that either he or his girlfriend always had to be in the room, or risk having it broken into. The hotel wasn't able to fix this issue during our two days there, or furnish him with another room.

2. Staying over for two nights, we had to have our key cards reactivated 3 times. That's a little excessive, and irritating to boot.

3. They have really weak toilets. I stopped up the toilet with what I would say was a normal sized "movement," and had to go to the front desk to ask for help, which was embarassing enough. But the person at the front desk said that they had nobody to help with this, and that I would have to plunge it myself, and offered to give me a plunger to take up to my room.

I balked, and just let the toilet stay clogged up.

Look, I understand it's weird to expect someone to plunge a toilet that I stopped up, but at the same time, it would be embarassing to walk around the hotel with the plunger in hand, dripping filthy water all over the place where people walk barefoot to the pool.

Later on in the night, I saw a maintenance person walking around with a plunger, so I don't understand why they couldn't come plunge my toilet.

The place has it's good points, but it's a bit pricey to not have a maintenance person there to handle everyday issues.

I wouldn't choose that hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We were on a long road trip and stopped in Christiansburg for a night of rest. We are always leery of getting a hotel without reservations or research while on the road, but were put at ease during check in. The man at check in was super friendly and accommodating to our late arrival. The room itself was very clean, and the bed was ok. It was a decent place to stay for one night - convenient location off of the highway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights for Virginia Tech family weekend. It seems that most of the hotels have a mandatory 2 night stay for these special weekends. I have stayed in 4 different hotels in the area. This is definitely the farthest one from the campus that I have stayed in. It is not too big of a deal though. I have stayed in the Holiday Inn, Hilton Garden Inn, Hampton and this one. I would say that the Hampton so far is my favorite, followed by the Fairfield, and a tie with the Hilton Garden Inn and Holiday Inn. The big advantage the latter 2 have going for them is location but you will definitely be paying for it on these special weekends. I found the hotel to be clean, beds were comfortable but seemed low to the ground. The only thing I didn't care for in the room is that the bathroom had an industrial cleaner smell to it. The hotel included a continental breakfast. This included make your own waffles, microwave your own jimmy dean breakfast sandwiches, cereals, yogurts,muffins,bagels, juice, coffee. They kept things well stocked. I would certainly recommend a stay at this hotel. We were comfortable for our short stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Ok so it was a last minute travel go to see the HOKIES....but goodness for that price I was expecting a red carpet arrival with bottles of the most expensive champagne and chocolates...the The Westin Peachtree Plaza in ATL is even cheaper(by 99 cents) and has superior ratings than this place!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansburg
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Christiansburg
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Christiansburg Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 13 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Christiansburg
Quality Inn Christiansburg
#8 of 13 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg

Address: 2659 Roanoke Street, Christiansburg, VA 24073
Location: United States > Virginia > Christiansburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansburg
#4 Business Hotel in Christiansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg Hotel Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn And Suites Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn Christiansburg
Fairfield Christiansburg
Fairfield Inn Hotel Christiansburg
Christiansburg Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Christiansburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.